Full Version: Singaporean loses appeal against death sentence for trafficking heroin
Singaporean loses appeal against death sentence for trafficking heroin he purportedly thought was cannabis

Shen Hanjie, 33, argued in his appeal that he always believed the drugs in the bundles found in his Marsiling bedroom to be cannabis or "grass".

⚖️ https://tdy.sg/3wDeRJR

@todayonlinesg
(01-03-2024, 03:04 PM)Bigiron Wrote: [ -> ]Singaporean loses appeal against death sentence for trafficking heroin he purportedly thought was cannabis Shen Hanjie, 33, argued in his appeal that he always believed the drugs in the bundles found in his Marsiling bedroom to be cannabis or "grass".

Shen Hanjie could have saved his own life by refusing to traffic any form of narcotics. I have no sympathy for him. 
No tolerance for drugs.
(01-03-2024, 03:23 PM)Migrant Wrote: [ -> ]No tolerance for drugs.

My company also has zero tolerance for sexual harassment. A male staff held a female colleague around the waist while they were crossing the road for lunch. When she confronted him, he claimed that a car was approaching so he did so to warn her of the potential danger. He was dismissed immediately after she reported the matter to HR.  
Look at what drugs can do to one! One can’t even tell from heroin or cannabis or grass.

Why is there an increase in drug abusers? Has drugs in SG been easier to access compared to the past?
(01-03-2024, 03:28 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]My company also has zero tolerance for sexual harassment. A male staff held a female colleague around the waist while they were crossing the road for lunch. When she confronted him, he claimed that a car was approaching so he did so to warn her of the potential danger. He was dismissed immediately after she reported the matter to HR.  

Is asking "are you free tonight" considered harassment?
(01-03-2024, 03:32 PM)Buffybuffy Wrote: [ -> ]Look at what drugs can do to one! One can’t even tell from heroin or cannabis or grass.

Why is there an increase in drug abusers? Has drugs in SG been easier to access compared to the past?

Err... You know how each kind of drugs look like? I don't think I know if I'm carrying any drug even if I am carrying... Lol the only drugs I can recognise are in tablets and pills from issued by doctors...
So young?! How cum death penalty wont stop them?
the drugs was found in his home so why is he charged with trafficking. 
It's like they find a sword in your home and charge you for murder.

The other thing I find inconsistent is this.

Quote:Even if that were true, it was "unbelievable" that Shen would trust and believe Alan totally and accept his explanation at face value.

Given the are so many Singaporeans who are victims of scams and some are incredible that people can fall for it. How did they conclude Shen was not deceived. What proof do they have of this? 

Shouldnt a death sentence be given only when there is no "reasonable doubt"

I see a lot of jumping into conclusions here.
>Shen Hanjie
is this a new citizen
(02-03-2024, 09:41 AM)Sticw Wrote: [ -> ]Err... You know how each kind of drugs look like? I don't think I know if I'm carrying any drug even if I am carrying... Lol the only drugs I can recognise are in tablets and pills from issued by doctors...
Honk Kong movies shows heroin is in powder form. Grass is of course in grass form lor. Hahaha
(01-03-2024, 03:33 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Is asking "are you free tonight" considered harassment?

Whenever I ask my female subordinates that question, they know it is because I am about to give them more work to do. That is not harassment; it is to help them have a better grasp of their portfolio. LOL!
(02-03-2024, 09:44 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]So young?! How cum death penalty wont stop them?

The young believe in YOLO - you only live once.
(02-03-2024, 10:21 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]The young believe in YOLO - you only live once.

I think their reasoning could be that they know of several ppl doing it and not caught, so their chances of getting caught is like striking toto first prize
It's quite common for expats/westerners to take drugs back home, but never or seldom heard of them kena arrested here. Why is it so
(02-03-2024, 10:30 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]I think their reasoning could be that they know of several ppl doing it and not caught, so their chances of getting caught is like striking toto first prize

If they do the crime, they have to do the time.
(02-03-2024, 10:34 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]It's quite common for expats/westerners to take drugs back home, but never or seldom heard of them kena arrested here. Why is it so

They consume at home, but they don't traffic.
(02-03-2024, 10:39 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]They consume at home, but they don't traffic.

Without demand there's no supply, and that young man dun hv to die

Are you saying the drug takers are not to blame for his death?
(02-03-2024, 10:56 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Without demand there's no supply, and that young man dun hv to die. Are you saying the drug takers are not to blame for his death?

Don't put words in my mouth. All I am saying is that expats who consume in SG normally do so at home. They also probably buy from a local middleman, and the expats don't traffic because they are not so foolish to do so here. 
(02-03-2024, 11:01 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]Don't put words in my mouth. All I am saying is that expats who consume in SG normally do so at home. They also probably buy from a local middleman, and the expats don't traffic because they are not so foolish to do so here. 

Even if you smoke behind closed doors, yr neighbors shd hv noticed the distinctively skunky smell. And if yr regular suppliers are caught, it shd be easy to trace back to you

I dun see any excuse not to arrest the users
(02-03-2024, 11:16 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Even if you smoke behind closed doors, yr neighbors shd hv noticed the distinctively skunky smell. And if yr regular suppliers are caught, it shd be easy to trace back to you. I dun see any excuse not to arrest the users

Drug consumption is illegal in SG. Many of these expats smoke dope back home because only trafficking is against the law there!