Marrying a Singaporean girl is like “marrying a guy partner rather than a lady partner”
picture credit: wedding rom bokelicious
June 15, 2016
By The Independent
A man who claims that he is married to a Singaporean woman has given several stereotypical answers to the question ‘How is it like marrying a Singaporean girl?’ on Quora.
Quora is a question-and-answer website where questions are asked, answered, edited and organized by its community of users.
The anonymous man’s answer got the most ‘upvotes’ and has been viewed over 2,300 times. In answering the question, the man said:
“I marry a Singaporean (Chinese) girl so I believe I qualify to answer this question. This is from my own experience.
1) They are independent, career minded – due to equal opportunity environment in Singapore
2) They are strongly opinionated and complain a lot – due to efficiency of complaint handling culture in Singapore.
3) They insist they are right, and want you to admit that you are wrong. They compromise little.
4) They won’t take your surname. Have only seen a few that does so, and all of them married white guys.
5) You will feel like you are marrying a guy partner, rather than a lady partner.
6) From my experience, many do not want children. Those who want are the religious type.
7) You can expect nothing from them, but they would expect the world from you.”
(29-11-2021, 03:24 PM)klat Wrote: [ -> ]Marrying a Singaporean girl is like “marrying a guy partner rather than a lady partner”
June 15, 2016
By The Independent
A man who claims that he is married to a Singaporean woman has given several stereotypical answers to the question ‘How is it like marrying a Singaporean girl?’ on Quora.
Quora is a question-and-answer website where questions are asked, answered, edited and organized by its community of users.
The anonymous man’s answer got the most ‘upvotes’ and has been viewed over 2,300 times. In answering the question, the man said:
“I marry a Singaporean (Chinese) girl so I believe I qualify to answer this question. This is from my own experience.
1) They are independent, career minded – due to equal opportunity environment in Singapore
2) They are strongly opinionated and complain a lot – due to efficiency of complaint handling culture in Singapore.
3) They insist they are right, and want you to admit that you are wrong. They compromise little.
4) They won’t take your surname. Have only seen a few that does so, and all of them married white guys.
5) You will feel like you are marrying a guy partner, rather than a lady partner.
6) From my experience, many do not want children. Those who want are the religious type.
AWARE has given the women here much power....

(29-11-2021, 03:40 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]AWARE has given the women here much power.... 
Oh yes, the lesbian cum butch organization

(29-11-2021, 03:50 PM)p1acebo Wrote: [ -> ]Oh yes, the lesbian cum butch organization 
Say what you like they are a powerful organization...

(29-11-2021, 03:52 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]Say what you like they are a powerful organization... 
Are their meow meow smelly?

(29-11-2021, 03:52 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]Say what you like they are a powerful organization... 
Aware has no power lah. It is the woman's charter.
(29-11-2021, 03:24 PM)klat Wrote: [ -> ]Marrying a Singaporean girl is like “marrying a guy partner rather than a lady partner”
June 15, 2016
By The Independent
Jialat... like that more Sinkie women will be left on the shelves
(29-11-2021, 04:11 PM)RichDad Wrote: [ -> ]Jialat... like that more Sinkie women will be left on the shelves
Marry angmo or ahnn lor.

No wonder many go ktvs to smoke n sing
No wonder many married Viet or Thai girls
The people deserves the govt they voted for. Same goes for choosing who you wanna marry to and sign the dotted line...
(29-11-2021, 05:15 PM)klat Wrote: [ -> ]No wonder many married Viet or Thai girls
Becareful the Vietcong bu. They can smile and slit your throat at the same time

(29-11-2021, 05:24 PM)p1acebo Wrote: [ -> ]Becareful the Vietcong bu. They can smile and slit your throat at the same time 
really? But I saw my friend photo on face book so lovely with his vietnam wife, got two kids somemore and seem life getting better, wear branded, wear rolex, wife got chanel bag , go beach chill etc leh
like marriage so lovely, saw her vietnam wife posted , So bless have a good hubby understand me etc etc.
(29-11-2021, 05:47 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: [ -> ]really? But I saw my friend photo on face book so lovely with his vietnam wife, got two kids somemore and seem life getting better, wear branded, wear rolex, wife got chanel bag , go beach chill etc leh
like marriage so lovely, saw her vietnam wife posted , So bless have a good hubby understand me etc etc.
U got ask uncle help u find gers??
Actually the list of items apply to most women in an urban society. The guy needs to go search in a some remote village if he wants the traditional type. Why do you want your wife to take your surname anyway? Got some prestige factor?
(29-11-2021, 05:47 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: [ -> ]really? But I saw my friend photo on face book so lovely with his vietnam wife, got two kids somemore and seem life getting better, wear branded, wear rolex, wife got chanel bag , go beach chill etc leh
Good to hear normal story.

(29-11-2021, 08:02 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote: [ -> ]Good to hear normal story. 
Soon FA will change to fried sausages again

(29-11-2021, 04:29 PM)Galilo_l Wrote: [ -> ]No wonder many go ktvs to smoke n sing
KTVs are in an air-conditioned premises, therefore no smoking is allowed......

(29-11-2021, 09:52 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]KTVs are in an air-conditioned premises, therefore no smoking is allowed...... 
Not that real smoking... puff puff

June 15, 2016
By The Independent
(4) After Lily Tan married Henry Lim, she would still call herself Ms Lily Tan and not Mrs Lily Lim. But if she married John Brown, she would call herself Mrs Lily Brown. The ang moh suname is like a badge of honour...it's an upgrade.
actually ..i married my wife and I dont see these
the guy who wrote this is a MCPerson
(29-11-2021, 10:00 PM)Galilo_l Wrote: [ -> ]Not that real smoking... puff puff 
????????????

(29-11-2021, 04:11 PM)RichDad Wrote: [ -> ]Jialat... like that more Sinkie women will be left on the shelves
They prefer AMTK and Neh!

A lot of times, guys need to reflect on themselves..
When they are still dating, did he go in on everything, carry bag for her (even though the bag is not heavy). If yes, why complain now, especially on point 2 and 3.
For point 4, even our parents generation (I can only speak for chinese) already started not to take husband surname.. So what talking you??
Or the author comes from our parent's parents generation?