(22-08-2023, 02:10 PM)Oyk Wrote: [ -> ]The presidency is the highest office of the land. I do not agree with TKL making those so-called light-hearted "pretty girls" posts on FB, and taking beedios of random "Pretty women" if he wants to stand for the EP election to become our Head of State. To me, the President is a solemn, no-nonsense, serious person.
Some jobs have to remain that way. For exampur, a judge. I would sexpect him to be non smiling, solemn, serious, no nonsense. I would be shocked if the judge were to say to an offender: wow! what a pretty girl you are! Anyway, I will sentence you to twenty dollars fine for this offence. Court! Dismissed! Now for some BBT. hehehe!
Same goes for the President. Perhaps even more so because it is the highest office of our country,
Yes u are right
Just now I tot he would not be nominated after this light hearted saga
Then if to disqualify him might cause fights as his Oppo supporters were there
Now it’s the voters to decide
Hope not another Devan Nair story relapses
Kok Song ... so old never give Sibul happy happy .... she go out makan .... kenna caught ....aiyo SG no face .....really throw face
(22-08-2023, 02:18 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote: [ -> ]Yes u are right
Just now I tot he would not be nominated after this light hearted saga
Then if to disqualify him might cause fights as his Oppo supporters were there
Now it’s the voters to decide
Hope not another Nathan story relapses
Well, Ho Ching had spoken. Did you read her FB post on this?
To me, TKL did not do anything that was criminal. He acted as normally as a man would, but given his age, some might say "as normally as a a cheekopek would", and that might make some voters squirm.
Whether it is GE or PE, when you want peepur's votes, you have to understand the society you are in. Are we conservative? What are our collective values? Nobody would say anything, and if they say it, it will be very positive, if you carry a baby and say "What a cute baby!" and post on FB. If you are contesting to be President, it would be in your favour: the peepurs' President indeed! He loves chewren!
If it were President Halimah saying "What a nice bunch of pretty girls, these are. Excellent dance performance!", nobody would accuse her of objectifying women, or being eek! LGBTQ in the closet! So, some things, a woman can say while a man cannot.
It cannot be explained away with hard sciences. It is a social science, and in Singapore, I believe the majority of us don't like a President to be that "light-hearted" with his language.
just got time to see tkl facebook picture and talk talk that aware say not ok.
think aware using their any old how standard to judge people out of context.
if an organization behalf like that it is a dangerous one.
see tkl talk talk as a causal joke. good for a president to be causal and not so strict type.
holding hands got problem then what about western greetings of kissing?
think maybe aware will be putting on a protest at speaker corner already.
(22-08-2023, 02:29 PM)Oyk Wrote: [ -> ]Well, Ho Ching had spoken. Did you read her FB post on this?
To me, TKL did not do anything that was criminal. He acted as normally as a man would, but given his age, some might say "as normally as a a cheekopek would", and that might make some voters squirm.
Whether it is GE or PE, when you want peepur's votes, you have to understand the society you are in. Are we conservative? What are our collective values? Nobody would say anything, and if they say it, it will be very positive, if you carry a baby and say "What a cute baby!" and post on FB. If you are contesting to be President, it would be in your favour: the peepurs' President indeed! He loves chewren!
If it were President Halimah saying "What a nice bunch of pretty girls, these are. Excellent dance performance!", nobody would accuse her of objectifying women, or being eek! LGBTQ in the closet! So, some things, a woman can say while a man cannot.
It cannot be explained away with hard sciences. It is a social science, and in Singapore, I believe the majority of us don't like a President to be that "light-hearted" with his language.
If he is elected but doubt so.
He will be likely named as cheeky president
Cheeky is not a crime but unpleasant image for a president.
(22-08-2023, 02:22 PM)Tangsen Wrote: [ -> ]Kok Song ... so old never give Sibul happy happy .... she go out makan .... kenna caught ....aiyo SG no face .....really throw face
To me, having her around is a liability for his PE contest.
It's his private life to want to date a willing 45 year old woman, and none of our business really. But I just don't feel comfy to have a president who's all of 75, looking very much like a typical grandpa, and walking around with a woman who looks more like his daughter than fiancée.
(22-08-2023, 02:37 PM)Oyk Wrote: [ -> ]To me, having her around is a liability for his PE contest.
It's his private life to want to date a willing 45 year old woman, and none of our business really. But I just don't feel comfy to have a president who's all of 75, looking very much like a typical grandpa, and walking around with a woman who looks more like his daughter than fiancée.
Yeah yeah, I agree. She looks like a MLIF /cougar .... later go outside makan kenna caught ..... throw face lah
(22-08-2023, 02:34 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote: [ -> ]If he is elected but doubt so.
He will be likely named as cheeky president
Cheeky is not a crime but unpleasant image for a president.
Make Singapore bad again lor
aware smearing campaign has begin to work positively for tkl.
jsut heard over cna even tharman is distancing himself from it.
Nvm la. President Trump even worse but gain more supports
Badly photoshopped photos of TKL start to appear suddenly.
I have seen malays kissing hands in public. Is that ok?