https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/lunar-...vandalised
[+] 1 user Likes CHAOS's post

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subra_Suresh

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore...ome-august

(23-01-2023, 08:31 AM)CHAOS Wrote:  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subra_Suresh

CECA are ruling SG now
[+] 1 user Likes CHAOS's post

(23-01-2023, 08:34 AM)CHAOS Wrote:  CECA are ruling SG now

Founded in 1955, Nanyang University was the first and only Chinese university established outside China.

The idea of establishing a Chinese university was first mooted by Mr Tan Lark Sye on 16 January 1953. On 23 March 1953, the Hokkien Huay Kuan donated 523 acres of land for the university. Mr Tan himself donated S$5 million. His call for the establishment of the Chinese university received enthusiastic support from communities all over Southeast Asia.

https://www.ntu.edu.sg/about-us/history

Why build those ugly structures

white cat or black cat, as long as able to catch rat is a good cat.

Lunar or Chinese new yr make no different.

NTU it principle is an Indian ?...so no Chinese words to be used lah...?
[+] 1 user Likes ysh02's post

(23-01-2023, 09:24 AM)ysh02 Wrote:  NTU it principle is an Indian ?...so no Chinese words to be used lah...?

Because the Indians don’t know how the read the Chinese characters ma, so complain to the Indian top man there ma

In Zaobao, someone posted "Wishing you all a happy Korean new year".   

[+] 1 user Likes webinarian's post

I have always wondered why 'Lunar New Year' is used. Should be 'Agricultural Calendar New Year'. Lunar New Year is a misnomer as the calendar is a lunisolar calendar.

(23-01-2023, 09:24 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote:  white cat or black cat, as long as able to catch rat is a good cat.

Lunar or Chinese new yr make no different.

In Sg, there is no "Lunar Tribe" to celebrate New Year.

75% of Chinese Singaporeans are celebrating Chinese New Year!

(23-01-2023, 09:19 AM)CHAOS Wrote:  Founded in 1955, Nanyang University was the first and only Chinese university established outside China.

The idea of establishing a Chinese university was first mooted by Mr Tan Lark Sye on 16 January 1953. On 23 March 1953, the Hokkien Huay Kuan donated 523 acres of land for the university. Mr Tan himself donated S$5 million. His call for the establishment of the Chinese university received enthusiastic support from communities all over Southeast Asia.

https://www.ntu.edu.sg/about-us/history
I agree the buildings are an eyesore................... Big Grin

(23-01-2023, 10:01 AM)debono Wrote:  I agree the buildings are an eyesore................... Big Grin

Because it was designed by an Indian Architect firm ma. Is it?

Yang ah hua used cny in his recent posts initially. After I double checked with him, he changed all to lny. Strange right?

(23-01-2023, 08:30 AM)CHAOS Wrote:  https://www.8world.com/singapore/lny-or-...nvRNZ7Zack

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/lunar-...vandalised

农历 has to do with farming lah! Big Grin Singapore has no more farm liao lah ALL destroyed by PAP Government liao lah!

(23-01-2023, 08:32 AM)CHAOS Wrote:  https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore...ome-august

Since LKY time he had tried to make the university less Chinese culture dominated and more international.

When I do down I see many nice Chinese architectural designs being retain along side modern building.

Singapore has to differentiate from the hundreds of universities in n China HK and Taiwan by becoming global...otherwise we are lost in the crowd.

(23-01-2023, 10:03 AM)Stoki Wrote:  Because it was designed by an Indian Architect firm ma. Is it?
Is that true...................? Thinking

(23-01-2023, 09:24 AM)ysh02 Wrote:  NTU it principle is an Indian ?...so no Chinese words to be used lah...?

India and China are fighting each other at the borders. So the 2 groups bring their fights to Sg and the most recent case was the fight between these two groups in a Sg  dormitory. How about in NTU?
[+] 1 user Likes Stoki's post

(23-01-2023, 10:06 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Since LKY time he had tried to make the university less Chinese culture dominated and more international.

When I do down I see many nice Chinese architectural designs being retain along side modern building.

Singapore has to differentiate from the hundreds of universities in n China HK and Taiwan by becoming global...otherwise we are lost in the crowd.

If you want international, global universities go build new ones, why destroy old ones?

(23-01-2023, 08:34 AM)CHAOS Wrote:  CECA are ruling SG now

You cannot say that from NTU happening.
NTU has an international standing so should not be so dominated by any particular culture. Hence English is the common medium.

The goal to retain a Chinese university in Singapore is already lost since LKY days when he decided to transform Nanyang U  to a university of global standing.

Older generation of Singaporeans who had build Nanyang through donations from Chinese community were angry with him but it time as a Chinese University is already over.

(23-01-2023, 10:06 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Since LKY time he had tried to make the university less Chinese culture dominated and more international.

You can't achieve excellence by selling away your soul and traditions!

南大 (before changed to NTU) Was a Chinese university build by Chinese.
[+] 2 users Like K88 shu shu's post

(23-01-2023, 10:14 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote:  南大 (before changed to NTU) Was a Chinese university build by Chinese.

A former ntu presidante wanted to change the name back to NU. After that, his term was not renewed and became a forgotten man.
[+] 1 user Likes Stoki's post

Why remove Chinese character in cateen?
You can imagine all ch character will be removed if you ve ceca Pm
[+] 1 user Likes Bigbluedot's post

(23-01-2023, 10:13 AM)cityhantam Wrote:  You can't achieve excellence by selling away your soul and traditions!

When LKY step in to transform NU to NTU, it was because the standard at NU decline to such poor levels employers treated NU grads as 3rd tier below poly grads. Govt had no choice but to step in and do a clean up to up the standard ....

Without LKY stepping in it would have declined to don't know what pathetic state.

Having said that the story of the Chinese community rallyung together  to build a university with donations is still an inspiring one ...something we won't see again in modern Singapore.

(23-01-2023, 10:14 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote:  南大 (before changed to NTU) Was a Chinese university build by Chinese.

NanTah 南大 used to be communist one mah! Big Grin  SinTah 新大 more AngMoh pie mah!

(23-01-2023, 10:13 AM)cityhantam Wrote:  You can't achieve excellence by selling away your soul and traditions!

This I agree............. Clapping

(23-01-2023, 09:53 AM)Levin Wrote:  I have always wondered why 'Lunar New Year' is used. Should be 'Agricultural Calendar New Year'. Lunar New Year is a misnomer as the calendar is a lunisolar calendar.

Yes, it is lunisolar and is based on both the lunar month and the solar year. 

Furthermore there are many lunisolar calendar around.
Sg is majority Chinese.. at least another two decades.
And officially our public holiday clearly state is CNY. 

So to call Chinese new year or Chinese Lunar new year is more correct. So remove the word "Chinese" is technically and constitution wrong.
[+] 1 user Likes watchfirst9's post

(23-01-2023, 10:43 AM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  Yes, it is lunisolar and is based on both the lunar month and the solar year. 

Furthermore there are many lunisolar calendar around.
Sg is majority Chinese.. at least another two decades.
And officially our public holiday clearly state is CNY. 

So to call Chinese new year or Chinese Lunar new year is more correct.

The real chinese will use lunar new year.
Other races will use chinese new year. For eg. The indians will use CNY.