Full Version: Elderly penalised for late settlement of medical bills
https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/for...letters-57

Shirley Kwok
Elderly penalised for late settlement of medical bills

Every three months, I visit Ang Mo Kio Polyclinic to treat my diabetes, high cholesterol and high blood pressure.

Unless full payment of outstanding medical bills is made at the polyclinic, patients will not get to see the doctor.

There are many seniors struggling to cope with the high cost of living.
On previous occasions, I was denied medical care until I paid the outstanding amount in full.

It is not right to deny medical care to seniors just because they are late with payments.
(08-12-2023, 08:52 AM)forum456 Wrote: [ -> ]https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/for...letters-57

Shirley Kwok

Every three months, I visit Ang Mo Kio Polyclinic to treat my diabetes, high cholesterol and high blood pressure.

Unless full payment of outstanding medical bills is made at the polyclinic, patients will not get to see the doctor.

On previous occasions, I was denied medical care until I paid the outstanding amount in full.

It is not right to deny medical care to seniors just because they are late with payments.

Polyclinic is also no more cheap hor.
I got one time went polyclinic , the bill was about $40++.
(08-12-2023, 08:52 AM)forum456 Wrote: [ -> ]https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/for...letters-57

Shirley Kwok

ask lsl n the 4g ministers we are always behing u ?
no oneis left behind?
Senior never said the amount ?; they were given this month $800 why owe clinic ? Gov already given so many subsidiary and Cpf top up...are you thinking those nurses; doctors and servants work FOC ?
No money go ask temple lah: CC or church lah or even your son or daughter to pay else charge them in court .
I would say that the payment system is a joke in the hospital and polyclinic.

When a payment is made regardless from which building/ department/ location, shouldn’t the system just reflect the overall outstanding payment?