4 yrs ago I bought an air con ..quite useful. when hot I just turn on to cools down. While this increase electricity bills the weather is now is so hot it can get unpleasant. Before recent yrs weather usually not so hot I just use standing fan.
Quite worth to spend the money ard $300 can get one.
![[Image: SVf4JUl.png]](https://i.imgur.com/SVf4JUl.png)
(01-04-2024, 06:33 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]4 yrs ago I bought an air con ..quite useful. when hot I just turn on to cools down. While this increase electricity bills the weather is now is so hot it can get unpleasant. Before recent yrs weather usually not so hot I just use standing fan.
Just one compact unit like in the picture ah? No hose or any other attachments to the unit? Where is the electrical supply? Can post a picture of that thing running.

(01-04-2024, 07:04 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote: [ -> ]go T3 enjoy free aircon.
The car park charges will kill you. Unless you have a direct bus.
(01-04-2024, 08:15 AM)p1acebo Wrote: [ -> ]The car park charges will kill you. Unless you have a direct bus.
Can take East West MRT to Pasir Ris then change train to Changi Airport. If tired can start sleeping in the train as soon as boarded.

(01-04-2024, 08:19 AM)Huliwang Wrote: [ -> ]Can take East West MRT to Pasir Ris then change train to Changi Airport. If tired can start sleeping in the train as soon as boarded. 
Naise

(01-04-2024, 06:33 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]4 yrs ago I bought an air con ..quite useful. when hot I just turn on to cools down. While this increase electricity bills the weather is now is so hot it can get unpleasant. Before recent yrs weather usually not so hot I just use standing fan.
Need to top up gas? No gas no cold wind.
What happened to that $50 aircon you bought a few months ago? Still working?
Portable aircon units are very noisy.
Is it actually effective. I've seen supermkts use similar types b4 when their aircon spoil, blow hot air instead. Dunno whether iz aircooler or air con. Does the portable one actually work?
T3 got free aircon, enjoy.
I have seen my friend brought one to his office when the Aircon broke down. The unit is not alone, it had hose and air trunking attached to it which looked really ugly and not effective.

(01-04-2024, 11:33 AM)Huliwang Wrote: [ -> ]I have seen my friend brought one to his office when the Aircon broke down. The unit is not alone, it had hose and air trunking attached to it which looked really ugly and not effective. 
Ok, dan you confirm my suspicion dat the type supermkts use is portable aircon. Really doesn't work. How Topsy find it cooling iz a mystery.
Can take the heat just on fan
Or bill up
Just cleanse and vacuum my ac
(01-04-2024, 11:37 AM)Lukongsimi Wrote: [ -> ]Can take the heat just on fan
Or bill up
Just cleanse and vacuum my ac
U SWITCH ON THE FAN N AIRCON AT 26DEGREE INSTEAD OF 23 DEGREE TOGETHER FOR ARD 1HR THEN LATER OFF THE FAN WILL SAVE SOME ENERGY
(01-04-2024, 12:23 PM)talky Wrote: [ -> ]U SWITCH ON THE FAN N AIRCON AT 26DEGREE INSTEAD OF 23 DEGREE TOGETHER FOR ARD 1HR THEN LATER OFF THE FAN WILL SAVE SOME ENERGY
I on ac 4 hours than on fan
Don't think it is worth using such a product. The trunking is terrible.
(02-04-2023, 10:37 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Just hang on wall and can cool the whole room
I am now using a portable air con to use during very hot days
Something like this if can work will be much better than the one I am using now if it can cool the whole room
Have you forgotten about this ac you bouth last year?
This why I say what " save the earth global climate end of the day is useless " People like SG BUTT will use air con , some will full blast. Air con contribute lots of heat to the surrounding and in fact harm the earth.
EPIC Govt sectors themselves full blast their air con since is literally " free out from Public fund , tax payer money " than Govt tell u cut down using air con what save the earth?
These are energy guzzlers with COP of 2.3. The cooling capacity of this unit is 10.000 BTU and it will consume 1220 watts of power A normal windows inverter air conditioner like Midea MWAC-09PRO consumes only 900 watts. Midea MWAC-09PRO might cost $200 more but the extra cost will be paid back within a year if one operates the air conditioner 8 hours per day. Presently, I am using a combination of a bed cooler and air conditioner operating daily as a dehumidifier. I expect to save more than 30-40% of the electricity bill compared to a normal air conditioner.
(01-04-2024, 11:33 AM)Huliwang Wrote: [ -> ]I have seen my friend brought one to his office when the Aircon broke down. The unit is not alone, it had hose and air trunking attached to it which looked really ugly and not effective. 
Ya, I was thinking how does this thing work if you dun have any trunking to get rid of the hot air. So it does have a pipe to do that...
(01-04-2024, 08:10 AM)Huliwang Wrote: [ -> ]Just one compact unit like in the picture ah? No hose or any other attachments to the unit? Where is the electrical supply? Can post a picture of that thing running. 
You need to install it takes around 30 minutes.
For my home the window outlet fixture does not fit my window perfectly so went to the art shop bought a big plastic and cut out something customised
This type good meh
(01-04-2024, 10:04 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]You need to install it takes around 30 minutes.
For my home the window outlet fixture does not fit my window perfectly so went to the art shop bought a big plastic and cut out something customised
Thanks.
yes, no power,, only for one hdb room,,, not master room.
firstly as someone mentioned portable type not energy saving
secondly u need to either connect the water outlet to toilet or keep pouring the water away
thirdly, that fragile plastic air tube would break within a year or two, u better pray could be cheap spare
I think many made the mistake to install old type expensive aircon and run pipes through their homes. This is a mistake. Such air con maintenance and cost of operation is very high.Lots of energy wasted. Imagine if the piping got leak ...how you need tear everything out to check and re-pipe.
For the aircon I bought you can shift to where you need and where people are. When I am in living room I just move it there when I am in bed room it just shift there ...when I don't need it just store it so it don't take up space.
![[Image: ENGN5uy.jpeg]](https://i.imgur.com/ENGN5uy.jpeg)