How water heaters turn deadly....

To save money I installed my 777 water using instructions on the manual and test pen in case electricity leak

This was 4 yrs ago. Until now nothing happened 
After watching this CNA report I called an water heater installer to check my wiring
 He said one of my ground wire was not connected

It was a close shave. I would.like to thank CNA for putting up this documentary

Barbecued RI Big Grin

Saved $2- 300 for ?.

(13-07-2023, 12:49 PM)Blinm Wrote:  Saved $2- 300 for ?.

Lesson for me is although my family always teach if can save money we should save...the risk is hidden or unknown sometimes when we do this.

For example  I would not take budget  airlines even if it is cheaper as the safety record is not as good

(13-07-2023, 12:43 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  To save money I installed my 777 water using instructions on the manual and test pen in case electricity leak

After watching this CNA report I called an water heater installer to check my wiring

It is safer to get a qualified electrician. Life is precious and better not saved money.

Ask the workers to show ic and licence

I'm using gas heater running D battery only.

I dun have the luxury of water heater. Only used cold water all my life.   Cool

This kind of thing best not to save $$$.

But the more suay thing ish willing to spend $$$ but end up with a beh kan technician to anyhao install. Sad

[+] 1 user Likes Soulhacker's post

Short of one wire in water heater wiring can kill u
Some contractor did it to save money or inexperience

(13-07-2023, 12:43 PM):cryingsgbuffettL Wrote:  To save money I installed my 777 water using instructions on the manual and test pen in case electricity leak

Wrong methods to trip test the water heater..  anyhow hantam  

crying crying

(13-07-2023, 12:43 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  To save money I installed my 777 water using instructions on the manual and test pen in case electricity leak

Btw, is yr rccb tested and confirmed working? Some very old houses may not hv one

there is only 1 ground wire, wat is he talking?

How come you never buy a water heater with built in RCCB?  Thinking
Make sure you use a 20A switch.
Internal Wire must be able to withstand high current flow. Check for wire rubber shielding for abnormality. If using aircon wire for water heater shd be safe.

[Image: IMG-8632.jpg]

scary sia... I turn on my water heater 24 hours x 365 days  Confused

Never heard of 777 heater. Is it a sanzai product?

(13-07-2023, 04:45 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  How come you never buy a water heater with built in RCCB?  Thinking
Make sure you use a 20A switch.
Internal Wire must be able to withstand high current flow. Check for wire rubber shielding for abnormality. If using aircon wire for water heater shd be safe.

Don’t let vendors con you to installed unnecessary devices.

(13-07-2023, 04:55 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Never heard of 777 heater. Is it a sanzai product?

I tot 777 aeroplane model ?? Made in India ??

(13-07-2023, 03:53 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Btw, is yr rccb tested and confirmed working? Some very old houses may not hv one

Ageing RCCB better change bo gu lui nia 

(13-07-2023, 02:03 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  I dun have the luxury of water heater. Only used cold water all my life.   Cool

I also shower with cold water  Rotfl
Only Guniang shower using water heater.

(13-07-2023, 04:57 PM)cwc29 Wrote:  Don’t let vendors con you to installed unnecessary devices.

This is the fastest way to cut electrical supply. Rotfl

(13-07-2023, 01:58 PM)ODA TETSURO Wrote:  I'm using gas heater running D battery only.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/r...nd-windows

(13-07-2023, 05:09 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  This is the fastest way to cut electrical supply. Rotfl

You Zhun bo ?!!!! Don’t drive old uncle Lau char bo here to spend unnecessary $$$ 

(13-07-2023, 05:20 PM)cwc29 Wrote:  You Zhun bo ?!!!! Don’t drive old uncle Lau char bo here to spend unnecessary $$$ 

Zhun lah. I am from ITE, know how to do electrical wiring hor.

(13-07-2023, 05:22 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Zhun lah. I am from ITE, know how to do electrical wiring hor.

Ok let you win  Big Grin

(13-07-2023, 04:47 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  [Image: IMG-8632.jpg]

wah.............got these features ah...............must be very expensive...........

was trying to get plumber to inspect my outdoor tankless heater....but i was advised to replace it with another brand or convert to indoor storage tank that comes with warranty... crap  Rolleyes

If not for this deadly episode, most people who are not electrical -trained wouldn't know this danger.

HDB is hopeless. They should have at least paste some warning messages in every new home, or at notice board to keep residents informed and reminded of such deadly event.

The victims family should sue them until pap pants drop.