Full Version: Scam cases in Singapore jumped almost 50% in 2023; most victims
Scam cases in Singapore jumped almost 50% in 2023; most victims fell for job, e-commerce scams 

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapor...022024_cna
STOP USING ANYTHING ONLINE
AND THE SCAM WILL STOP!

but can you stop? is the question..
Everyone is desperately needing a good job to meet the high cost of living. It comes to no surprise that people are still applying for all types of jobs in the market.
(18-02-2024, 03:15 PM)menghuii Wrote: [ -> ]STOP USING ANYTHING ONLINE
AND THE SCAM WILL STOP!

but can you stop? is the question..

I can but CPF  board cannot. CPF demand that we make cpf contribution using online. No second option.
(18-02-2024, 03:11 PM)Bigiron Wrote: [ -> ]Scam cases in Singapore jumped almost 50% in 2023; most victims fell for job, e-commerce scams 
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapor...022024_cna

S'poreans live in the most expensive city in the world, so those who are desperately trying to make ends meet end up falling for attractive offers of jobs, too-good-to believe deals on purchases and get rich quick schemes etc.
I have been looking for a job, permanent job for past 6 years, lah

So every week, I have to waste about 6 hours on that activity

Sooner or later, I will also be scammed under 160 Eyes of useless PAP
Has the authorities regulate the job portal market that is long overdue? MP Josephine seems unfamiliar with her previous portfolio and is caught unaware.
(18-02-2024, 07:23 PM)Ola Wrote: [ -> ]I have been looking for a job, permanent job for past 6 years, lah

So every week, I have to waste about 6 hours on that activity

Sooner or later, I will also be scammed under 160 Eyes of useless PAP

Have you try to approach your MP for your area for help? They can help write letter very powerful weapon to expedite things and perhaps job vacancies?
(18-02-2024, 08:35 PM)Symmetry Wrote: [ -> ]Has the authorities regulate the job portal market that is long overdue? MP Josephine seems unfamiliar with her previous portfolio and is caught unaware.

Hmmm what regulation you are thinking about?
they forgot about the "cure is more dangerous than the disease" scam... Tongue
(18-02-2024, 08:35 PM)Symmetry Wrote: [ -> ]Has the authorities regulate the job portal market that is long overdue? MP Josephine seems unfamiliar with her previous portfolio and is caught unaware.

Josephine Teo has been sleeping through her time in Parliament like her colleagues

[Image: parliament-sg.jpg]
Scamcity?
(18-02-2024, 08:37 PM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]Have you try to approach your MP for your area for help? They can help write letter very powerful weapon to expedite things and perhaps job vacancies?

Don't waste your time with them. I ever approached them before. After giving them my cv, never heard from them until 2 months later and they only asked me one question, "do you still need my help?" After that silent again until another month later asked the same question, "do you still need my help? " And after that silent forever.
(18-02-2024, 10:03 PM)Clyde Wrote: [ -> ]Don't waste your time with them. I ever approached them before. After giving them my cv, never heard from them until 2 months later and they only asked me one question, "do you still need my help?" After that silent again until another month later asked the same question, "do you still need my help? " And after that silent forever.

Can you reveal your MP name I curious to know which GRC or SMC so can do notes on my end. Yes I keep track of those incompetent indiscreet etc MP in my little red book. Tan Chuan Jin, Micheal Palmer, Iswaran etc
(18-02-2024, 11:25 PM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]Can you reveal your MP name I curious to know which GRC or SMC so can do notes on my end. Yes I keep track of those incompetent indiscreet etc MP in my little red book. Tan Chuan Jin, Micheal Palmer, Iswaran etc

That was during the Asia financial Crisis. Too many people lost their job and there was practically no new investment coming in. During that time, government came out with many stupid policies for those whose household income drop to apply for financial assistance.
BAN INTERNET = problem solved.
(19-02-2024, 07:53 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote: [ -> ]BAN INTERNET = problem solved.

I live by this one rule when buying anything online: "if the deal sounds too good to be true, it is too good to be true".
this govt has failed us, so eager to everything digital, online etc but kept silent on the weakness of a digital economy. so much spend on education yet we are just as worst as a 3rd world state. Entirely different from LKY's time. Now is got problems then solved. Even got problem don't know what's the problem so how to solve. too much reliant on foreign/ah neh s software tech. Govt must pay for all these scams that passed tru our system with no checks. it is their fault.