Full Version: Some of you forumers really need to brush up your England
If you want others to understand what the fark you posting here!
(21-02-2024, 01:05 AM)Sentinel Wrote: [ -> ]If you want others to understand what the fark you posting here!

You're right lah! Big Grin Begin with yourself lah! What do you mean by "your England" and "fark" leh? Thinking Write proper English lah!
my ingland is tok kong no need to brush up.
(21-02-2024, 06:07 AM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]You're right lah! Big Grin Begin with yourself lah! What do you mean by "your England" and "fark" leh? Thinking Write proper English lah!
Ya loh kettle calling oneself black same as gemsty
Chiu huan moi tru yous edmw lingo sibo?
(21-02-2024, 01:05 AM)Sentinel Wrote: [ -> ]If you want others to understand what the fark you posting here!

This is a Sinkie forum. Not Chao Ang Moh forum lah.

Here is a place to share your bird language.

Only Sinkies  understands singlish u are not
(21-02-2024, 08:44 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]This is a Sinkie forum. Not Chao Ang Moh forum lah.

Here is a place to share your bird language.

[Image: happy-dance.gif]
(21-02-2024, 08:47 AM)Lukongsimi Wrote: [ -> ]Only Sinkies  understands singlish u are not

I'm very proud of my Singlish lah! Big Grin Singapore English mah!
(21-02-2024, 06:07 AM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]You're right lah! Begin with yourself lah! What do you mean by "your England" and "fark" leh? Write proper English lah!

Most of our students fail to articulate their words clearly and distinctly according to the rules governing the English language. Our Govt attributed declining standards of English competency to the widespread use of Singlish. This led to the launch of the Speak Good English Movement in April 2000 that championed the use of Standard English over its English-based patois. It doesn't seem to have worked out as planned 24 years after the launch of that campaign.
(21-02-2024, 12:43 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]I'm very proud of my Singlish lah!  Singapore English mah!

Proponents of Singlish view it as unique to S'pore and an expression of our multicultural identity. However, the reality is that most S'poreans are unable to code switch effortlessly between Singlish and grammatically correct English. 
Me Eagle e goot einough 2 otherten
(21-02-2024, 08:47 AM)Lukongsimi Wrote: [ -> ]Only Sinkies  understands singlish u are not

If Singlish continues to be thoughtlessly acquired, it will be saved in the long term memory of our students as an acceptable form of English. Our ability to speak Standard English suffers when we spend too much time interacting with others who speak a sub-standard form of the language, since we naturally tend to adopt the speech that is heard most of the time around us.
(21-02-2024, 01:00 PM)TopSage Wrote: [ -> ]Me Eagle e goot einough 2 otherten

Even though English is considered a global language, most S'poreans appear to have command of less than 35% of the words in the lexicon. Adding Singlish into the mix serves only to confuse and hinder the learning of Standard English.
(21-02-2024, 01:01 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]If Singlish continues to be thoughtlessly acquired, it will be saved in the long term memory of our students as an acceptable form of English. Our ability to speak Standard English suffers when we spend too much time interacting with others who speak a sub-standard form of the language, since we naturally tend to adopt the speech that is heard most of the time around us.
If at work have to mind our singlish 
In forums if to write good English, no response given
many many human use many many time 2 pitfect thier inglish onily to fine out chattyGPT an Grandmaly can write betthe inglish then them
(21-02-2024, 01:22 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote: [ -> ]If at work have to mind our singlish In forums if to write good English, no response given

If we practice the use of grammatically correct English in every situation, then our standard and command of the language will naturally improve over time.
(21-02-2024, 12:58 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]
Most of our students fail to articulate their words clearly and distinctly according to the rules governing the English language. Our Govt attributed declining standards of English competency to the widespread use of Singlish. This led to the launch of the Speak Good English Movement in April 2000 that championed the use of Standard English over its English-based patois. It doesn't seem to have worked out as planned 24 years after the launch of that campaign.

(21-02-2024, 01:00 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]Proponents of Singlish view it as unique to S'pore and an expression of our multicultural identity. However, the reality is that most S'poreans are unable to code switch effortlessly between Singlish and grammatically correct English. 

OK noted thanks lah! Big Grin