Those caught smoking at public parks and beaches can be fined up to $1,000 from Oct 1

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/t...from-oct-1
[+] 1 user Likes Levin's post

useless if NO ONE there to enforce

Want to enforce should include areas around tertiary institutions like SOTA, De La Salle, NAFA Academy of fine Arts. Many students there are vaping and smoking desperately in void decks, car dropoff points, coffee shop, pedestrian walkway, etc. Wonder whether Sg really got any enforcement officers or they are in hiding.

(30-09-2022, 01:36 PM)Instinct Wrote:  Want to enforce should include areas around tertiary institutions like SOTA, De La Salle, NAFA Academy of fine Arts. Many students there are vaping and smoking desperately in void decks, car dropoff points, coffee shop, pedestrian walkway,  etc.  Wonder whether Sg really got any enforcement officers or they are in hiding.

there are enforcements officers but obviously not enough

(30-09-2022, 01:06 PM)Levin Wrote:  https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/t...from-oct-1

You dare to take photos and videos send to NEA meh?

(30-09-2022, 01:36 PM)Instinct Wrote:  Want to enforce should include areas around tertiary institutions like SOTA, De La Salle, NAFA Academy of fine Arts. Many students there are vaping and smoking desperately in void decks, car dropoff points, coffee shop, pedestrian walkway,  etc.  Wonder whether Sg really got any enforcement officers or they are in hiding.

会一天抓超过一万人。
[+] 2 users Like dynamite's post

(30-09-2022, 01:49 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  You dare to take photos and videos send to NEA meh?

I took video. Good to tell them to smile
[+] 1 user Likes dynamite's post

(30-09-2022, 01:44 PM)wendychan Wrote:  there are enforcements officers but obviously not enough

Let's see what happens tomorrow lah! How many will get fined leh? Maybe your photos can help them lah!

(30-09-2022, 02:18 PM)dynamite Wrote:  I took video. Good to tell them to smile

Smile! Smile You're on candid camera lah!

(30-09-2022, 02:17 PM)dynamite Wrote:  会一天抓超过一万人。

Some people sure kana whacked jialat jialat one lah!

Mean nao ish okay to do so without punishment? No wonder always see those PG\MG and beng\seng type like to walk and smoke at the same time like a boss.

Else it would mean already go punishment but people still do this, thus the problem ish not with the fine but with enforcement. If can't enforce even if increase the fine to $5K also like that one. Sad

(30-09-2022, 02:34 PM)Soulhacker Wrote:  Mean nao ish okay to do so without punishment? No wonder always see those PG\MG and beng\seng type like to walk and smoke at the same time like a boss.

Else it would mean already go punishment but people still do this, thus the problem ish not with the fine but with enforcement. If can't enforce even if increase the fine to $5K also like that one. Sad

when first started they only  give warnings.
wasnt it the same with the  no smoking in orhard  rd rule?
after  3 mths,  no more warnings

(30-09-2022, 02:25 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Some people sure kana whacked jialat jialat one lah!

Actually it is time for the government to be serious. My place has a dengue street, the back lane has roof tiles that will collect lots of rain water during heavy rain. And that place has been under surveillance of NEA for quite a while. Shouldn't they advice the resident involved to rectify that but that was not done or follow up properly.

(30-09-2022, 03:24 PM)dynamite Wrote:  Actually it is time for the government to be serious. My place has a dengue street, the back lane has roof tiles that will collect lots of rain water during heavy rain. And that place has been under surveillance of NEA for quite a while. Shouldn't they advice the resident involved to rectify that but that was not done or follow up properly.

They should also fine people who breed mosquitoes lah!

(30-09-2022, 04:26 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  They should also fine people who breed mosquitoes lah!

no lah

should let thousands of mosquitoes suck and poke their lan jiao for three days in prison

Ya.. fine 1 million also no use. No one around to check..

In some countries, if u report a petty crime and the person get fined, the reporter get a cut of the fine...

Sinkie land should learn from that.

[+] 1 user Likes ArielCasper's post

(30-09-2022, 11:40 PM)ArielCasper Wrote:  Ya.. fine 1 million also no use. No one around to check..

In some countries, if u report a petty crime and the person get fined, the reporter get a cut of the fine...

Maybe they should station some police officers around those No Smoking areas to arrest people lah! Maybe put more CCTV lor!

(30-09-2022, 11:40 PM)ArielCasper Wrote:  Ya.. fine 1 million also no use. No one around to check..

https://electrek.co/2020/01/14/nyc-pays-...h-311-app/

NYC pays big bounties for reporting idling engines
In New York City, if you report an idler and they’re found guilty, you get 25% of the fine, which ranges from $350 to $2,000. This started in February 2018, largely thanks to the efforts of George Pakenham, a Wall Street banker and part-time clean air activist living on the Upper West Side. Pakenham was the subject of the 2012 documentary film Idle Threat: Man on Emission
In that movie, he explains that while New York had an idling ordinance that goes back to the 1970s, it was considered a “moving violation,” meaning only police could enforce it, not parking inspectors. Pakenham, with help from the New York Environmental Defense Fund, was successful in getting that changed, so the city’s army of parking inspectors could help with enforcement. The movie predates the bounty program.

Pakenham told VICE News in March 2019 that he had made 120 complaints and pocketed $9,000. New York City maintains a detailed website for its “Citizens Air Complaint Program,” where you can create an account and begin submitting complaints online.

for those interested in full movie, the link - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WZidBMQNHNg

not a  brag but maybe a lamentation
https://sgtalk.net/Thread-action-movie-a...TROLL-AWAY

i can humbly say that the number of litterbugs ive reported to NEA.
based on a very conservative estimate that if its their first time - the total fines have so far come to  more than 20K
probably more
NO commission of course
just keeping my neighbourhood clean

[Image: OhegnqT.jpg]

(30-09-2022, 01:49 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  You dare to take photos and videos send to NEA meh?

if u dont mind yr own businesses n be a BB be prepared to get humtam
is not yr job  let the enforcement do their job
if u report what u get ?
$100? 
or a  USELESS cert ?

(01-10-2022, 05:52 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Maybe they should station some police officers around those No Smoking areas to arrest people lah! Maybe put more CCTV lor!

Enforcement officers with body cam and comission based.

Now so troublesome to smoke.. decided to quit smoking again, hopefully it's for good. Lol

(01-10-2022, 03:25 PM)dynamite Wrote:  Enforcement officers with body cam and comission based.

OF COURSE GOT QUOTA N COMMISSION BASED TO KNOW WHETHER THEY ARE REALLY WORKING

(01-10-2022, 03:25 PM)dynamite Wrote:  Enforcement officers with body cam and comission based.

no  commisison lah
dont spread mis information

(01-10-2022, 03:55 PM)wendychan Wrote:  no  commisison lah
dont spread mis information

I suggest only.

this is why also make a lot go Vape?

Some more you don't smell any cigarettes smell , this is why some teen also vape in cinema when no much people around etc even in the bus

(01-10-2022, 02:55 PM)talky Wrote:  if u dont mind yr own businesses n be a BB be prepared to get humtam
is not yr job  let the enforcement do their job
if u report what u get ?
$100? 
or a  USELESS cert ?

If get $100 for a $400 fine, I sure report. Good money..

(01-10-2022, 04:33 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  this is why also make a lot go Vape?

Some more you don't smell any cigarettes smell , this is why some teen also vape in cinema when no much people around etc even in the bus

vaping is illegal in singapore
cigarettes are legal

More lah..