LKY 1st NDP Rally speech 1966..in Hokkien
You've got friendly neighbours? Grow Up! - 李光耀 2013
05-07-2023, 05:13 PM
Complete recording from National Archive website:
https://www.nas.gov.sg/archivesonline/au...50568939ad
05-07-2023, 05:35 PM
that time quite a lot " un educated ones " LKY one thing good is he knows how to " play " around the people mind.
he speak hokkien is wanna " win over people like see I'm english educated , grad from Harvard in UK but I speak Hokkien to cater for you people "
One thing come NDP by him , NO BREAKS in between and most of the time " overrun "
whereas come LHL .....got breaks in between never overrun. Is like he just tell a story to you.
he speak hokkien is wanna " win over people like see I'm english educated , grad from Harvard in UK but I speak Hokkien to cater for you people "
One thing come NDP by him , NO BREAKS in between and most of the time " overrun "
whereas come LHL .....got breaks in between never overrun. Is like he just tell a story to you.
06-07-2023, 09:38 AM
(05-07-2023, 05:35 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: that time quite a lot " un educated ones " LKY one thing good is he knows how to " play " around the people mind. he speak hokkien is wanna " win over people like see I'm english educated , grad from Harvard in UK but I speak Hokkien to cater for you people " One thing come NDP by him , NO BREAKS in between and most of the time " overrun "
At that time, those england-speaking AMTK regard Malays and Chinese as " un educated ones"...which apparently the Brit were happy they remain so, else how to continue to keep their colonial entitlement.
The Fun Fact is LKY himself used to be a Banana until he left for UK to get his degree...and while there saw for himself AMTK is just a wayang show. So upon his return to colonial SG, he decided to kick them out...with the help of those "un educated Hokkien and Malays.
06-07-2023, 10:17 AM
Those were the days
Gone fast
Power and fame don’t last
Gone fast
06-07-2023, 10:36 AM
(06-07-2023, 10:17 AM)Lukongsimi Wrote: Those were the days Gone fast
Once Upon a Time, the British regard themselves as "The empire on which the sun never sets.."
07-07-2023, 12:19 PM
LKY share he learn to respect those who stay true to their roots during his university experience in UK.
That was when he decided to learn Chinese language (汉字 Hanzhi)...and had been constantly trying to improve, never-mind the struggle.
09-07-2023, 11:12 AM
I don't recall LKY lecturing SGreans that they have "poor grasp of the English language"...Perhaps some SGtalker find this a little HARD TRUTH to accept SG has 4 Official languages with 3 of them originate from Asia and SGD remains one of the strongest currency not because we speak good AMTK tongue..
E.g. Our SAF emblem and S$1 coin itself reflected this STRENGTH in Diversity...
28-07-2023, 04:06 PM
LKY is not even a Hokkien and yet use the dialect during SG's 1st NDP Rally speech in 1966...
28-07-2023, 04:15 PM
Well during those times dialect are quite common I was told by my parents. By using dialect like Hokkien he can motivate the masses to support him as he manage/transition Spore into a first world developed country.
28-07-2023, 04:28 PM
(28-07-2023, 04:15 PM)sgh Wrote: Well during those times dialect are quite common I was told by my parents. By using dialect like Hokkien he can motivate the masses to support him as he manage/transition Spore into a first world developed country.
Indeed....Nothing beats listening to someone in the influential position who are able to express in languages that your Forefathers grew up speaking.
Even those who new generations who have long lost their cultural links will appreciate this growing up in AMTK countries.
28-07-2023, 04:37 PM
28-07-2023, 04:45 PM
28-07-2023, 04:49 PM
(07-07-2023, 12:19 PM)Manthink Wrote: LKY share he learn to respect those who stay true to their roots during his university experience in UK.
He killed our original dialects and introduced a bastardized dialect called Mandarin and brainwashed our young to think that is our mother tongue.
But while promoting this bastardized dialect he shut down Nantah.
I can bet with you half the forummers here can't even read primary school level Chinese and 99% jiak kantang.
Language is the vehicle which transmits culture. When you lose it you lose your cultural heritage. This is why our young have lost their true cultural identity and are as happy aping some Korean k pop star as they are a Japanese idol or Hollywood movie star.
28-07-2023, 05:10 PM
(28-07-2023, 04:49 PM)Oyk Wrote: He killed our original dialects and introduced a bastardized dialect called Mandarin and brainwashed our young to think that is our mother tongue.
But while promoting this bastardized dialect he shut down Nantah.
I can bet with you half the forummers here can't even read primary school level Chinese and 99% jiak kantang.
Language is the vehicle which transmits culture. When you lose it you lose your cultural heritage. This is why our young have lost their true cultural identity and are as happy aping some Korean k pop star as they are a Japamese idol or Hollywood movie star.
That is the contradiction in LKY and I am sure he is aware of that.
He grew up in a england-speaking Peranakan family ruled by a AMTK-loving grand father who gave his 1st grandson the Western name "Harry" - which he seems to hate in his childhood. He even asked his parent not to give his younger brother another Western name !
Then when he travelled overseas after the War, he realised just how much his missed his Chinese ancestry having witness how overseas Chinese lost their culture and languages through assimilation....which he shared in the Razor interview.
28-07-2023, 05:54 PM
Can our PM speak Hakka dialect ?....my neighbour their child can now speak English ; I ask them they only speak English no speak dialect Hokkien .
28-07-2023, 06:11 PM
(28-07-2023, 05:54 PM)ysh02 Wrote: Can our PM speak Hakka dialect ?....my neighbour their child can now speak English ; I ask them they only speak English no speak dialect Hokkien .
I am sure LKY's Anglophile grandfather once were like you too - demanding young kids to "only speak English"
28-07-2023, 07:02 PM
28-07-2023, 07:10 PM
(28-07-2023, 05:54 PM)ysh02 Wrote: Can our PM speak Hakka dialect ?....my neighbour their child can now speak English ; I ask them they only speak English no speak dialect Hokkien .
PM Lee's parents probably could not even understand Hakka not to mention speak it, so do you think PM Lee can speak Hakka?
His estranged sister called herself a Hakka woman but in fact she is a nonya.
Anyway I believe PM Lee and his two younger siblings are likely to be able to speak Cantonese as they grew up with a Cantonese speaking maid (called servant or gong yarn 工人 in the old days) from Guangdong... Shunde.
28-07-2023, 07:20 PM
Parents must speak dialects to their children at home lah! Wah si Hokkien lang wah kong Hokkien weh lah! Are you Hokkien lang or Teochew nang or KwongTong yan or Hylam kor or Hakkain leh?
29-07-2023, 01:02 PM
30-07-2023, 01:33 AM
No one is perfect.
At least he manage to bring us prosperity.
Without him there will never be a place call Singapore.
At least he manage to bring us prosperity.
30-07-2023, 07:39 AM
(29-07-2023, 01:02 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: Sorry, is in english...
https://youtu.be/TOYrO2YmVJk
30-07-2023, 08:29 AM
Leadership need to have powerful speeches to share their lead.
30-07-2023, 09:27 AM
30-07-2023, 06:09 PM
(30-07-2023, 01:33 AM)victortan Wrote: No one is perfect. At least he manage to bring us prosperity.
Nothing is ever perfect - LKY wasn't Chinese educated nor was he exposed to the languages that ruled the hearts and mind of the Chinese SGreans then.
He knew that was the key which he lacks vs other political competitors in an era of anti-colonialism...
31-07-2023, 08:40 AM
07-08-2023, 01:42 PM
(28-07-2023, 07:10 PM)Oyk Wrote: PM Lee's parents probably could not even understand Hakka not to mention speak it, so do you think PM Lee can speak Hakka?
His estranged sister called herself a Hakka woman but in fact she is a nonya.
Anyway I believe PM Lee and his two younger siblings are likely to be able to speak Cantonese as they grew up with a Cantonese speaking maid (called servant or gong yarn 工人 in the old days) from Guangdong... Shunde.
LKY grew up in a english-speaking Peranakan family...So whatever other languages he picked up outside will depend on who he knows and associated with.
Hence he learned Hokkien since the dialect group is the largest representative and most influential within the SG's Chinese community..
End of the day, political expediency matters in any elections...
07-08-2023, 03:18 PM
(07-08-2023, 01:42 PM)Manthink Wrote: LKY grew up in a english-speaking Peranakan family...So whatever other languages he picked up outside will depend on who he knows and associated with.
Hence he learned Hokkien since the dialect group is the largest representative and most influential within the SG's Chinese community..
End of the day, political expediency matters in any elections...
I noted that you did alter 工人 to half Cantonese and half Hokkien and say gong lung. That's a sign of mental healing, and for you, a significant improvement.
So next time, remember to order your wanton min by saying it properly to the jhk who's cooking it in Toa Payoh Bus Interchang basement. Look out for the franchised stall 国记, that's Gok Gei in case you don't know how to say it in Cantonese.
Cc: Observer aka lvlrsSTI
07-08-2023, 03:24 PM
(07-08-2023, 03:18 PM)Oyk Wrote: I noted that you did alter 工人 to half Cantonese and half Hokkien and say gong lung. That's a sign of mental healing, and for you, a significant improvement.
So next time, remember to order your wanton min by saying it properly to the jhk who's cooking it in Toa Payoh Bus Interchang basement. Look out for the franchised stall 国记, that's Gok Gei in case you don't know how to say it in Cantonese.
There is nothing for u to "note" given your habit of putting words in others mouth....
And speaking of words, I think it is best you listen to LKY himself sharing his experience encountering ethnic Chinese in other countries who lost their roots...
That is one "mental healing" for him that needs no saying to understand, unless you are CECA.