Full Version: Do you agree that NSMen who serve NS contribute more than pioneer generation?
ModeWhy old people pay cheaper transport fare and get guaranteed seats huh??

NS men who served this country get nothing

Why huh??
Some say bec they are pioneer

But these pioneer never serve NS le, that makes them lower than NS men right
(04-11-2021, 04:19 PM)maddog Wrote: [ -> ]ModeWhy old people pay cheaper transport fare and get guaranteed seats huh??

Why huh??

(04-11-2021, 04:20 PM)maddog Wrote: [ -> ]Some say bec they are pioneer

But these pioneer never serve NS le, that makes them lower than NS men right

In Singapore, the NS law only became law in 1966, therefore those who are older need not undergo fulltime NS.  But it is by courtesy, that the old among us are offered seats in buses and MRT. It is not compulsory to vacate your seats for the elderly, but it is the young and able who would be kind enough to offer the 'reserved' seats to the elderly.. Clapping
The pioneers got
Cheapest property
No NS obligation
Best inflation earnings
Best business opportunities
Garment full support
Cheap transport
Everytime I see pioneers, I see a brunch of Hor Mia kias. And they squandered their life away and end up taking subsidies from garment
(04-11-2021, 04:26 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]In Singapore, the NS law only became law in 1966, therefore those who are older need not undergo fulltime NS.  But it is by courtesy, the the old among us are offered seats in buses and MRT. It is not compulsory to vacate your seats for the elderly, but it is the young and able who would be kind enough to offer the 'reserved' seats to the elderly.. Clapping

Respect the old is traditional Asian values.
When we are that old, hopefully the young will show us respect as well.

Conscript save govt money, else the nation have to bare higher cost.
(04-11-2021, 04:37 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote: [ -> ]Respect the old is traditional Asian values.
When we are that old, hopefully the young will show us respect as well.

Conscript save govt money, else the nation have to bare higher cost.

We will be oldpeople who served NS, different from current bunch of pioneers
(04-11-2021, 04:38 PM)maddog Wrote: [ -> ]We will be oldpeople who served NS, different from current bunch of pioneers

It all depends when you are born, those in the pioneer group could have been born earlier, and thence are not called to serve fulltime NS... Big Grin
(04-11-2021, 04:38 PM)maddog Wrote: [ -> ]We will be oldpeople who served NS, different from current bunch of pioneers

True but sometime things cannot compare in that manner.
Some of those earlier than pioneers already dead during WW2.
(04-11-2021, 04:57 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote: [ -> ]True but sometime things cannot compare in that manner.
Some of those earlier than pioneers already dead during WW2.

Not so far back lah.... Laughing
some of these pioneers pampered by pap are v rude,demand  UNREASONABLY this n that just becos of their age.MANY ARE HOT TEMPER STARING AT U WHEN RING BELL TO ALERT THEM ON CYCLING.
(04-11-2021, 05:46 PM)talky Wrote: [ -> ]some of these pioneers pampered by pap are v rude,demand  UNREASONABLY this n that just becos of their age.MANY ARE HOT TEMPER STARING AT U WHEN RING BELL TO ALERT THEM ON CYCLING.

Not every elderly are like what you described, there are always two sides of a story... nudie
Try not to compare, cos there will always be richer and poorer people than you Big Grin

Be contented with what you have.
(04-11-2021, 06:19 PM)p1acebo Wrote: [ -> ]Try not to compare, cos there will always be richer and poorer people than you Big Grin

Be contented with what you have.

Well said.... Clapping
This chat is to point out that we are a generation who served NS and given more than pioneer, why are government giving pioneer or smlj generation more privileges than us??
(04-11-2021, 04:19 PM)maddog Wrote: [ -> ]ModeWhy old people pay cheaper transport fare and get guaranteed seats huh??

Why huh??

Then what about those leeches beggars low life new citizens?
(04-11-2021, 04:31 PM)maddog Wrote: [ -> ]Everytime I see pioneers, I see a brunch of Hor Mia kias. And they squandered their life away and end up taking subsidies from garment

U r the Hor Mia Kia. Can come internet and kpkb. U have no idea the kind of life the pioneer went thru lah. During their time got MRT? Got aircon bus? Got so many shopping malls until u r spoilt for choice? Got online shopping? Got grab food? SGD Vs MYR got 1:3? Can u trade sgx or other stock markets so easily?
(04-11-2021, 06:55 PM)winbig Wrote: [ -> ]U r the Hor Mia Kia. Can come internet and kpkb. U have no idea the kind of life the pioneer went thru lah. During their time got MRT? Got aircon bus? Got so many shopping malls until u r spoilt for choice? Got online shopping? Got grab food? SGD Vs MYR got 1:3? Can u trade sgx or other stock markets so easily?

they go through a period where 
busfare only 5 cents
kopi only 10 cents 
HDB flat only $7000
(04-11-2021, 05:49 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]Not every elderly are like what you described, there are always two sides of a story... nudie
80% of the pioneer generation s i met are like that
(04-11-2021, 07:48 PM)hero Wrote: [ -> ]they go through a period where 
busfare only 5 cents
kopi only 10 cents 
HDB flat only $7000

That one, also due to The FED. 
(04-11-2021, 07:48 PM)hero Wrote: [ -> ]they go through a period where 
busfare only 5 cents
kopi only 10 cents 
HDB flat only $7000

Their salary also much lower.
(04-11-2021, 06:55 PM)winbig Wrote: [ -> ]U r the Hor Mia Kia. Can come internet and kpkb. U have no idea the kind of life the pioneer went thru lah. During their time got MRT? Got aircon bus? Got so many shopping malls until u r spoilt for choice? Got online shopping? Got grab food? SGD Vs MYR got 1:3? Can u trade sgx or other stock markets so easily?

Well said, what you said has substance.... Clapping