Full Version: Man used CPF Medisave for wife giving birth in Malaysia - affordable
CPF not your money until you uplorry.
I been to Kuching many times and hv frds there. Not surprising. There are lots of good specialists in private hospital and their charges are so much cheaper than Singapore. Good medicines are also easily available in such private hospitals.
He didn't say he couldn't afford why you look down on him?
From my experience, Malaysian hospitals are generally fine if your condition isn’t complicated.

However they do not have the advance or complex medical equipments and procedure to capture early detection.

Early detection is critical. Singapore is really first rate when it comes to this.
This one true blue Sinkie or new jiuhu SG citizen?
(06-09-2023, 10:08 AM)Gemstar Wrote: [ -> ]I been to Kuching many times and hv frds there. Not surprising. There are lots of good specialists in private hospital and their charges are so much cheaper than Singapore. Good medicines are also easily available in such private hospitals.

jhks come here to work for the 1 x 3.4.

Of course things are cheaper in Msia.  Why else are Singaporeans going to JB to jiak bak kut teh, and on 1 Sep after the presidential erection, some even went to the Causeway only to get stuck at the Causeway for 9 freaking hours.  How daft is that?

There are peepur going to Msia to fix their teeth because the cost of dental treatment here is higher....and very sexpensive if you do root canal and all those silly things like a set of dentures.

Why are FTs coming here to work as doctors?  It's because of the good pay right?  You want to pay them less, and they go to the US and UK.  Same for nurses.

So you say, need more doctors?  Admit more locals lar!  And then you have someone like SgBuffet who could not get a place in NUS becoming a doctor.  You trust him to inject some medicine into your body?

Everybody gets a pay increase every year.  Healthcare staff also want their increment.  This leads to higher healthcare costs.  The government needs to raise GST to fund this, and the 30% politicize this and say VTO!  You want cheap healthcare costs, but at whose expense?  Healthcare staff to take low salaries in Singapore????  Get real man.
The fact is Singapore got more advance medical instrument that need advance well educated doctors and surgeon to operate them

Those Singapore doctors has more certification than those in Malaysia

That why Singapore so expensive

But Singapore medical is still not as advance as in EU and USA
(06-09-2023, 07:54 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]https://www.tiktok.com/@learnpropertywit...3442100481?

He speaks even better than TKL.

And he pronounced the word "procedure" correctly.  Most peepeur here pronounce it wrong.
(06-09-2023, 10:25 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]He didn't say he couldn't afford why you look down on him?

Please watch the whole video.
He send his wife to Malaysian hospital for C section to 
save money. If he can afford not to save money...why send his wife to deliver his child jn Malaysia.

Then he said in the video go to Malaysia for "affordable treatment using CPF".

If he finds Singapore affordable (he can afford) then there is no reason for him to go Malaysia ...for the delivery of his son.as there is alot of paper work
[Image: q7c2FIy.png]
(06-09-2023, 11:32 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Please watch the whole video.
He send his wife to Malaysian hospital for C section to 
save money. If he can afford not to save money...why send his wife to deliver his child jn Malaysia.

Then he said in the video go to Malaysia for "affordable treatment using CPF".

If he finds Singapore affordable (he can afford) then there is no reason. For him to go Malaysia ...for the delivery of his son.

He wanted to save money doesn't mean he couldn't afford...

It's like many ppl take public transport to save money, it doesn't mean they couldn't afford own cars...

And those who take home cooked or hawker food, you think they couldn't afford restaurant food?
Heng I eat ikan bilis and kiam chye to save costs Big Grin
(06-09-2023, 11:48 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]He wanted to save money doesn't mean he couldn't afford...

It's like many ppl take public transport to save money, it doesn't mean they couldn't afford own cars...

And those who take home cooked or hawker food, you think they couldn't afford restaurant food?

His justification for going to Malaysia is affordability.
When you have money for something does not imply affordability because you may be struggling to pay for it. 

[Image: q7c2FIy.png]
Because he'd chosen the affordable option and for that you assume he couldn't afford the other more expensive option?

Throughout the video he never said he couldnt afford. It's more like your imagination only
(06-09-2023, 12:13 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Because he'd chosen the affordable option and for that you assume he couldn't afford the other more expensive option?

Throughout the video he never said he couldnt afford. It's more like your imagination only

He said he went to Malaysia for affordability.
What ever you say affordability is the main reason.

Wheen be got money or no money to pay in Singapore is not the issue....because he sees the Singapore lacking in affordability.

He did not use the word "cheaper".
When one walks to a nearby hawker center for affordable hawker food, would you say he couldn't afford to drive to restaurant for his meal? Ofc you could say that but it's too imaginative
(06-09-2023, 08:13 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote: [ -> ]CPF not your money until you uplorry.

pls explain … how to use your CPF when you uplorry?
(06-09-2023, 12:50 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]When one walks to a nearby hawker center for affordable hawker food, would you say he couldn't afford to drive to restaurant for his meal? Ofc you could say that but it's too imaginative

If you go through inconvenience like climbing a hill to eat affordable  food vs a restaurant next to you it is because you cannot afford the convenience of restaurant.

Similarly the choice for this guy is not simply a or b.

He has to go through the inconvenience of transporting his pregnant wife to deliver in a Malaysian hospital.

There is no reason to do that if he can afford Singapore hospital of the same class and treatment.
(06-09-2023, 10:38 AM)toothpick Wrote: [ -> ]From my experience, Malaysian hospitals are generally fine if your condition isn’t complicated.

However they do not have the advance or complex medical equipments and procedure to capture early detection.

Early detection is critical. Singapore is really first rate when it comes to this.
True. Most Malaysian doctor are working here. Left with those who are not so good. So why go there unless not so serious illnesses. 
But if not so serious why go there??! Spore is also cheap use Medisave MediShield n so on. 

Best is to buy insurance when young. Don’t wait.
Dun sway sway complicated issues pop up during the operation and the sidetracked issues not claimable then duaki
(06-09-2023, 01:02 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]If you go through inconvenience like climbing a hill to eat affordable  food vs a restaurant next to you it is because you cannot afford the convenience of restaurant.

Similarly the choice for this guy is not simply a or b.

He has to go through the inconvenience of transporting his pregnant wife to deliver in a Malaysian hospital.

There is no reason to do that if he can afford Singapore hospital of the same class and treatment.

Whatever it is, he didn't say he couldn't afford. Those are your own words
(06-09-2023, 11:48 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]He wanted to save money doesn't mean he couldn't afford...

The morale of the story is not abt unaffordable. The wisdom is on how to spend wisely.
Right. A person who practices frugality doesn't mean he couldn't afford expensive stuff.
Oh, finally ah butt changed the title. That's better.
Malaysian place a great emphasis on government and private hospitals. If possible they prefer go private hospitals despite government hospitals so much cheaper. From what I know from my spouse side family, they feel they cannot trust the government hospital doctors to do a good job and does not have advanced medical equipment etc. So they will pay a lot more (if they can afford) to go to private hospitals with much shorter waiting queue.

Story from her younger sister. She no monies so go government hospital lying on bed (blow ceiling fan) to wait for give birth so make sound the nurse scold her to keep quiet. Then her elder sister (teacher) go to private despite can go government and she say smooth process delivery and no scolding blow aircon and toilet one ppl exclusive use.

Story from me. I go wash and do tooth filling as a foreigner they charge me a token MYR 50? and that was many years ago. For locals think is either MYR 1-10? Anyway Msian govt medical really super cheap in comparison to Spore govt medical.
So baby born in Malaysia.
just don't give birth in SG...

https://tinyurl.com/3wpf73nk
(06-09-2023, 10:08 AM)Gemstar Wrote: [ -> ]I been to Kuching many times and hv frds there. Not surprising. There are lots of good specialists in private hospital and their charges are so much cheaper than Singapore. Good medicines are also easily available in such private hospitals.

a diabetic friend of mine had a diabetic M'sian friend..............his M'sian friend get free medicine due to his old age..............the pills made in Switzerland some more..........

my friend buy pills in S'pore................made in India..............

(06-09-2023, 10:38 AM)toothpick Wrote: [ -> ]From my experience, Malaysian hospitals are generally fine if your condition isn’t complicated.

early detection only useful for the rich...................no point having the best equipment and doctors when the medical bill will kill you........
Malaysia healthcare is cheap because they have an oversupply of doctors graduated from the private universities. Last year, there was even a protest by MY doctors because they could not get perm contracts from hospitals because there are simply too many doctors in the market.