'You fine me, I sue you': resident upset over TC ask him to remove plants from unit

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/you-fi...ove-plants

For one green-thumbed man in Hougang, caring for his plants is a fulfilling hobby to pass the time.

So, he was understandably furious when the Aljunied-Hougang Town Council allegedly asked him to remove the plants outside his unit.

"I used to have so many more plants here," elderly man told content creator Turf Wars in a TikTok video posted yesterday (Jan 19).

However, the sprightly man is unwilling to go down just like that.

In retaliation to the town council's demands, he said on the video that he is giving them three options.

The first was to ask a reporter to publicise his case.

"How come other people can grow plants but I can't? You don't have to walk very far to see," he said while gesturing at his neighbour's homes.

The second option was that if the town council fines him, he said he'll sue them.

"You fine me, I sue you. See you in court," he said fiercely.

But despite the first two menacing-sounding options, his third was surprisingly a little tamer.

"I'll stop growing plants," he simply said.

"Forget it, anyway, it's just a casual hobby," he explained

In the TikTok comment thread, many netizens pointed out that as long as this man is able to keep his plants neatly, he should be allowed to do so.

Some also said that his plants helped to "beautify the surroundings" too.

a lot of idiots love to say I SUE YOU

get some brains so you can figure out HOW MUCH you gonna spend EVEN IF YOU WIN

gas bags

talk is CHEAP

Outside his unit is not his place to grow what he likes

https://www.tiktok.com/@turfwarssg/video...7726989569

(21-01-2023, 04:01 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  https://www.tiktok.com/@turfwarssg/video...7726989569

the plants by his unit okay..
but those further out are an eye sore. esp those statues.

he is right abt TC not having double standards

In the end he will choose option 3 remove n forget it

His 3rd option, all stop planting, and all plants removed

(21-01-2023, 04:08 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  His 3rd option, all stop planting, and all plants removed

He wants his neighbours to stop planting too...............remove their plants........ Laughing

Maybe Got neighbor complained lah
Maybe the statues are an eyesore

(21-01-2023, 04:20 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Maybe Got neighbor complained lah
Maybe the statues are an eyesore

If that is the case, is old uncle willing to remove the statues..........? Big Grin

iam so proud of him
he is my lauHero
[Image: Screenshot-2023-01-21-at-16-30-22-You-fi...ve-pla.png]

(21-01-2023, 04:24 PM)debono Wrote:  If that is the case, is old uncle willing to remove the statues..........? Big Grin

sell it to TC loh

here a song for him
https://youtu.be/g2-FbMM_Cm4?list=RDg2-FbMM_Cm4

(21-01-2023, 04:32 PM)singlon Wrote:  here a song for him
https://youtu.be/g2-FbMM_Cm4?list=RDg2-FbMM_Cm4

There is no song, only music............ Big Grin

https://youtu.be/5-EtMFqtoPY?list=RD5-EtMFqtoPY

(21-01-2023, 04:40 PM)singlon Wrote:  https://youtu.be/5-EtMFqtoPY?list=RD5-EtMFqtoPY

Good song............ Clapping

(21-01-2023, 05:08 PM)debono Wrote:  Good song............ Clapping

Nice meh

(21-01-2023, 05:13 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Nice meh

To each his own................ Big Grin

Grow too many, should have sell earlier...

(21-01-2023, 12:46 PM)wendychan Wrote:  https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/you-fi...ove-plants

(21-01-2023, 12:47 PM)wendychan Wrote:  For one green-thumbed man in Hougang, caring for his plants is a fulfilling hobby to pass the time.

So, he was understandably furious when the Aljunied-Hougang Town Council allegedly asked him to remove the plants outside his unit.

"I used to have so many more plants here," elderly man told content creator Turf Wars in a TikTok video posted yesterday (Jan 19).

However, the sprightly man is unwilling to go down just like that.

In retaliation to the town council's demands, he said on the video that he is giving them three options.

The first was to ask a reporter to publicise his case.

"How come other people can grow plants but I can't? You don't have to walk very far to see," he said while gesturing at his neighbour's homes.

The second option was that if the town council fines him, he said he'll sue them.

"You fine me, I sue you. See you in court," he said fiercely.

But despite the first two menacing-sounding options, his third was surprisingly a little tamer.

"I'll stop growing plants," he simply said.

"Forget it, anyway, it's just a casual hobby," he explained

In the TikTok comment thread, many netizens pointed out that as long as this man is able to keep his plants neatly, he should be allowed to do so.

Some also said that his plants helped to "beautify the surroundings" too.

This uncle wants to sue so easy meh?  Thinking Town Council belongs to which MP leh?

an old man in a chair

wat hapan

u can recognise some of them
they r celebrities.

who was this person?

[Image: Screenshot-2023-01-21-at-20-03-26-Was-th...BC-New.png]
US ambassador

[Image: Screenshot-2023-01-21-at-20-03-46-Was-th...BC-New.png]

HERE IS THE VIDEO FROM THE NBC NEWS AS IT WAS BROADCAST THE NIGHT OF FEB 1ST: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E9H_XxG9Qo4&t=461s461s. TIME STAMP 7:44

[Image: Screenshot-2023-01-21-at-20-08-23-You-Tube.png]

(21-01-2023, 07:31 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  This uncle wants to sue so easy meh?  Thinking Town Council belongs to which MP leh?
Worker party

(21-01-2023, 08:12 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Worker party

You mean he doesn't support WP meh?  Thinking

(21-01-2023, 08:14 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  You mean he doesn't support WP meh?  Thinking

Maybe he supports wp but comes to removal of his plants he is angry loh