Fish cake considered meat? $9.10 'cai fan' at food court stuns diner

Read more 📍 http://www.asiaone.com/singapore/fish-ca...e=telegram&utmmedium=social&utmcampaign=&utmcontent=

Follow @AsiaOnecom for all the latest updates.

Fish cake consider seafood...

This lady must be a meow meow...
[+] 2 users Like pinkpanther's post

(31-05-2023, 12:43 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  Fish cake considered meat? $9.10 'cai fan' at food court stuns diner

Read more 📍 http://www.asiaone.com/singapore/fish-ca...e=telegram&utmmedium=social&utmcampaign=&utmcontent=

Fish cake is made of fish meat mah! Big Grin

(31-05-2023, 02:28 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Fish cake is made of fish meat mah! Big Grin

Fish balls ... too ... thats why we called it fish ball ..... not ping pong balls

(31-05-2023, 02:48 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Fish balls ... too ... thats why we called it fish ball ..... not ping pong balls

Fish balls and fish cakes used expensive fish to make one leh! Big Grin You know Sai Toh 西刀鱼 or not leh?  Thinking

(31-05-2023, 02:51 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Fish balls and fish cakes used expensive fish to make one leh! Big Grin You know Sai Toh 西刀鱼 or not leh?  Thinking

Not all used that fish ..... they also have a cheaper fish for fish balls

This is a true incident, posted by my friend in his private Facebook
One of my friends always thought Malay food are cheaper than Chinese charp chye png
So few weeks ago when he was at Vivo City
He ordered from the Malay stall there
Two meat (fish and sotong) and curry vegetable and brinjal
The sotong was few pieces only, can count with fingers
When the mak chik shouted $16 plus, he was momentarily shocked
But he recovered, and told her he had not enough money, and need to find his wife for more money
She said okay, but actually he alone and he walked away never to return
How to eat, he said....
It’s not like as if it’s Michelin type of food
I think every one should follow his style

LMW (PSP) to PAPigs: DO NOT TAKE EVERY OPPOSITION IDEA AS A SOURCE OF DIVISION!!!

(31-05-2023, 03:39 PM)Bluebull Wrote:  This is a true incident, posted by my friend in his private Facebook
One of my friends always thought Malay food are cheaper than Chinese charp chye png
But he recovered, and told her he had not enough money, and need to find his wife for more money
How to eat, he said....

Malay food are harder to prepare and they used plenty of spices and that cost $$$

(31-05-2023, 02:55 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Not all used that fish ..... they also have a cheaper fish for fish balls

Of course there are cheaper options lah! Big Grin 一分钱一分货 1 cent 1 (don't know how to say) lah!

(31-05-2023, 12:43 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  Fish cake considered meat? $9.10 'cai fan' at food court stuns diner

PAP cai png is always

[Image: kgeocqt.gif]

(31-05-2023, 03:41 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Malay food are harder to prepare and they used plenty of spices and that cost $$$

But still cannot be $16+ what
He did a simple calculation.....
Okay, fish $4, sotong $3, curry cai $2, binjal $2, rice $1
How to get 16 plus plus?
I have Nasi lemak with him at a coffee shop at Toa Payoh ( famous one )
Coconut rice with chicken wing, ikan bilis, fried egg, long beans set $5.50 
We add extra ikon kuning fish and one fish cake another $2
(The chicken wing. fish and egg fried on the spot)
Total $7.50 only
No bluff one, can recommend you

LMW (PSP) to PAPigs: DO NOT TAKE EVERY OPPOSITION IDEA AS A SOURCE OF DIVISION!!!

(31-05-2023, 03:52 PM)Bluebull Wrote:  But still cannot be $16+ what
He did a simple calculation.....
Okay, fish $4, sotong $3, curry cai $2, binjal $2, rice $1
How to get 16 plus plus?
I have Nasi lemak with him at a coffee shop at Toa Payoh ( famous one )
Coconut rice with chicken wing, ikan bilis, fried egg, long beans set $5.50 
We add extra ikon kuning fish and one fish cake another $2
(The chicken wing. fish and egg fried on the spot)
Total $7.50 only
No bluff one, can recommend you

fish easily = $6
Sotong is very expensive nowadays, especially large one those malay store like to sell = $6, 
curry cai $1.5, 
binjal plain or with sambal?= $2, 
rice $1

As long as its seafood .... expensive

(31-05-2023, 03:59 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  fish easily = $6
Sotong is very expensive nowadays, especially large one those malay store like to sell = $6, 
curry cai $1.5, 
binjal plain or with sambal?= $2, 
rice $1

As long as its seafood .... expensive

Food from Malay and Indian stalls sure kana cut throat one lah! Big Grin

(31-05-2023, 03:39 PM)Bluebull Wrote:  This is a true incident, posted by my friend in his private Facebook
How to eat, he said....

Looks like your friend either doesn’t go out much or is a complete suakoo.  Malay food is always more expensive lah.

(31-05-2023, 04:46 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Looks like your friend either doesn’t go out much or is a complete suakoo.  Malay food is always more expensive lah.

No lah
I often eat one Malay stall in Lorong 7 Toa Payoh coffee shop ( long queue)
One chicken wing, fish cake, brinjal, egg plus mashed potato cake
Only less than $5
Almost same type at nearby Chinese cai png, about $7 plus
No bluff one, can give you address

Actually Malay mixed rice is not worth it. My friend whose father was a fishmonger said the Malay hawkers will always buy the remaining fish and other seafood at the cheapest clearance price. Then they use sambal or curry to hide the stale taste.

(31-05-2023, 04:51 PM)Bluebull Wrote:  No lah
I often eat one Malay stall in Lorong 7 Toa Payoh coffee shop ( long queue)
One chicken wing, fish cake, brinjal, egg plus mashed potato cake
Only less than $5
Almost same type at nearby Chinese cai png, about $7 plus
No bluff one, can give you address

I eat both Muslim nasi Padang and Chinese chup chai png and so can tell the obvious differences.  Anyway I still believe you as there may be some stalls, but not the majority Big Grin

(31-05-2023, 04:15 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Food from Malay and Indian stalls sure kana cut throat one lah! Big Grin

No lah
Half saklah fish where got $6?
And sotong is not whole sotong but sotong head and three small pieces , how can  $6?!! 
Brinjal is half piece
You can go and try yourself
At Vivo City basement

(31-05-2023, 04:54 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  I eat both Muslim nasi Padang and Chinese chup chai png and so can tell the obvious differences.  Anyway I still believe you as there may be some stalls, but not the majority Big Grin

Toa Payoh got many Malay stalls selling quite cheap
There’s one in Lorong 1 facing main road 
Opposite the former yellow page building
Always sold out before noon
Super cheap and super good
Cooked by an old malay lady
Featured in newspapers 
Came out of retirement

(31-05-2023, 04:59 PM)Bluebull Wrote:  Toa Payoh got many Malay stalls selling quite cheap
There’s one in Lorong 1 facing main road 
Opposite the former yellow page building
Always sold out before noon
Super cheap and super good
Cooked by an old malay lady
Featured in newspapers 
Came out of retirement

If you try the 2 Malay stalls at tpy lor 5 where the 2 ckt stalls are will know the market prices and they are high.

1/4 of our population are CECA

but they know how to save money and rarely eat out

we must learn from them, do NOT eat out!

(31-05-2023, 05:02 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  If you try the 2 Malay stalls at tpy lor 5 where the 2 ckt stalls are will know the market prices and they are high.

I think I know which one liao lah! Big Grin

fish cake = fish + cake = seafood + desert price
Frown

people are mean and scary
i dont know how they judge me
i dont know what they think about me
Sad 

She loom like carrot head

top up a bit can eat at restaurant.

Tonight, I tapao these for dinner from restaurant.
Cost me $53.36.

The double-boil soup cost $15.30. Only 2 small pcs chicken. Soup are plain. Din know know that it's such a small tub.

[Image: 20230531-191648.jpg]

At this price $15.30 can get 3 big tubs of herbal chicken (3 big pcs each) with white mushroom at Bedok Central hawker center.

(31-05-2023, 09:43 PM)Goldmine Wrote:  Tonight, I tapao these for dinner from restaurant.
Cost me $53.36.

The double soup cost $15.30. Only 2 small pcs chicken. Soup are plain. Din know know that it's such a small tub.

[Image: 20230531-191648.jpg]

At this price $15.30 can get 3 big tubs of herbal chicken (3 big pcs each) with white mushroom at Bedok Central hawker center.

I won't even pay $15 for that