Threads: 3,348
Likes Given: 2,553
12-16-2024
The hawker stalls cooking oils in your diet may be linked to cancer
When we talk about the prevention and management of cancer, we don’t usually think that diet changes would be very helpful. But a recent study begs to differ.
The research suggests that dietary changes may play a role in slowing tumor growth in cancer patients. Experts at UCLA focused on men with early-stage prostate cancer and observed notable differences in tumor progression based on dietary habits."
https://www.earth.com/news/the-cooking-o...y%20habits.
(This post was last modified: 17-12-2024, 05:34 AM by
Scythian.)
Only now, researchers found more Singaporeans died of cancer than US, Australia and South Korea
Singapore's hawker culture was inscribed on the UNESCO Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity on December 16, 2020:
Why it's important?
Hawker culture is an integral part of Singaporean life, where people from all backgrounds gather to dine and bond over hawker food. Many hawker dishes originated from the food cultures of immigrant groups who settled in Singapore.
Now we know why increasing numbers of Singaporeans die of cancers..
Yes. Hawker culture is the culprit
Threads: 9
Likes Given: 1,292
Many people cook at home using cooking oils too. 🤔
(17-12-2024, 06:23 AM)Alice Alicia Wrote: Many people cook at home using cooking oils too. 🤔
You giving MOH dietician further migraines
Required to do some soul searching to answer you.
(This post was last modified: 17-12-2024, 08:38 AM by
Scythian.)
Threads: 41
Likes Given: 4
Your hawker meal is as oily as your balls after a sunday morning walk.
it’s hawker food, what do you expect.
Threads: 156
Likes Given: 471
Likes Given: 2,792
Palm oil is toxic
Most food were made of palm oil
Threads: 39
Likes Given: 1,191
Landlords and Hawkers want to maximise profits will pursue cuts on the possible costs variables ie quality of the Ingredients and cooking oil.
(This post was last modified: 17-12-2024, 08:15 AM by
Wy:Nox.)
Threads: 156
Likes Given: 471
Hawkers use the cheapest oil as possible and worst is can recycle and reuse.
(This post was last modified: 17-12-2024, 08:38 AM by
Cmpunk.)
Threads: 14
Likes Given: 595
Many singaporeans eating hawker n food court china Mala hotpot is main culprit...
Threads: 624
Likes Given: 5,605
(17-12-2024, 06:23 AM)Alice Alicia Wrote: Many people cook at home using cooking oils too. 🤔
My home got no cooking oil for years
But I think we must drink tea after meals
(17-12-2024, 08:38 AM)Cmpunk Wrote: Hawkers use the cheapest oil as possible and worst is can recycle and reuse.
Lard is just as bad
(17-12-2024, 12:30 PM)Ola Wrote: My home got no cooking oil for years
But I think we must drink tea after meals
Very difficult to change eating habits
Threads: 269
Likes Given: 276
no lah,,, hawker use and re-use their oil many times over..
i know of one hawker who use the oil for frying ikan bilis then egg and fish.. they did not throw away only after one week,,anf then later use that oil for the rice.
u see those pasar malam food stall all their oil are vy dark brown or close to black.
oil can only use 2 times the most n u throw away.. it is cancerous to eat use and reuse oil.
(This post was last modified: 18-12-2024, 04:24 AM by
victortan.)
(18-12-2024, 04:24 AM)victortan Wrote: no lah,,, hawker use and re-use their oil many times over..
i know of one hawker who use the oil for frying ikan bilis then egg and fish.. they did not throw away only after one week,,anf then later use that oil for the rice.
u see those pasar malam food stall all their oil are vy dark brown or close to black.
oil can only use 2 times the most n u throw away.. it is cancerous to eat use and reuse oil.
Obviously, there's total lack of public education to encourage family to cook and eat at home.
Threads: 569
Likes Given: 939
Pig oil better.nicer more fragrant healthier
Threads: 2
Likes Given: 188
everything in moderation and balance.
oil taste good as it smooth the food. oil also absorb the taste of the meat, spices making it very tasty and smell good.
good to the mouth (input system to body) bad for the digest system.
oil is more difficult to digest and move slowly thru the system. results maybe air, indigestions and later mulfuntion of the sotmach as more acid is produce to digest food and move up to the mouth.
burning along the way.
so consume oil in moderations and especially not during dinner. those ecounragement of high fiber food to slow down digestion as a measure to help diabetics may be back firing in the way of indigestion.
proper is to consume smaller portion and over more meals so as to redcue spike. go for a walk after meal to help use up the energy consume. and move the body to help move the food down. and combine and release air out.
try it to see if works better.
Threads: 624
Likes Given: 5,605
So, must skip all fried food when eating at
Hawker Centers and also KFC?
Threads: 2,571
Likes Given: 226
the seed oil was not healthy to begin with
then the hawker keep using the same oil over and over again until black...
Threads: 2,571
Likes Given: 226
(17-12-2024, 08:38 AM)Cmpunk Wrote: Hawkers use the cheapest oil as possible and worst is can recycle and reuse.
duck brand oil is the cheapest
Likes Given: 11,291
(17-12-2024, 05:33 AM)Scythian Wrote: 12-16-2024
The hawker stalls cooking oils in your diet may be linked to cancer
When we talk about the prevention and management of cancer, we don’t usually think that diet changes would be very helpful. But a recent study begs to differ.
The research suggests that dietary changes may play a role in slowing tumor growth in cancer patients. Experts at UCLA focused on men with early-stage prostate cancer and observed notable differences in tumor progression based on dietary habits."
https://www.earth.com/news/the-cooking-o...y%20habits.
You used recycled oil to fry your ChyeTowKueh carrot cake sure tio cancer one lah!

After frying eggs, chicken and fish at home, you keep the remaining oil in a container because you don't want to waste it and then use the same recycled oil again for your next meal sure tio one lah!
Likes Given: 11,291
(18-12-2024, 03:06 PM)Ola Wrote: So, must skip all fried food when eating at
![[Image: Fried-Food.jpg]](https://i.ibb.co/Jtzck23/Fried-Food.jpg)
KFC, MAC, BK, LongJohnSilver, etc... also lah!

You forgot to include Bakwa, Satay, CharKwayTeow, YouCharKueh, HumChinPeng, etc... leh!
Imagine recycled cooking oil used for roasted ducks and chickens
Curry puff and other deep fried stuff
(18-12-2024, 03:06 PM)Ola Wrote: So, must skip all fried food when eating at
![[Image: Fried-Food.jpg]](https://i.ibb.co/Jtzck23/Fried-Food.jpg)
OMG!
Unknowingly, this probably killed the most people
(This post was last modified: 18-12-2024, 06:58 PM by
Scythian.)
Threads: 157
Likes Given: 43
(17-12-2024, 08:15 AM)Wy:Nox Wrote: Landlords and Hawkers want to maximise profits will pursue cuts on the possible costs variables ie quality of the Ingredients and cooking oil.
With rising rents and other operating costs, hawkers would recycle low grade cooking oil, refrain from washing their vegetables and I doubt they will throw away food contaminated by rodents and other pests.
Threads: 7
Likes Given: 3
The food sellers big or small, don't care two hoots about our well-being.
Can we blame them 100% with the very high cost of doing business here amid fierce competition.
Can we blame them for filling the Supermarket aisle with affordable but super high sodium, saturated fats instant noodles and sardines & tuna, lots of other highly processed stuff.
Because there is demand hence profits.
Can we ask why mixed rice stalls are stir-frying 99% of their dishes in mixed rice stalls across the island? Are they also trying to over process their dishes with generous amounts of
MSG, salts, sugar, starchy sauces to give the dinners the instant gratification like they get from fast food outlets, perhaps only they can answer them......With of course the cheapest oil in the market you can get..has to be misleading labelled "vegetable oil" (THIS LABELLING NEED TO BE LOOKED AT)with its high smoke point due to high saturated oil content !