Full Version: Famous Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodle price increased to $8
Boss said that $6 cannot earn anything.

大华猪肉粿条面刚在5月调整价格,不再卖$6肉脞面,每碗面一律$8起。董再盛叹:“现在猪肉起价、什么东西都起价,我们要维持上等食材,$6没得赚。”

他表示,老顾客都接受这次的价格调整,毕竟“维持$6一碗料变少也不好吃,那不如只卖$8,分量、材料不变,顾客也高兴什么都有”。

https://entlife.8world.com/food/hill-str...me-2491776
Another profiteering food vendor. Only stupid people Q for their noodle.
Hope he kanna cancer and die...
EXPECTED , claim ingredients expensive , blah blah rental no need to say also will claim than workers pay leh , water and electricity bill etc.

BUT Mind you cdc voucher tactically speaking is helping these Hawkers end of the day. We consumers Never benefit much in fact.
(25-06-2024, 11:06 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: [ -> ]EXPECTED , claim ingredients expensive , blah blah rental no need to say also will claim than workers pay leh , water and electricity bill etc. BUT Mind you cdc voucher tactically speaking is helping these Hawkers end of the day. We consumers Never benefit much in fact.

Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodles has 2 stalls within a coffee shop called Tai Hwa Eating House. Does Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodles also own that coffee shop?
(26-06-2024, 08:57 AM)Oyk Wrote: [ -> ]In a LF market, the price is set between a willing seller and a willing buyer.The seller can ask for anything he wants, but if there are no takers, he will have to adjust his price accordingly.  What is the point of starting a thread to bitch about it?

I love Tai Hwa BCM, but I seldom patronise that stall these days because of the long queues, high prices and difficulty locating a parking spot nearby. Tai Wah isn't much cheaper, and most other BCM stalls I have eaten at lack the robust quality of broth produced by Tai Hwa (even Tai Wah).
(25-06-2024, 08:24 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: [ -> ]Boss said that $6 cannot earn anything.

Cannot increase!  Cannot increase!  I got no pork noodles to eat! 

I am so sad! 

In a LF market, the price is set between a willing seller and a willing buyer.

The seller can ask for anything he wants, but if there are no takers, he will have to adjust his price accordingly or price himself out of the market.

What is the point of starting a thread to bitch about it and wailing so loudly here?  Rolleyes

Which part of the diagram below you don't understand?   Love

[Image: image4-4.png]
(26-06-2024, 09:03 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]I love Tai Hwa BCM, but I seldom patronise that stall these days because of the long queues, high prices and difficulty locating a parking spot nearby. Tai Wah isn't much cheaper, and most other BCM stalls I have eaten at lack the robust quality of broth produced by Tai Hwa (even Tai Wah).

If you are old school and know how to appreciate a good soup which today's yangsters don't, you could try...it's a different dish....Fort Canning Prawn Noodles. 

It's pretty pricey and the prawns are quite small.  The seller would give me a 10% discount when he saw my face..he didn't need to see any old folks' card, just my face was enough to convince him that I was his father's age thereabout.  I don't know how old you are, so you might have to pay full price if you still look yang.

I'd order hei mee tar, and drink up that bowl of soup.  The dry version seasoning is nice, IMO.  But some peepur would order bee hoon mee terng or kway teow mee terng. I suppose they like it that way because of the soup.  Sadly they are a secret which only a small number of peepur knew about, so there was no queue...sad for the seller, but of course, good for me, as I didn't have to line up.
(26-06-2024, 09:18 AM)Oyk Wrote: [ -> ]If you are old school and know how to appreciate a good soup which today's yangsters don't, you could try...it's a different dish....Fort Canning Prawn Noodles. It's pretty pricey and the prawns are quite small.  The seller would give me a 10% discount when he saw my face..he didn't need to see any old folks' card, just my face was enough to convince him that I was his father's age thereabout.  I don't know how old you are, so you might have to pay full price if you still look yang.I'd order hei mee tar, and drink up that bowl of soup.  The dry version seasoning is nice, IMO.  But some peepur would order bee hoon mee terng or kway teow mee terng. I suppose they like it that way because of the soup.  Sadly they are a secret which only a small number of peepur knew about, so there was no queue...sad for the seller, but of course, good for me, as I didn't have to line up.

The prawn mee stall that I used to patronise at Ghim Moh, Prawn Village, has ceased operations following extensive renovations. I cannot understand why since their broth was really tasty and prices reasonable. I am approaching my mid-50s so I am old school, but friends have remarked that I look to be in my mid to late 40s. Perhaps that is why I have never been offered any discount at hawker stalls.
The Fort Canning Prawn Noodles at Jalan Bukit Merah, Block 146, has a 4 star rating.
(25-06-2024, 09:17 PM)Sharexchange Wrote: [ -> ]Hope he kanna cancer and die...

You go and eat the leftover food there lor!  Laughing
I am enjoying cheap food in Malaysia. Cheap and good. 

10 persons in private room with plenty of prawns, fish, pork, etc etc. 

Only RM 500+

Evil

Try not to invite bad karma onto yourself over overpriced pork noodles. 
$10 per bowl is coming soon ... Just like Japan
(26-06-2024, 10:09 AM)red3 Wrote: [ -> ]$10 per bowl is coming soon ... Just like Japan

Once it hits that price, subsequent increases will be by $2, then $5! Etc..... 

Jialat!  crying
(26-06-2024, 10:09 AM)red3 Wrote: [ -> ]$10 per bowl is coming soon ... Just like Japan

Prices at Tai Hwa:

1. Small $6 - No wontons.
2. Regular $8 - Sizeable amount of noodles and ingredients.
3. Large $10 - Large portion ideal for the hungry and those who waited in line for more than 45 mins.
(26-06-2024, 09:50 AM)cityhantam Wrote: [ -> ]I am enjoying cheap food in Malaysia. Cheap and good. 

10 persons in private room with plenty of prawns, fish, pork, etc etc. 

Only RM 500+

Yeah, food in Malaysia is cheaper than in Singapore.  Especially Muar.

That's why Malaysians like you come here to work.  The power of 1 x 3.5.   Rotfl

Satay costs SGD 0.90 per stick. In my recent trip to Malacca, it cost RM 1.00 each. That's less than SGD 0.30 per stick.
(26-06-2024, 10:14 AM)cityhantam Wrote: [ -> ]Once it hits that price, subsequent increases will be by $2, then $5! Etc..... 

Jialat!  crying

The older hawkers will disappear either through retirement or death.  It's a matter of taim, but for nao, many are still around selling at the neighborhood, and most of their customers are retirees...

The prices you mentioned will be set by a new generation of hawkers for the new generation of Singaporeans (assuming that the 45% of foreigners don't eat bak chor mee or hei mee)  These customers will have wage increments that match or even exceed the increase in food prices if PAP continues to govern the country.  Food may become sexpensive like in Australia, but their wages are also higher than ours.

It's retirees who live to a ripe old age, who will be hit very hard, who live on past savings... money saved up when salaries were $150 - $200 a month back in the early to mid-1970s, so how much could they have saved?  I don't mention those who lived and worked before the 1970s because they would have died.  I believe not a few of us here are nao in our 60s, who worked in the 1970s.  It's a real concern if we are still alive ten or fifteen years from nao.  I trust that PM Wong would do something to help them.  I don't trust that party in your avatar/profile picture.

But having said that, are we going to disobey doctor's orders that we stop eating so much hawker food?  Anyway, as so many of you here are single, you'd be eating nursing home food which would be so tasty....less or no sugar, less salt, no MSG.  Hoe sek mo? Rotfl
(26-06-2024, 10:53 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote: [ -> ]last time the famous one at old airport rd HC raised the price to $8 and the queue disappeared and they no choice had to reduced back to $6 and the crowds never return.

Tai Hwa Pork Noodles' brand is strengthened by the Michelin Star. That makes it a powerful brand name. The stall's rich history, tradition and its focus on quality of ingredients and consistency of taste help too.
at 8 bucks ..i will skip

there are better alternaives ..no need to curse at people just go to othre stores..some more no Q..there are plenty nice BCM and need not Q for 1hr

let willing tourists pay him instead
He either increase or he close shop, thanks to pap.
(26-06-2024, 10:21 AM)Oyk Wrote: [ -> ]Yeah, food in Malaysia is cheaper than in Singapore.  Especially Muar.

That's why Malaysians like you come here to work.  The power of 1 x 3.5.   Rotfl

Satay costs SGD 0.90 per stick.  In my recent trip to Malacca, it cost RM 1.00 each.  That's less than SGD 0.30 per stick.

The only town you know in Malaysia is Muar ah?

You learnt Malaysian geography from Sgbutt ah?
(26-06-2024, 11:27 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote: [ -> ]sorry to disappoint you that me tried once and find it so so only. Bt Timah (Jln Jurong Kechil) the 7 miles coffee shop BCM is much better and cheaper ($4.80).

May I have the name of that BCM stall? I live near King Albert Park, but have never tried that BCM before. You may well be right though tastes differ from person to person.
(26-06-2024, 12:35 PM)cityhantam Wrote: [ -> ]The only town you know in Malaysia is Muar ah?

You learnt Malaysian geography from Sgbutt ah?

I mentioned Muar because both of you are from there. Don't make sense for me to mention Batu Pahat right.

Btw even though both of you are born and grew up there, you are both very different in your views about PRC.. He's influenced by news from Anglo Saxon media whereas you are pro communist...

He's right about some things, you're wrong about some things..
(26-06-2024, 11:27 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote: [ -> ]sorry to disappoint you that me tried once and find it so so only.

Bt Timah (Jln Jurong Kechil) the 7 miles coffee shop BCM is much better and cheaper ($4.80).

Often passed by that shop must give it a try once of these days
(26-06-2024, 11:27 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote: [ -> ]sorry to disappoint you that me tried once and find it so so only.

Bt Timah (Jln Jurong Kechil) the 7 miles coffee shop BCM is much better and cheaper ($4.80).

Yup, I tried once and dun think it's that fantastic.
(26-06-2024, 01:45 PM)Oyk Wrote: [ -> ]I mentioned Muar because both of you are from there. Don't make sense for me to mention Batu Pahat right.

Btw even though both of you are born and grew up there, you are both very different in your views about PRC.. He's influenced by news from Anglo Saxon media whereas you are pro communist...

He's right about some things, you're wrong about some things..

Can you name some more Malaysian towns you have been to?
(27-06-2024, 11:06 AM)cityhantam Wrote: [ -> ]Can you name some more Malaysian towns you have been to?

Desaloo
Ipoh... size of a taun but they call it a sity. 
Love
lol he Laughing to bank again

Govt just give cdc voucher again and dumb consumer will use to buy his expense b C mee