To have SG's Chinese Core...we should have SAP University - George Yeo
Cool 

Else we will reliant on imported (Chinese) talent.

With the rise of China, the world will become less Anglo...Chinese (language) will become more important. All of us will face the same reality.

[+] 1 user Likes Manthink's post

I am not surprised SG's english-language media hardly print George Yeo's interview. 

Some, like Mothership, was selective in their reports on his Interview using the word "'Dangerous" in its heading.

Sad to see Mothership half-past-six misleading journalism. Rolleyes

https://mothership.sg/2022/08/george-yeo...se-talent/
[+] 2 users Like Manthink's post

Heng arh! He is booted out.

Just by having SAP University can have SG Chinese core?

He sounds as stupid as Jac Lau.

(20-08-2022, 12:23 PM)Ola Wrote:  Heng arh! He is booted out.Just by having SAP University can have SG Chinese core? He sounds as stupid as Jac Lau.

GY is no longer in politics, so he can speak his mind and share his view more freely.

Call him stupid  - But what he is pointing out is we need to enhance SG's Chinese core, sharing his personal experience in his family when his children choose to head to China university with his youngest graduating from Beijing University

That is the trend of younger generations today and he is relief we are preparing for the "less Anglo" future.

[Image: gyson3.png]

(20-08-2022, 12:19 PM)Manthink Wrote:  I am not surprised SG's english-language media hardly print George Yeo's interview. 

Some, like Mothership, was selective in their reports on his Interview using the word "'Dangerous" in its heading.

Sad to see Mothership half-past-six misleading journalism. Rolleyes

https://mothership.sg/2022/08/george-yeo...se-talent/

Whole world know SG govt are totally monopolize by our one sided pro Angmoh Bananas and non Chinese

one nyu already cannot tahan, still go sap u? if old man still around he sure kena jialat jialat

(20-08-2022, 12:50 PM)CHAOS Wrote:  Whole world know SG govt are totally monopolize by our one sided pro Angmoh Bananas and non Chinese

Kausukan loves to kan China, Chinese and Chinese culture!

(20-08-2022, 12:55 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  one nyu already cannot tahan, still go sap u? if old man still around he sure kena jialat jialat

GY also mentioned Nantah U in the interview - It took a different generations of SGreans to appreciate  the contribution of the University  which the colonial gov had attempted to stop.  It took donations from poor and Chinese community to make it possible

He said most Singaporeans will not agree to TW independence. He doesn't speak for most Singaporeans. It is also a not question for Singaporeans to chupjika.

(20-08-2022, 05:07 PM)starbugs Wrote:  He said most Singaporeans will not agree to TW independence. He doesn't speak for most Singaporeans. It is also a not question for Singaporeans to chupjika.

GY also spoke of many SGreans Chinese who support the HK "blue" (police) during the chaos of 2019.

So I know he speaks for me as far as being a SGrean Chinese who is concern with Asia's peace and prosperity..   Clapping

He's not wrong. It's important to have our home-grown talent in this area. I see more and more kids grown up without a good understanding of their ancestors' culture and history. As China and US are competing for world dominance, they do not trust nor understand each other. Singapore can step in and be the middleman, and so reap rewards from both sides. But first we need to have people who understand them well.

With the comments that GY made. He now basically contradicts to the importing of talents policy which he possibly had a hand in supporting back then, during his time within the party that he was in.

Why didn’t he and his colleagues oppose to the policy back then?

And sadly with this comment he made, he only single out the Chinese instead of the other regions import. Surely all the other foreign talents, they too did not have the understanding of Singapore as the Chinese he so claimed.

If he didn’t think about our core Singapore values will be affected or put Singaporeans first, back then? why he choose to comment them now? His rationales made in this interview just contradicts what was done by his party members back then.

We continue to bring in more foreigners, till today.
[+] 1 user Likes kangtangman's post

(20-08-2022, 08:14 PM)kangtangman Wrote:  With the comments that GY made. He now basically contradicts to the importing of talents policy which he possibly had a hand in supporting back then, during his time within the party that he was in.

Why didn’t he and his colleagues oppose to the policy back then?

And sadly with this comment he made, he only single out the Chinese instead of the other regions import. Surely all the other foreign talents, they too did not have the understanding of Singapore as the Chinese he so claimed. 

If he didn’t think about our core Singapore values will be affected or put Singaporeans first, back then? why he choose to comment them now? His rationales made in this interview just contradicts what was done by his party members back then.

We continue to bring in more foreigners, till today.

This was what George Yeo said in a past interview and it gave us a glimpse to his thinking:

Quote:And you must always be part of the larger flow. If you want to fight the flow, you will be very tired. It is always important to know where the big flows are and to move to the big flows, then you can do a lot of things.

In all my responsibilities from a young age, I always tried to know what was the flow and be in the flow, rather than trying to fight the flow.

When he's with PAP, he went along with the existing thought of the leadership at that time. In other words, when your boss said something, don't oppose him. It's his survival skills. You may disagree with him but you can't say it's wrong entirely.

(20-08-2022, 08:29 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  This was what George Yeo said in a past interview and it gave us a glimpse to his thinking:

When he's with PAP, he went along with the existing thought of the leadership at that time. In other words, when your boss said something, don't oppose him. It's his survival skills. You may disagree with him but you can't say it's wrong entirely.

So what you are saying is that, it is alright for him to go with the flow despite the results may compromise Singaporeans jobs or well being back then? And probably they were gambling away that the results may turn out differently, after all they can’t predict the future. 

Now he realised that the damaged was done, therefore he see the need to highlight in this interview. 

But it still does not explained his single out the Chinese in this interview when he could generalised all foreign talents. Because the damage does not lies on Chinese alone, that is something that I failed to understand.

Also when the party leader previously said in one of a election, that we don’t need oppositions in the Parliament to oppose every policy or bills, which will resulted him having to spend all efforts to find ways to deal with oppositions. Because their members can oppose the bills as their members does not simply agreed for the sake of agreeing, were merely just hot air….I get it now.

[Image: Comparative_evolution_of_Cuneiform%2C_Eg...acters.jpg]

Egyptian Maya and chinese hieroglyphs MUST BE DITCH!

Egyptian Maya hieroglyphs are ditch long ago

Egyptian now used arabic alphabetical
Mexico used spainese  alphabetical
vietnam and korean also uses their own alphabetical they derived for themselves

Egyptian Maya and chinese hieroglyphs ALL MUST BE DITCH!

(20-08-2022, 09:59 PM)kangtangman Wrote:  So what you are saying is that, it is alright for him to go with the flow despite the results may compromise Singaporeans jobs or well being back then? And probably they were gambling away that the results may turn out differently, after all they can’t predict the future. 

Now he realised that the damaged was done, therefore he see the need to highlight in this interview. 

But it still does not explained his single out the Chinese in this interview when he could generalised all foreign talents. Because the damage does not lies on Chinese alone, that is something that I failed to understand.

Also when the party leader previously said in one of a election, that we don’t need oppositions in the Parliament to oppose every policy or bills, which will resulted him having to spend all efforts to find ways to deal with oppositions. Because their members can oppose the bills as their members does not simply agreed for the sake of agreeing, were merely just hot air….I get it now.

I did not say it's all right or not all right for him to go with the flow. All I'm saying is that his philosophy of going with the flow is his survival skill. Who am I to say this way is wrong or right? Moreover, he may sincerely believe that the importation of foreigners is right. I too think that it's right. It's only a matter of the number, and this is controlled by his boss, not him.

His singling out the Chinese has already been explained with the words, 'with the rise of China...'. 

No need to hammer him too much.

While GY is right on Anglo will be less important
and Chinese lang in particular will be occupying more usage.
We do not need specialized elite group for that.
Does he mean average citizens need not to, only require small group of people to do it.

Focus should be reversing years of undermining Chinese lang usage since late 90s, 
which worsen in beginning of last decade along with other 2nd lang. 
As can seen, 2nd lang is no longer criteria to local Universities and many official signages only have one language. 
Malay deteriorate much less in their 2nd lang command due to sticking closer to the festivals origin.
For the rest most are half pair as compare to twenty years ago.

The situation is pretty obvious because Sporeans are no longer unique in 2nd lang teaching this region, as more in this region equip min. two languages.

To show we are not practicing Chinese Chauvinism, Sg should emphasis all 2nd lang,
and in fact Sg should expand 2nd lang lists to cover four other UN official languages Arabic, French, Russian and Spanish 
And the few major ethnic group of foreigners reside here..   Laughing

to these 政客, it's just a tool with commercial and political interests.

(20-08-2022, 12:13 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Else we will reliant on imported (Chinese) talent.

With the rise of China, the world will become less Anglo...Chinese (language) will become more important. All of us will face the same reality.

100% agree..
Must not be ashamed of one's root.
Eventhough we are SGrean Chinese and the majority in SG...
SG Malay, Indian, others are proud of their race culture, language as the minority in SG..

Why must we the Chinese give up ours culture just for their call for SGrean identity? 
Recently some complian our elite school being too "Chinese"..
Why?
Being too Chinese is bad in SG?
Speak mandarin in SG is bad?
How about the other minority speaking their own language? 
Buying properties or even live Malaysia, Batam and work in SG?
That is their so call SGrean identity? 

It is time we should have a Chinese language school in SG..
Let our local Chinese people be proud of their mother tongue. Spread our Chinese culture here and far...
[+] 3 users Like moonrab's post

What is the point of having SG Chinese core

When the good or high paying jobs are given to FTs?

His PAP driving us into the Ditch.

[+] 2 users Like Ola's post

sg have no longer core. open policy till like all stranger here. LKY want to see core local singaporean that he built up for us and we fight as a country. not anymore with current gov.
[+] 1 user Likes jus4lucky's post

(21-08-2022, 09:34 AM)Ola Wrote:  What is the point of having SG Chinese core  When the good or high paying jobs are given to FTs?  His PAP driving us into the Ditch.

Simple - SG Chinese is not other country's Chinese. Seems you forget your many past complains like this.... Rolleyes

(06-08-2022, 10:38 AM)Ola Wrote:  Singapore is Singapore.  We are not USA and we are not China.

(20-08-2022, 10:58 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  to these 政客, it's just a tool with commercial and political interests.

The good news is ever since GY  exited politics after GE2011, he moved to HK to work in the private sectors - There he personally seen how politics and lost of self-identity has caused so much problem in HK. No need me to remind us how  HKer vs HKers show its ugly face in 2019 after kenna influence by foreign powers.

(21-08-2022, 11:08 AM)jus4lucky Wrote:  sg have no longer core. open policy till like all stranger here. LKY want to see core local singaporean that he built up for us and we fight as a country. not anymore with current gov.

Ask you this - Remember gov said now 1/5 NS recruits are either new immigrants or son of immigrant.

Question is can NS help build SG Core with 20% of them for immigrant families ?

(23-06-2022, 11:16 AM)kokee Wrote:  whole world know well, they are there to brainwash & also be spy.
This world has never be in such a big mess with all these steal technology, spy, brainwash, influence or political fight in last 20 yrs.
Not only closed many in US, in austalia, Europe, ton already closed down by local govt, they all know why all these china institute exist.

美国关闭104所孔子学院

whole world are closing down ccp china Confucius college everywhere, UK, japan, canada, australia &  ton more, almost all closing down now!
we are not against chinese language, china traditional culture but not communism brainwash!
all these comie dogs here are brainwash to extreme, same to their brainless supporters here easily influences!
luckily spore main education language today is english, spore chinese language education is actually lower standard than malaysia with full chinese education all the way to university or at least A level as 1st language!
HK is gone case today!

真实中国的价值观冲突

(22-08-2022, 01:03 PM)kokee Wrote:  whole world area closing down ccp china Confucius college everywhere, UK, japan, canada, australia &  ton more, almost all closing down now!
we are not against chinese language, traditional culture but not communism, brainwash!
all these comie dogs here are brainwash to extreme, same to their brainless supporters here easily influences!
luckily spore main education language is still english, spore chinese education is actually much lower standard than malaysia with full chinese education all the way to university as 1st language!
look at HK today, compare us to HK, malaysia & almost globally, we are lucky that our road & trend is correct due to our link to western democratic world!
HK is gone case today!

[Image: 10630854-0-BD1-4-D58-A5-FC-6-D5-B91-F413-ED.jpg]

[Image: 578-FFC6-E-4-F39-41-CA-9188-743530-AC0515.jpg]
Everybody’s know you are moronic kokee king of lies bullshit and know nuts 

Moronic kokee still preaching Falun Gong hor very evil and very dark one dangerous

this dog head cbm looks like a gay

(22-08-2022, 01:34 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  this dog head cbm looks like a gay

LOL! GY already said those are his  opinion and not meant to make everybody happy.

That's why he put those views in his new book "Musings" - with focus on Chinese identity..

He even called himself a "Taoist" given his Catholic upbringing.

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/pap-aljunied-2...37299.html

[Image: acccb5e0-1f82-11ed-9f7f-78e5dd225078]

Looking 30 years ahead, China will be far the biggest economy in the world and among the most advanced technologically. China will be a very important part of our future. Naturally, a growing number of younger Singaporeans will study and work in China. We must expect some of our children to spend much of their school years in China with their parents. Singapore has also become an attractive home away from home for many Chinese (from mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan) because of Singapore’s independence and Chineseness. Some of them will become our citizens. Their children will both have a strong command of spoken and written Chinese and be steeped in China’s history and culture - George Yeo

https://mothership.sg/2022/08/george-yeo...lytechnic/

(20-08-2022, 12:31 PM)Manthink Wrote:  GY is no longer in politics, so he can speak his mind and share his view more freely.
Call him stupid  - But what he is pointing out is we need to enhance SG's Chinese core, sharing his personal experience in his family when his children choose to head to China university with his youngest graduating from Beijing University

That is the trend of younger generations today and he is relief we are preparing for the "less Anglo" future.
[Image: gyson3.png]

Last check Beijing U outranked NUS liao...

https://www.thestar.com.my/aseanplus/ase...anks-fifth