China's fear toward Omicron eases quickly - GT
Cool 

...There is a consensus that the virus is too contagious to avoid infection. Although their symptoms may depend on luck, almost everyone can survive the virus and the risk of death is negligible. - GT's Hu Jixin.

https://youtu.be/4URhEcignzo
[+] 1 user Likes Manthink's post

Busy streets and shops in Wuhan on 24 Dec 2022.

[+] 2 users Like sgxin's post

Super crowded mall in Wuhan on Sat night.

Busy street in Guangzhou today at 5pm.

I think China is taking the cue from Spore. Remember we also open up and then later stop reporting daily numbers? What China govt do now mirror closely to what our govt did. Let ppl kena ok as long got vaccinated won't die so easily but remained cautious for the elderly and young. This policy of cuz got collateral damage which we also saw in China I think.

(25-12-2022, 11:44 PM)sgh Wrote:  I think China is taking the cue from Spore. Remember we also open up and then later stop reporting daily numbers? What China govt do now mirror closely to what our govt did. Let ppl kena ok as long got vaccinated won't die so easily but remained cautious for the elderly and young. This policy of cuz got collateral damage which we also saw in China I think.

We went through similar multiple waves of surges that strained hospital resources.

It was tough and scary during the initial experience. That was the wall everyone and every country has to go thru in this Pandemic.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/h...ng-ye-kung

Our last COVID wave was less than 3 months ago  with +1000 daily new infections reported, which came after we began to relax COVID rules gradually from Mar. As expected, the cases rises at every stage more restrictions were lifted.

(Oct 2)  — There has been a 35% to 40%  week-on-week increase in daily Covid-19 cases, and this translates to 900 to 1,000 more infections every day, the Ministry of Health (MOH) said in a statement on Friday (Sept 30). But there is no indication that the increase in cases has led to more severe diseases, and there has been "no significant impact on our healthcare system" due to the higher number of daily infections, the ministry added.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/in...on-2007821

Wuhan shopping street on Mon (26th) night...

Chinese citizens are getting their own ART kits...

Just in from cities all over China on New Year eve...

Crowded like no pandemic leh...its like before 2020 liao.. Big Grin

https://youtu.be/lc85liaW_fI

(27-12-2022, 12:07 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Chinese citizens are getting their own ART kits...

Are these test kits distributed free of charge in China...........? Thinking

(01-01-2023, 11:21 PM)debono Wrote:  Are these test kits distributed free of charge in China...........? Thinking

No since the Chinese gov provided free PCR test...which is more accurate than ART.

Unlike poor folks in Bolehlanders who have the pay from own pocket...

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asi...-test-kits

China report
https://youtu.be/MiDi-mzx3bI?list=PL1yqR...2A6fY9b1Q0

White lungs
there is no cure leading to death
[Image: Screenshot-2023-01-02-at-07-13-41-China-...kly-GT.png]

[Image: Screenshot-2023-01-02-at-07-10-45-China-...kly-GT.png]

This same logic was applicable 8 months ago!!!

Tomorrow will be a new dawn for China opening up on 8 Jan 2023.

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/east-a...g-on-jan-8

Surprise. Heard that for some under a different type of vaccine, not under WHO, they have no cough but only fever and pain on body for 2 days. The first 2 days like to sleep and they recovered on the 3rd day.

Those who took oversea mRNA vaccine took a longer period to recover.

It is like a wave that pass through everyone.

(07-01-2023, 09:30 PM)theold Wrote:  Surprise. Heard that for some under a different type of vaccine, not under WHO, they have no cough but only fever and pain on body for 2 days. The first 2 days like to sleep and they recover on the 3rd day. Those who took oversea mRNA vaccine took a longer period to recover.  It is like a wave that pass through everyone.

No surprise - China has moved very quickly towards opening up having observed Omicron aren't as deadly as Delta in over last 1 years.
Remember, before the COVID relaxation, Xi himself had attended several major international conference and summits from G20 to Saudi summit since Nov 2022. That clearly shows Beijing has grown confident in managing COVID waves and its re-opening decision was made months ago.
So within the last few weeks in Dec, decision are being put into action very quickly. Already, Chinese businessmen and officials have already confirmed travel to SG Q1 2023..

Quote:Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SCCCI) said ...“Provincial governments have been actively organising upcoming visits to Singapore, together with China companies, searching for new cooperation opportunities.” In anticipation of travel curbs easing, connectivity between the two countries has gradually been re-established.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/b...curbs-ease

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singa...08-1351380

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/asia/chi...19-3190806

Quote:The immediate impact is a surge of overseas Chinese returning home, many of whom have not seen family for years.

“I haven’t been home in almost two years, so the announcement felt like a fever dream,” said Connor Zhao, a 25-year-old consultant who lives in San Francisco. He is currently on holiday in Bangkok and will fly to Qingdao on Jan 19, with his trip including a layover in Hong Kong, which has more available flights into the mainland. 

“I’m very excited to see my parents. Getting to spend Chinese New Year with them means a lot to me,” he said.

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/interna...-rush-home