Call their customer service for query on my questionable late interest charge. They couldn't be bother to return call as promised & allow my interest to pile. In the end simply replied is all in the T&C, decision is final & advise me to quickly pay up. They did not exercise their Duty of Care to call/ inform clients promptly when questionable interest charge is accumulating unknown to me. Went to 1 of their branch, the manager even feedback their customer service is outsourced, that's why the lack. In fact , many customers had complained, yielded no favourable response & with pressure of accumulating disputable interest charge, in the end have to comply with the payments.
Not sure anyone has such experience with SCB ?
I don’t have late interest charges but I always call in or key in a request to waive all my annual cc interest charges. So far so good.
Only one company DCS didn’t agree to waive. So I promptly cancelled their 2 cards lor

(25-04-2024, 08:25 AM)Sline Wrote: [ -> ]Call their customer service for query on my questionable late interest charge. They couldn't be bother to return call as promised & allow my interest to pile. In the end simply replied is all in the T&C, decision is final & advise me to quickly pay up. They did not exercise their Duty of Care to call/ inform clients promptly when questionable interest charge is accumulating unknown to me. Went to 1 of their branch, the manager even feedback their customer service is outsourced, that's why the lack. In fact , many customers had complained, yielded no favourable response with pressure of accumulating disputable interest charge, in the end have to comply with the payments.
Do you contact yr relationship manager? Usually they'll help. Aso use hp calendar to remind you all payments in advance
(25-04-2024, 08:36 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Do you contact yr relationship manager? Usually they'll help. Aso use hp calendar to remind you all payments in advance
Yes, i have no issue with local banks. Local banks will exercise their Duty of Care by calling me within a week even before the next statement is reached . Somemore SCB questinable interest charge is no small amount. SCB relationship Mgr help by telling me it is all in the T&C. The decision is final & advise me to quickly pay up to avoid interest being accumulated. . ( Leaving you feeling they just want to have the case closed asap)
The questionable 'late" payment. Is due to a high 27% interest rate is charged on all your subsequent NEW transactions even though these NEW transactions are technically not due for payment yet. SCB will charge interest on all NEW transactions as long as you are late in paying your current bill for a few days. No time for you to react as the interest on the NEW transactions will only be reflected in the next bill
Sc and Manhattan credit cards good to have because they offer good discounts for large items.
(25-04-2024, 08:48 AM)Sline Wrote: [ -> ]Yes, i have no issue with local banks. Local banks will exercise their Duty of Care by calling me within a week even before the next statement is reached . Somemore SCB questinable interest charge is no small amount. SCB relationship Mgr help by telling me it is all in the T&C. The decision is final & advise me to quickly pay up to avoid interest being accumulated. . ( Leaving you feeling they just want to have the case closed asap)
The questionable 'late" payment. Is due to a high 27% interest rate is charged on all your subsequent NEW transactions even though these NEW transactions are technically not due for payment yet. SCB will charge interest on all NEW transactions as long as you are late in paying your current bill for a few days. No time for you to react as the interest on the NEW transactions will only be reflected in the next bill
I bet to differ. My request for reducing credit limit of my UOB credit card hv falls on deaf ears. Already a year and they failed to deliver what they promised. It is ridiculous to reduce credit limit needed to hv an income statement.
I am not even asking for increase in credit limit. Worst of all, why all my calls to Call Ctr are routed to KL? I really feel not safe and considering to cancel my Credit Card.
SCB Credit Card Dept also very bad service
Poorly trained for her job and refused to answer questions.
(25-04-2024, 08:48 AM)Sline Wrote: [ -> ]Yes, i have no issue with local banks. Local banks will exercise their Duty of Care by calling me within a week even before the next statement is reached . Somemore SCB questinable interest charge is no small amount. SCB relationship Mgr help by telling me it is all in the T&C. The decision is final & advise me to quickly pay up to avoid interest being accumulated. . ( Leaving you feeling they just want to have the case closed asap)
The outright rejection by stating it is all in the Term & Conditions is unacceptable. I dare say many of their customer service officers are also not familiar of their bank T&C , let alone the layman. Somemore will you go read all the small print of all possibility of situation arising? There is a serious lapse of Standard Charted's customer service in addressing my situation.
will AI improve the experience?
Whether it's a bank, Telco, supermarket whatever, it's the front line staff who make or break the company.
The back of the house staff like those working in the warehouse, accounts department, production floor can be anything you imagine but the front line staff have to be trained to deal with customers professionally.
And to ensure that they at very least pretend to be friendly, helpful and attentive, a short survey would follow after each call.
I do understand that it's stressful to some extent to be monitored by their management in this way.
I also understand that they may have their lows on certain days. For their effort to still be polite and helpful, I'd usually end the call wishing them a good day, and wherever I could find a point to praise them, I would. This differentiates me from other callers who for the slightest reason would bring peepurs' mother in.

They hv to follow some guidelines given by their management especially regarding waivers. So when they key in the caller's particulars, the screen in front already must already hv some indications on what to do. With today's advancements in computer technologies or some called them AI, this is easily feasible and can save them lots of resources.
But most younger ppl usually dun care about waivers, whether they're late fines or annual fees, they just use giro to pay for everything. Maybe it's to troublesome to call for waivers
But it is the questionable interest charge that i am not willing to pay. To make matter worse, the customer service officers inaction to return call causing the interest to accumulate & pile. Then the so called higher management replied is all in the T&C & refuse to waive & want me to yield to the payment of the questionable interest charge!
I quoted here again my situation :
Is due to a high 27% interest rate is charged on all your subsequent NEW transactions even though these NEW transactions are technically not due for payment yet.
SCB will charge interest on all NEW transactions as long as you are late in paying your current bill for a few days. No time for you to react as the interest on the NEW transactions will only be reflected in the next bill.
Fair? In T&C ? Must i pay?
(25-04-2024, 08:25 AM)Sline Wrote: [ -> ]Call their customer service for query on my questionable late interest charge. They couldn't be bother to return call as promised & allow my interest to pile. In the end simply replied is all in the T&C, decision is final & advise me to quickly pay up. They did not exercise their Duty of Care to call/ inform clients promptly when questionable interest charge is accumulating unknown to me. Went to 1 of their branch, the manager even feedback their customer service is outsourced, that's why the lack. In fact , many customers had complained, yielded no favourable response & with pressure of accumulating disputable interest charge, in the end have to comply with the payments.
You don’t have 10 million in SCB lah.
I don’t have problem with them.
Go to the Vivocity Branch, the service is not bad.
(25-04-2024, 08:31 AM)p1acebo Wrote: [ -> ]I don’t have late interest charges but I always call in or key in a request to waive all my annual cc interest charges. So far so good.
Only one company DCS didn’t agree to waive. So I promptly cancelled their 2 cards lor 
dcs is the worst cr card card
no matter what day n what time u call the auto answer is we are buy now pls call again
(25-04-2024, 06:34 PM)talky Wrote: [ -> ]dcs is the worst cr card card
no matter what day n what time u call the auto answer is we are buy now pls call again
Best is CIMB, you still can talk to a local human being. And the waiting time is not long to get a human being to talk to you.
SG banks are really Sia suay all the way.
(25-04-2024, 06:34 PM)talky Wrote: [ -> ]dcs is the worst cr card card
Yes, very true. I wonder how they manage to survive all these years

(25-04-2024, 05:14 PM)Sline Wrote: [ -> ]But it is the questionable interest charge that i am not willing to pay. To make matter worse, the customer service officers inaction to return call causing the interest to accumulate & pile. Then the so called higher management replied is all in the T&C & refuse to waive & want me to yield to the payment of the questionable interest charge!
I quoted here again my situation :
Is due to a high 27% interest rate is charged on all your subsequent NEW transactions even though these NEW transactions are technically not due for payment yet.
SCB will charge interest on all NEW transactions as long as you are late in paying your current bill for a few days. No time for you to react as the interest on the NEW transactions will only be reflected in the next bill.
Fair? In T&C ? Must i pay?
Such banks shd avoid. Very unethical.