https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/for...p-attitude
It is heartening to know that despite his unsuccessful application to study medicine at the National University of Singapore, he was not discouraged or disappointed.
His determination and resilience, coupled with his parents’ support, enabled him to pursue medical studies at the University of Nottingham.
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/s...t-covid-19
Prof Lim wanted to contribute towards medicine from a young age – he credited his parents as well as an “outstanding family doctor” as influences on his journey.
After graduating from Anglo-Chinese Junior College, he applied to study medicine at National University of Singapore, but did not get in.
“I was therefore very fortunate that my parents generously and sacrificially supported my medical studies at the University of Nottingham instead,” he said. Prof Lim graduated in 1991.
He then worked for a few years at Tan Tock Seng Hospital and Singapore General Hospital before completing higher specialist training, including clinical research, at the Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust and the University of Nottingham.
My family cannot afford to send me overseas to get a degree.
Friends whose result worse than mine but family richer were sent overseas for their studies and come back with professional degrees and work at jobs with good salaries.
What happened to your A level? Spent too much time on games? Didn't repeat or try polys?
(28-03-2024, 08:43 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]My family cannot afford to send me overseas to get a degree.
Friends whose result worse than mine but family richer were sent overseas for their studies and come back with professional degrees and work at jobs with good salaries.
There were many routes you could have taken.
1. Do your A levels again
I know a doctor whose grades could get him a place in accountancy, architecture or just any science degree like chemistry, or physics.
But he missed qualifying for medicine by half a point.
Do you know what he did? While many of his ex-classmates had their NS deferred to allow them to continue their studies in medicine in NUS...and they would come back to serve as Captains and Army doctors after their graduation....he had to do his NS because, well, there was no deferment for those not selected to study medicine.
While doing his NS, he re-took his A levels and passed with flying colours, got a place to do medicine and he is now a senior surgeon, maybe not for much longer because he should retire liao, and surgeons need steady hands and good eyesight that don't last, they deteriorate with age.
2. Take up professional courses like ACCA, ICSA which you can study after work...
Thousands of peepur had gone down this route and become qualified accountants.
No wonder not enough doctors now
(28-03-2024, 08:43 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]My family cannot afford to send me overseas to get a degree.
wasted.
if not, you would have become a Professor in financial markets
Yalor. If persevered with his further studies and trainings, his market predictions would be much more accurate and now a billionaire like w. buffett
But many famous and successful ppl dun hv much education. Examples are xjp, jack ma, lks, ...
Sometimes you think of it. People are followers. They bought properties developed by LKS. The latter after developing and managing them for a few years, will sell them away for a profit. This can be said about W. Buffet.
"In May 1966, the Cultural Revolution cut short Xi's secondary education when all secondary classes were halted for students to criticise and fight their teachers. Student militants ransacked the Xi family home and one of Xi's sisters, Xi Heping, "was persecuted to death."[13][14]
Later, his mother was forced to publicly denounce his father, as he was paraded before a crowd as an enemy of the revolution. His father was later imprisoned in 1968 when Xi was aged 15. Without the protection of his father, Xi was sent to work in Liangjiahe Village, Wen'anyi, Yanchuan County, Yan'an, Shaanxi, in 1969 in Mao Zedong's Down to the Countryside Movement.[15] He worked as the party secretary of Liangjiahe, where he lived in a cave house.[16] According to people who knew him, this experience led him to feel affinity with the rural poor.[17] After a few months, unable to stand rural life, he ran away to Beijing. He was arrested during a crackdown on deserters from the countryside and sent to a work camp to dig ditches, but he later returned to the village. He then spent a total of seven years there.[18][19]
The misfortunes and suffering of his family in his early years hardened Xi's view of politics. During an interview in 2000, he said, "People who have little contact with power, who are far from it, always see these things as mysterious and novel. But what I see is not just the superficial things: the power, the flowers, the glory, the applause. I see the bullpens and how people can blow hot and cold. I understand politics on a deeper level." The "bullpens" (牛棚) was a reference to Red Guards' detention houses during the Cultural Revolution.[17]
After seven rejections, Xi joined the Communist Youth League of China in 1971 on his eighth attempt after he befriended a local official.[8] He reunited with his father in 1972, because of a family reunion ordered by premier Zhou Enlai.[14] From 1973, he applied to join the CCP ten times and was finally accepted on his tenth attempt in 1974.[20][21][22] From 1975 to 1979, Xi studied chemical engineering at Tsinghua University as a worker-peasant-soldier student in Beijing. The engineering majors there spent about 15 percent of their time studying Marxism–Leninism and 5 percent of their time doing farm work and "learning from the People's Liberation Army"
Only a pea brain would believe xjp had received proper education, especially in chemical engineering, from Tsinghua some more.
if his family also cannot afford to send him overseas to get medical degree, he might end up like you.
it means there will always be shortage of doctors even if the qualified applicants are more than the intake.
(28-03-2024, 09:31 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Yalor. If persevered with his further studies and trainings, his market predictions would be much more accurate and now a billionaire like w. buffett
This wastrel just want to reach the sky in one step without effort.

Prof Lim's success may be attributed in a large part by his parents, but it's also due to his own diligence. However, someone here just wants to kpkb about hte govt not giving him a chance but never reflected on whether he has worked hard for his goals. Of cos, we all can see how hard he's working towards his goals - by watching plenty of videos everyday.