Threads: 38,071
Likes Given: 67,212
Singaporean voters face several dilemmas when casting their ballots, shaped by the country’s unique political and socio-economic landscape. Here are some key tensions they grapple with:
### 1. Stability vs. Change
- Pro-PAP Argument: The PAP has delivered economic growth, efficient governance, and social stability. Many voters fear that weakening its dominance could risk uncertainty or slower decision-making.
- Pro-Opposition Argument: Over-reliance on one party may lead to complacency, lack of accountability, and policy blind spots (e.g., cost of living, inequality). Some voters want more checks and balances.
### 2. Fear of Losing vs. Desire for Opposition Voice
- "Flight to safety": Some worry that voting opposition in their constituency could mean losing out on grassroots benefits (e.g., HDB upgrades, PAP-linked community programs).
- "Wasted vote" concern: In GRCs, voters may hesitate to support weaker opposition teams, fearing their vote won’t translate into representation.
### 3. Pragmatism vs. Idealism
- Pragmatic voters: Prioritize competence and results (e.g., jobs, infrastructure) over political diversity, trusting the PAP’s track record.
- Idealistic voters: Believe democracy needs alternative voices to prevent overreach, even if the opposition is less experienced.
### 4. Loyalty to the System vs. Discontent
- Gratitude for past success: Older voters may feel indebted to the PAP for Singapore’s development.
- Frustration with present issues: Younger voters may prioritize issues like housing affordability, immigration, or freedom of expression, pushing them toward opposition.
### 5. Gerrymandering & Electoral Tactics
- Last-minute boundary changes: Voters may find themselves in new constituencies, disrupting opposition support bases.
- "Walkover pressure": In some elections, PAP fields strong candidates against weaker opposition, making voters feel compelled to back the incumbent to avoid an uncontested seat.
### 6. Social Pressure & Self-Censorship
- Fear of repercussions: Some worry about career or social consequences if they openly support the opposition.
- "Silent majority" effect: Polls are unreliable, so voters may overestimate PAP’s dominance or underestimate opposition support.
### Conclusion
The Singaporean voter’s dilemma boils down to risk versus reward: Do they prioritize stability and proven results, or do they push for more diversity in governance despite uncertainties? Each election cycle tests whether these tensions will lead to incremental change or reinforce the status quo.
Got way to deal with it.. 😂
Threads: 595
Likes Given: 50
I vote PAP ... my first time
KTV妹妹说,香港人无义,台湾人无情,新加坂人无智
Why so disrepect to LKY ?
LKY himself said: ‘If opposition is capable, they should win.’ Are you going to go against his wisdom?
If PAP keeps winning without challenge, they will take Singaporeans for granted. They only started cash handouts after they lost Aljunied.
No matter what happens, PAP will still be the government. But if they win too much, they will ignore you even more. If you want them to care, give opposition your vote.
Even if opposition wins another GRC, PAP will still run the country. Your vote is just a reminder to them not to take you for granted.
(This post was last modified: 25-03-2025, 02:59 PM by
Bigiron.)
Threads: 636
Likes Given: 5,649
### 1. Stability vs. Change
Voting Oppositions actually will not change much
Stat Boards will still run like past 20 years
Anyway, Opposition will not win another 20 seats, lah
Because it is impossible for PAP to only garner 30% overall votes
Why do we need 5 Mayors and 87 PAP Ministers?
The following 1 user Likes Ola's post:1 user Likes Ola's post
• Bigiron
### 2. Fear of Losing vs. Desire for Opposition Voice
Yes, we see PAP over-using their authority ie Potong Pasir 20 years ago
NO lift upgrading and LTA refused to activate the MRT station
As what the old residents said- They pay taxes and also part of Singapore
Now, we have social media to shame PAP.
(This post was last modified: 25-03-2025, 04:52 PM by
Ola.)
### 3. Pragmatism vs. Idealism
Want to be pragmatic then the more we need MORE Opposition
to ask, check and audit PAP's spending, decision making and also process lapses
ie MDDI ACRA Unmasking NRIC, coffee shop toilets upgrading $50k each
The following 1 user Likes Ola's post:1 user Likes Ola's post
• Bigiron
Threads: 256
Likes Given: 7,131
For me it’s a simple choice. I will vote for the chiobu with the biggest titties
Threads: 90
Likes Given: 301
In democracy
No party last forever
It has to change someday
So do the change now
Threads: 256
Likes Given: 7,131
If oppies are smart they should consolidate their resources and fight where they got a better chance to win.
Concede walkovers to the strongholds like Marseiling Yew Tee and AMK
You simply cannot win against the incumbent PM and his predecessor.
Threads: 40
Likes Given: 1,202
Those voters are just confused. Voting for aesthetic competent Ministers like MP Amy Khor or MP Chan CS who needs to feed on a “large group of consultants from Stat Board or Public Policy Division ” to grow fat.
Threads: 228
Likes Given: 840
Just cast it like our stock market.
Up up up
PAP huat big big
Opp win, stock market dive.
(This post was last modified: 25-03-2025, 05:52 PM by
Migrant.)
Threads: 383
Likes Given: 215
(25-03-2025, 05:30 PM)p1acebo Wrote: If oppies are smart they should consolidate their resources and fight where they got a better chance to win.
Concede walkovers to the strongholds like Marseiling Yew Tee and AMK 
You simply cannot win against the incumbent PM and his predecessor.
Agree fully.
Why throw eggs against stones?
Just like Red Dot going to contest in Nee Soon is literally harakiri.
Threads: 74
Likes Given: 249
Threads: 74
Likes Given: 249
(25-03-2025, 02:55 PM)Bigiron Wrote: Why so disrepect to LKY ?
LKY himself said: ‘If opposition is capable, they should win.’ Are you going to go against his wisdom?
If PAP keeps winning without challenge, they will take Singaporeans for granted. They only started cash handouts after they lost Aljunied.
No matter what happens, PAP will still be the government. But if they win too much, they will ignore you even more. If you want them to care, give opposition your vote.
Even if opposition wins another GRC, PAP will still run the country. Your vote is just a reminder to them not to take you for granted.
He din't like dud...
Look at our bunch of oppositions… bunch useless noisy muppets
Threads: 158
Likes Given: 490
Vote ruling party 100% I am sure we will die faster and poor even faster than what we expected.
Threads: 158
Likes Given: 490
(25-03-2025, 09:26 PM)WTangsen Wrote: Look at our bunch of oppositions… bunch useless noisy muppets
Of cause vote wisely not all opps are not good.
(25-03-2025, 09:43 PM)Cmpunk Wrote: Of cause vote wisely not all opps are not good.
NAme me 1 good reliable opposition partee