09-07-2024, 06:48 AM
09-07-2024, 08:15 AM
After so many years, they haven't made any progress to improve these doctors' working conditions. What are these people doing? They should just resign from their jobs and let others take over.
A hospital is a place where sick patients and their relative's emotions will always run high because of their suffering. These junior doctors are usually made to be the front-line officers to face these people. The hospital should have well treated these junior doctors than torturing them and making their life even miserable.
09-07-2024, 08:18 AM
(09-07-2024, 08:15 AM)teaserteam Wrote: [ -> ]After so many years, they haven't made any progress to improve these doctors' working conditions. What are these people doing? They should just resign from their jobs and let others take over.
They will tell the local doctors, if you don't like it, you can go private practice lor. After all we have many Indian and Pinoy doctors fighting to work for us.
09-07-2024, 08:24 AM
Strawberries. Some of my classmates who are docs and even HODs say it gets better over time. Junior doctor complain means not cut out for sg. Suck it up wokies 

09-07-2024, 08:36 AM
09-07-2024, 08:54 AM
Appointment 9 am. I 8+ am already there. Both trips there. The doctors are late and rush in.
One told him to arrange an appointment for scanning, he arranged for another but forgot what I wanted.
One hates him like shit. The way he talks, you know that he is a junior but act yaya. Tell me nothing, all ok can go back. I insisted, and then he arranged the scanning 3 months later. I think you are dead, the scanning time has not arrived yet. They are like waiting for the problems to become big and obvious and then start solving problems. I said I didn't want to see that doctor and changed another. Also cannot.
Go to a private hospital, is immediate but costs a bomb. All done within the next few days.
One told him to arrange an appointment for scanning, he arranged for another but forgot what I wanted.
One hates him like shit. The way he talks, you know that he is a junior but act yaya. Tell me nothing, all ok can go back. I insisted, and then he arranged the scanning 3 months later. I think you are dead, the scanning time has not arrived yet. They are like waiting for the problems to become big and obvious and then start solving problems. I said I didn't want to see that doctor and changed another. Also cannot.
Go to a private hospital, is immediate but costs a bomb. All done within the next few days.
09-07-2024, 09:03 AM
(09-07-2024, 08:54 AM)theold Wrote: [ -> ]Appointment 9 am. I 8+ am already there. Both trips there. The doctors are late and rush in.
Possible scenario. The better ones have already left.
09-07-2024, 09:09 AM
(09-07-2024, 06:48 AM)Bigiron Wrote: [ -> ]Junior doctor says he’s scheduled to work 110 hours/week but told to under-report it
https://theindependent.sg/junior-doctor-...report-it/
The Govt claims that it is aware of the issue, but does not seem to have taken any concrete steps to address it, such as having any committee to investigate these inhumane working conditions. It remains a grave concern for the healthcare system and endangers patients as well as the mental and physical health of our young docs.
09-07-2024, 09:11 AM
Get those senior doctors from the private sector to do compulsory national services in public hospitals.
09-07-2024, 09:15 AM
(09-07-2024, 08:15 AM)teaserteam Wrote: [ -> ]After so many years, they haven't made any progress to improve these doctors' working conditions. What are these people doing? They should just resign from their jobs and let others take over. A hospital is a place where sick patients and their relative's emotions will always run high because of their suffering. These junior doctors are usually made to be the front-line officers to face these people. The hospital should have well treated these junior doctors than torturing them and making their life even miserable.
The S'pore Medical Council guidelines allow for up to an 80-hour work week, but many docs exceed that owing to workload. The call system for overnight duties may lead to stretches of 30 hours or more for doctors because of the manpower shortage. With the exodus to the private sector, there is a strain on the healthcare system, with fewer docs than required due to the rapid population growth in SG. This puts more pressure on existing docs - especially the junior clinicians.
09-07-2024, 09:17 AM
(09-07-2024, 09:03 AM)teaserteam Wrote: [ -> ]Possible scenario. The better ones have already left.
Junior docs often have limited choices in where they are placed at, leading to less desirable and more demanding postings.
09-07-2024, 09:19 AM
These inhumane working conditions contribute to burnout among younger docs, leading many to consider leaving the public sector for private practice, or even breaking their service bonds to do so. I guess preserving their mental health is the most important consideration, though some critics presume that they leave for the private sector because of better pay.
09-07-2024, 09:29 AM
The easiest way to solve this is to hire foreign doctors, but recall the backlash when moh posted ads to hire from India.
09-07-2024, 09:35 AM
(09-07-2024, 09:29 AM)starbugs Wrote: [ -> ]The easiest way to solve this is to hire foreign doctors, but recall the backlash when moh posted ads to hire from India.
I recall the late 1980s to mid-2000s when the Govt's attempts to limit the no. of medical students entering NUS resulted in the shortage of docs after SG flung its doors open to foreigners to cause the present overcrowding in our small island.
09-07-2024, 09:40 AM
No lah. It is the best way to sieve out all those non achievers and those who just want to kia lai kia kee but dont want to work hard for their patients.
Only those who can still survive the long grueling hours with a smiling face all the time will be rewarded with the promoted professional doctor title.
Get it?
Only those who can still survive the long grueling hours with a smiling face all the time will be rewarded with the promoted professional doctor title.
Get it?
09-07-2024, 11:39 AM
Leave home for work at 6am, return from work at 12am, and hv to attend to calls and night duties, really deprived of sleep. Only the toughest could make it. So be kind to them ok?
09-07-2024, 11:43 AM
(09-07-2024, 11:39 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Leave home for work at 6am, return from work at 12am, and hv to attend to calls and night duties, really deprived of sleep. Only the toughest could make it. So be kind to them ok?
Forcing our young docs to work under such conditions puts the well-being and lives of both clinicians and patients at risk.
09-07-2024, 11:45 AM
Several other professionals like corporate lawyers can wfh for 1 to 2 days per week, but medical staff cannot.
09-07-2024, 11:45 AM
(09-07-2024, 09:40 AM)klat Wrote: [ -> ]No lah. It is the best way to sieve out all those non achievers and those who just want to kia lai kia kee but dont want to work hard for their patients.
Get it?
If young docs are continually forced into working under such gruelling conditions, more will either give up the profession or break their bonds for the private sector, and who can blame them?
09-07-2024, 11:47 AM
(09-07-2024, 11:45 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Several other professionals like corporate lawyers can wfh for 1 to 2 days per week, but medical staff cannot.
That's the reality of customer or patient facing jobs.
09-07-2024, 11:47 AM
This is why Korean young doctors go on strike, cannot tahan liao
09-07-2024, 11:53 AM
(09-07-2024, 11:47 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]This is why Korean young doctors go on strike, cannot tahan liao
I thought that Korean docs have been on a long strike since Feb this year to protest the govt's plan to drastically increase medical school enrollment quotas. Docs argue that this drastic increase will overwhelm medical schools and lead to a decline in the quality of medical care, but it is obvious that they fear their wages will be reduced with the addition of more docs.
09-07-2024, 11:54 AM
The unnecessarily stringent requirements for locals to enter the medical faculties in the past, is coming back to haunt pap.
And they are replacing them with CeCa from dubious universities.
09-07-2024, 12:02 PM
Let me guess which hospital
Must be 100% Govt Structured ie SGH
That is why useless Dead Dragon must scratch the backs of his colleagues
Must be 100% Govt Structured ie SGH
That is why useless Dead Dragon must scratch the backs of his colleagues
09-07-2024, 12:03 PM
(09-07-2024, 11:53 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]I thought that Korean docs have been on a long strike since Feb this year to protest the govt's plan to drastically increase medical school enrollment quotas. Docs argue that this drastic increase will overwhelm medical schools and lead to a decline in the quality of medical care, but it is obvious that they fear their wages will be reduced with the addition of more docs.
"According to the Korea Intern Resident Association, intern and resident doctors in South Korea work 36-hour shifts, in comparison to the United States where they work less than 24 hours. About half of these doctors would work no more than 60 hours per week on average in United States, while in South Korea it is common to exceed more than 100 hours per week" ... Wikipedia
They're caught in a catch 22 situation. Long hours of work due to unbalanced distribution of facilities, not lack of doctors
09-07-2024, 12:05 PM
Us 60 hrs, korean 100 hrs, here 110 hrs. Very jialat
09-07-2024, 12:07 PM
So advise yr youngsters to do law better lah, aso jialat but not so bad
09-07-2024, 07:21 PM
An alternative is ppl with terminal illness allow to die euthanasia? Like that can lighten some of their work load?
11-07-2024, 12:35 PM
(09-07-2024, 12:07 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]So advise yr youngsters to do law better lah, aso jialat but not so bad
Doctor, I think work need to have pro-pert rest
11-07-2024, 12:38 PM
(09-07-2024, 12:03 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]"According to the Korea Intern Resident Association, intern and resident doctors in South Korea work 36-hour shifts, in comparison to the United States where they work less than 24 hours. About half of these doctors would work no more than 60 hours per week on average in United States, while in South Korea it is common to exceed more than 100 hours per week" ... Wikipedia
They're caught in a catch 22 situation. Long hours of work due to unbalanced distribution of facilities, not lack of doctors
Singapore work I that is 44 hours a week?.