who say Malays community is poor?

look at this reno
https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=758468702955261&set=a.547230637412403&__cft__

actually now a days I see Malays are richer than us Chinese.

I used to know this Malay guy every year surely go holiday , got car, 5 rm HDB flat ,
when go outside eat also eat quite good , etc

basically last time LKY days, always claim Malays community are poor but now isn't so.

Government assistance to Malay students in schools and institutions of higher learning have largely taken the form of exemption from having to pay school fees or tuition fees, the award of bursaries, the loan of textbooks and the grant of free spectacles.

Even in the University some very rich Malay families  also no need to pay .

(05-09-2023, 06:56 PM)hansamu Wrote:  Government assistance to Malay students in schools and institutions of higher learning have largely taken the form of exemption from having to pay school fees or tuition fees, the award of bursaries, the loan of textbooks and the grant of free spectacles.

Even in the University some very rich Malay families  also no need to pay .

yea BUT I heard now no more leh. The Govt also view the income of the family first than give.

Are you sure no more?
Think they still get through MENDAKI...??

(05-09-2023, 06:59 PM)hansamu Wrote:  Are you sure no more?
Think they still get through MENDAKI...??

For every individual race got one organisation support. Mendaki is for malay than for chinese I know there is one

but I mean on Govt side , heard already no more . This thing actually I do remember bring up in Parliament or not sure where and later Govt also will see individual family income just like other races.

(05-09-2023, 07:05 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  For every individual race got one organisation support. Mendaki is for malay than for chinese I know there is one

but I mean on Govt side , heard already no more . This thing actually I do remember bring up in Parliament or not sure where and later Govt also will see individual family income just like other races.

Chinese is CDAC becuz every month my payslip deduct a few dollars to them.

As for support I think education for them until Primary is free.

(05-09-2023, 07:08 PM)sgh Wrote:  Chinese is CDC becuz every month my payslip deduct a few dollars to them.

As for support I think education for them until Primary is free.

actually this CDC every donate monthly even other races also need to donate.

hmm they free till Primary school still have ? I don't know I do remember now changed Govt also got see total household income of the family apply to All races.

any race or country or group of people.
the distributions likely to be bell curve.
in singapore as we are in a good state in life, most people should have a ok ok living .
not say can die of hunger type. but maybe cannot afford the medical cost so choose to die better only may have la.
those who has stronger believe in their religion will become more enlighten about this transcient wealth and power so will be less likely to spend effort chasing for excessible number. so in a sense these are the real rich.
i always take the definition that one is poor in the things that we need to constantly spend time effort to gather more.
are you poor or rich in money. are you still searching and collecting more to pass on to the next person to spend?

(05-09-2023, 07:12 PM)sclim Wrote:  any race or country or group of people.
the distributions likely to be bell curve.
in singapore as we are in a good state in life, most people should have a ok ok living .
not say can die of hunger type. but maybe cannot afford the medical cost so choose to die better only may have la.
those who has stronger believe in their religion will become more enlighten about this transcient wealth and power so will be less likely to spend effort chasing for excessible number. so in a sense these are the real rich.
i always take the definition that one is poor in the things that we need to constantly spend time effort to gather more.
are you poor or rich in money. are you still searching and collecting more to pass on to the next person to spend?

Honestly speaking , Yea as you mention. Is not you Dam poor till no foods to eat as Charity organisation , Govt still got help u. This is Obviously Govt need to do in the first place For The People. It apply to ALL countries.

Just that some countries is too messy internal like India , Phillipines , Indo , even Vietnam , Thailand
they still got people really no foods eat , no money to study etc

whereas come our Neighbour Malaysia , actually the situation there just like SG in fact , NO say really dam poor still no foods to eat or study At least can .

Some can spend lavishly because they dun hv much commitment mah, aso not much bills to pay. Money saved in banks got no use, so might as well spend on food, phones, luxurious items, tours and so on.

(05-09-2023, 07:23 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Some can spend lavishly because they dun hv much commitment mah, aso not much bills to pay. Money saved in banks got no use, so might as well spend on food, phones, luxurious items, tours and so on.

Nah this malay friend i used to know got 3 kids . But one thing he do told me he got some share in a Palm planation which his uncle over see in Malaysia.

(05-09-2023, 03:32 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  look at this reno
https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=758468702955261&set=a.547230637412403&__cft__

I used to know this Malay guy every year surely go holiday , got car, 5 rm HDB flat ,

basically last time LKY days, always claim Malays community are poor but now isn't so.

One Malay equals to all Malays? Pls lah, can use brain or not.

(05-09-2023, 10:54 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  One Malay equals to all Malays? Pls lah, can use brain or not.

Pls rah , next time while You are outside DON'T ALWAYS HEAD Look down on your smartphone surf net , watch stupid Tikko video etc. OK.

You see people , watch how they spend at food courts , etc than you will know actually Our Malay community they are not poor at least.

My malay friend i ownself witness good life , i see around most also.

Of course got some not say got a lot money rah just like we Chinese surely got some poor one just that I mean here is the Malay community life already improve.

I think it's also a bit of cultural differences in the attitudes to saving and spending.

Malays tend to be willing to spend (esp on home reno, gadgets), whereas Chinese like to save (to the extend of hoarding wealth to the deathbed).

(05-09-2023, 11:42 PM)starbugs Wrote:  I think it's also a bit of cultural differences in the attitudes to saving and spending.

Malays tend to be willing to spend (esp on home reno, gadgets), whereas Chinese like to save (to the extend of hoarding wealth to the deathbed).

Actually is quite true, come home , Hifi , TV they do willing to spend a lot.

car wise they see , usually they prefer big SUV type as whole family can sit inside.

Smile my malay friend wife used told me their culture is , put Hubby no 1 even before kids.

actually back on spending you can't say so , Now Chinese also willing to spend on home reno, gadgets a lot " Summary all the same.

(05-09-2023, 07:23 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Some can spend lavishly because they dun hv much commitment mah, aso not much bills to pay. Money saved in banks got no use, so might as well spend on food, phones, luxurious items, tours and so on.

Well said Big Grin

[[ForeverAlone]] dateline='[url=tel:1693928688' Wrote:  1693928688[/url]']

Actually is quite true, come home , Hifi , TV they do willing to spend a lot.

car wise they see , usually they prefer big SUV type as whole family can sit inside.

Smile my malay friend wife used told me their culture is , put Hubby no 1 even before kids.

actually back on spending you can't say so , Now Chinese also willing to spend on home reno, gadgets a lot "  Summary all the same.

Tell you a sekret. Never buy from Courts.

Because this race mostly buy on hire purchase.  

And then when no money to pay, Courts will take back the items and then resell it as new.

So nao you know.

yes.............my place here got Malay couple drive Maserati..................maybe 2nd hand but also expensive mah...........

Malays got lotsof of subsidies, can save lotsof money.

malays are not poor
friday afternoon
u hang around the mosque
u see a lot of bmw, mercedes, and audis parking there to have their dfriday prayers...LOL

(06-09-2023, 12:03 PM)singaporean1964 Wrote:  malays are not poor
friday afternoon
u hang around the mosque
u see a lot of bmw, mercedes, and audis parking there to have their dfriday prayers...LOL

Everything on hire purchase terms Big Grin

The first half of LKYs time was 3rd world.  Every race was poor, save for a small small minority of peepur from all races who were rich.

We lived in kampung or on top of shophouses with no air con.  Those were the days when if there was a public housing, it was SIT flats.

HDB started rolling out its first gen of flats in 1975/76 which by today's accounts were very basic, bare-boned matchbox-like flats.  Lifts only stopped at between the 4th and 5th floors or between the 8th and 9th floor...not at every floor like today.

We were mostly all poor. 

I guess you must be a strawberry zoomer who grew up with a maid in your house attending to your every want, even picking up the tissue you carelessly threw on the floor.  This sexplains why you started this thread...

(05-09-2023, 11:42 PM)starbugs Wrote:  I think it's also a bit of cultural differences in the attitudes to saving and spending.

Hoarding wealth to the deathbed.
When you have sexperienced extreme poverty, you will have a lifelong phobia of not having food on the table. You would never wish your chewren and grandchewren to have to go through what you went through.

But those were the days of big families with five six siblings or even more.

As time passed....we turned out to be shrinking in size with many at this forum not even married.  I can tell from the way they post...some are obvious like Foreveralone, SgBuffet, some not so but we know...Observer, Aiptasia, Genstar, Omnipresent, man(think), Sadtinel.

There is for them no reason to save unless they wish to donate their life savings to nephews and nieces who probably didn't visit them, or to the State for the benefit of new citizens.  I would go so far as to say that this group of BBFAs and Dinobus are looking forward to more goodies, more payouts, and if the oppo says "Let's raid the reserves, distribute everything to all sinkies" they would vote for that candidate.  With no chewren, why would they care about leaving the reserves for future generations who are the offsprings of other peepur, or of new citizens?  Agree?