S’poreans Flock To JB For Mooncakes, Someone Even Purchased 100 Boxes

By Jonathan Yee - 5 Sep 2022, 3:39 pm

Ms Huang, the manager of Oversea Mooncake, told China Press that a Singaporean customer had recently purchased 100 boxes of mooncakes from them.

According to Ms Huang, this year’s mooncake sales have been their best ever, with several selling out and even going completely out of stock due to high demand.

A Singaporean reportedly told China Press that for the price of a box in Singapore, they can get one or two extra boxes in JB.

Another vendor, Mr Shen, who runs the Liumama mooncake stall, noted that sales have gone up by 90% since the pandemic.

There were some mooncakes that even sold out within two hours, so the supply volume had to be increased by 30% on Saturday.

https://mustsharenews.com/jb-mooncakes-singaporeans/
[+] 1 user Likes Levin's post

things are still very cheap, mostly half price or less.

[Image: 20220907-175027.jpg]

carrot cake only 60 cts, super nice
[+] 1 user Likes WhatDoYouThink?'s post

Here those round packaging with 1 yolk $7.30 (4 pcs). Without yolk depends on the colourful words used. 4.50 to 10.50 (4 pcs each). Box one usually expensive.

Red Bean, Green Tea, Mixed Nuts with fruit, ... Their weights are different.

(07-09-2022, 05:53 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  [Image: 20220907-175027.jpg]

hawkers got principles,  good job.

Actually in Singapore the mooncakes sales are very bad
Many decided to skip because of high prices
After all this is not essential stuff
For business, many cut down on giveaways
My son used to have about a dozen boxes every year
This year so far, he receive only four

(07-09-2022, 05:53 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  [Image: 20220907-175027.jpg]

Nice and cheap lah! But how much money you spent to cross over there leh? By bus or car leh?

(08-09-2022, 05:56 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Nice and cheap lah! But how much money you spent to cross over there leh? By bus or car leh?

must drive suv then can bring back may things mah. cheong in cheong out very fast one

(07-09-2022, 03:44 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  things are still very cheap, mostly half price or less.

Malaysia has the cheapest crude oil price in the world. Big Grin
They dont have extremely high COE like Sg…
A Great destination to buy affordable mooncake.

high speed rail should restart so we can stay across the causeway (best for those work from home) on weekends travelling back here on weekdays. Many of Malays do rent out their flats here while renting a house in gelang pateh. So no need to work in our old age time.

met 2 sinkee families who stay there, rent out their sg houses. a jap couple and an expat family who stay there for 3, 4 yrs already

(08-09-2022, 10:30 AM)A2Z Wrote:  high speed rail should restart so we can stay across the causeway (best for those work from home) on weekends travelling back here on weekdays. Many of Malays do rent out their flats here while renting a house in gelang pateh. So no need to work in our old age time.

deadly against hsr
already v v vcrowded soon more crowded than hk at the expenses of us of  denying more spaces
it would not bring wealth to ordinary citizens only benefits the highly paid

(08-09-2022, 10:50 AM)talky Wrote:  deadly against hsr
already v v vcrowded soon more crowded than hk at the expenses of us of  denying more spaces
it would not bring wealth to ordinary citizens only benefits the highly paid

totally agree with you. but we are already struggling for decades due to high cost of this that and it makes sense that we should plan for our old age of cheaper food, accomodation, getting income by renting our flats here live across causeway/getang pateh.

I saw many moon cakes cost 50 to 100 dollars for 4 cakes. Pretty exp

(08-09-2022, 07:14 AM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  must drive suv then can bring back may things mah. cheong in cheong out very fast one

But why waste your petrol and time in and out leh? So long queues at Causeway leh! Then maybe your car kana whacked by those ChewHooKia leh?

(08-09-2022, 11:22 AM)Niubee Wrote:  I saw many moon cakes cost 50 to 100 dollars for 4 cakes. Pretty exp

the unhealthiest mooncakes are fr bee cheng heong
bak bua mooncake doubly unhealthy

worst that day a lady chew a pc of glass fr the moocake

No one is complaining, correct ? Wink

中秋节月亮圆圆挂天空
吃月饼提灯笼大家乐融融 !

[Image: 80d7bc6ccf162e74]

[Image: singapore-dollar-hits-highest-record-in-...y=92&ssl=1]

(08-09-2022, 11:23 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  But why waste your petrol and time in and out leh? So long queues at Causeway leh! Then maybe your car kana whacked by those ChewHooKia leh?

aiya petrol there so cheap, and do car shake a few times can get a couple dollars more. early in early back, no jam lah. park car at friend's condo then take grab, very cheap and convenient

(08-09-2022, 11:22 AM)Niubee Wrote:  I saw many moon cakes cost 50 to 100 dollars for 4 cakes. Pretty exp

Cheap stuffs sold expensive.

got one box $100 from a famous hotel, some parts of the egg yolks are hard like plastic, even the dogs refused to eat

(08-09-2022, 12:12 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  got one box $100 from a famous hotel, some parts of the egg yolks are hard like plastic, even the dogs refused to eat

Faked egg yolk?

(08-09-2022, 12:04 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Cheap stuffs sold expensive.

Exactly my thoughts Laughing

Some pastry tau sah, yolk, some seeds..

(08-09-2022, 12:21 PM)Niubee Wrote:  Exactly my thoughts Laughing

Some pastry tau sah, yolk, some seeds..

Can buy 5 roast ducks last for weeks
Lol

(08-09-2022, 12:14 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Faked egg yolk?

no way to verify. aso paiseh to tell friend who bought them
[+] 1 user Likes WhatDoYouThink?'s post

(08-09-2022, 12:35 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Can buy 5 roast ducks last for weeks
Lol

Look at breadtalk, one bun cost $2++.

Cheap stuff sell high. Many such stuff in developed countries

Similar quality mooncakes cost 60% cheaper in Malaysia. If you need maybe 5 hours total to clear traffic both ways.

long ago the famous chinatown mooncake bakery also have to queque for hours (reported in the newspaper decades ago).

(08-09-2022, 11:47 AM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  aiya petrol there so cheap, and do car shake a few times can get a couple dollars more. early in early back, no jam lah. park car at friend's condo then take grab, very cheap and convenient

Why so troublesome leh? I went to Chinatown by train then sampled many stalls mooncakes free of charge one leh! Big Grin

(08-09-2022, 02:29 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Why so troublesome leh? I went to Chinatown by train then sampled many stalls mooncakes free of charge one leh! Big Grin

aiya for many household items, petrol, 吃东西买东西看电影马杀鸡,can save a lot

(08-09-2022, 02:33 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  aiya for many household items, petrol, 吃东西买东西看电影马杀鸡,can save a lot

Waste so much money for what leh? ALL those things free of charge one meh?