Full Version: Repossession of Apartments owned by Singaporeans in Batam
I would like to take an opportunity to make you aware of a situation currently taking place in Batam on the Indah Puri resort, where many Singaporeans and other foreigners own holiday apartments.

These apartments are now being repossessed illegally by a mafia-type company from Medan who has cut electricity and water and removing the roofs of apartment blocks whilst people are still in residence.

The importance of this for Singaporeans is that once the borders open again, Singaporeans are the target market for thousands of newly built apartments in Batam currently sitting empty. If the situation at Indah Puri is allowed to proceed, then the same fate potentially awaits unsuspecting buyers of holiday apartments in Batam.

A search on Social media for Indah Puri has several viral videos. You can also find more videos and discussions on the Facebook group Expat Living in Batam

https://theindependent.sg/repossession-o...-in-batam/
Stoopid sinkees.

Phua chu kang already said dont buy anything from JB, Batam and Bintang.
What are your rights as buyer in Indonesia?
Who protects you?

If this is not clear why buy there?....
One of the risk of investment oversea.
Very bad situation.
The writer said a mafia management company has taken over the units assisted by police and military.

It could be the developer did a double sale. And Singapore buyers do not own the units and were scammed. The developer could have sold to the local party who now has legal ownership and reported police to chase "illegal occupants"

https://www.facebook.com/100007833827653...176117141/
(20-12-2021, 06:06 PM)Stoki Wrote: [ -> ]Stoopid sinkees.

Phua chu kang already said dont buy anything from JB, Batam and Bintang.
Lessons never learn. Singaporeans too rich and loved to be scammed.
Stupid la. Invest there. Invest in Bar there better. Or whore house. Just pay Kopi money and u are safe.
(20-12-2021, 06:14 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]What are your rights as buyer in Indonesia?
Who protects you?

If this is not clear why buy there?....

That depends on whether you believe in the law on the table or under the table, or worse still, underground!  Tongue
Got some details about the problems

1. The houses are build on 30yr leases. It is not clear at the point of buying if there is any agreement to extend the lease and whose obligation to extend it.

2. Apparently the management company did not extend the lease and the residents are occupying the place 'illegally"

3. The residents have sued the management company over this.

But I was thinking the management company can just fold and since buyers purchase houses with 30yr lease that ended....there is nothing they can do.

Also in original contract was it even clear the management company is obliged to obtain a lease extension?...

It looks unjust but buyers should be very careful when they buy leaseholds when lease ends you don't expect to be able to stay...

One of the residents who own the Indah Puri Golf and Resort Apartment, Wenny Nugrohowati, finally
took legal action by filing a lawsuit against the apartment management company to the Batam District Court, Riau Islands, through his attorney Ir Ahmad Hambali Hutasuhut, SH, Advocate at the Law
Office Ir. Hambali, SH & Partners.

The basis and reasons for filing a lawsuit against the law against PT Guthrie Jaya Indah Island Resort, which is currently the manager of the Indah Puri Golf and Resort Apartment located in the Sekupang area, Batam, is because it did not carry out the process of managing the Land Determination Resolution (PL) from the Main PL Number : 93.88010854. Until finally the validity period of the UWTO (Annual Mandatory Money for the Authority) which is valid for 30 years ends on September 7, 2018.
The occupants or apartment owners became angry with the management of PT. Guthrie Jaya Indah Island Resort, because the management gave a summons or warning to vacate the apartment they bought, said the lawyer who is usually called Hambali.
From the statement of the plaintiff's lawyer to the media crew, today is the first trial in the Batam District Court for the claim of the residents of the Indah Puri Apartment.
“Today is the first time that the problems that occurred in the Indah Puri apartment have reached the Court. In fact, since 5 years ago, residents of the Indah Puri Apartment have complained about their problems to various parties and agencies regarding the actions of the manager who tried to evict the occupants. Even though the residents, most of whom are foreigners, have legally purchased and owned apartment units with a notarial deed. Meanwhile, to evict illegal houses, we still use legal procedures.” said Hambali.

https://keprione.com/warga-pemilik-apert...7zi34B8KtE
i never trust Malaysia or Indonesia

rules by the same pattern
(20-12-2021, 06:46 PM)hero Wrote: [ -> ]i never trust Malaysia or Indonesia

rules by the same pattern
I won't jump into conclusion that the management company has done something wrong.

These are 30yr leaseholds that ended in 2018.

Buyers are unhappy they are asked to go. 

Look at it this way HDB flats are 99yr leases...when lease end we have to go....

Most residents are Australians...maybe they don't understand what a leasehold is...

The person who wrote the original posting on the matter left out all the legal details and claimed the management company is mafia and in cohoots with police and military.

Why did the person leave out all the important facts yo tell a one sided story?
looks like more to come in the near future, many 30 years lease sold to SGrean.
(20-12-2021, 07:39 PM)wulala Wrote: [ -> ]looks like more to come in the near future, many 30 years lease sold to SGrean.

Lease expired then get lost lah. U know how cheap those properties 30yrs ago? It cost peanuts hor. Many sinkees buy the apartment there to keep mistress only. U think for investment meh? Laughing
(20-12-2021, 07:54 PM)Notdumb Wrote: [ -> ]Lease expired then get lost lah. U know how cheap those properties 30yrs ago? It cost peanuts hor. Many sinkees buy the apartment there to keep mistress only. U think for investment meh? Laughing

Invest their sperms mah!  Tongue
(20-12-2021, 07:54 PM)Notdumb Wrote: [ -> ]Lease expired then get lost lah. U know how cheap those properties 30yrs ago? It cost peanuts hor. Many sinkees buy the apartment there to keep mistress only. U think for investment meh? Laughing

got lah, many buy for weekend leisure. I nearly fall into it but after knowing the lease is 30 years, i back off. they tell me can extend... haha, its like putting head on the chopping board after 30 years. Rotfl
Yup, foreigners cannot buy freehold land in Indonesia. Never invest in a house for which you can't own the land in a third world country.
(20-12-2021, 08:15 PM)starbugs Wrote: [ -> ]Yup, foreigners cannot buy freehold land in Indonesia. Never invest in a house for which you can't own the land in a third world country.

It certainly is a scam..... crying
History keeps on repeating itself n morons from here never learn.

So many goodus after retirement put all their cpf retitement hard earned money including their hdb sale receipts into these so called landed houses with beautiful compound beside the sea front..plus easily available cheap pretty holes for them to enjoy ...18th plus 19th hole..

N after being swindled of their money, these goodus kwai kwai come back n ask govt for subsistence living n housing , otherwise they put up tents along east coast beaches.
(20-12-2021, 08:26 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]It certainly is a scam..... crying

U know nuts lah. 
All your posts here is a bloody scam. Laughing
(20-12-2021, 08:34 PM)Yin yang Wrote: [ -> ]History keeps on repeating itself n morons from here never learn.

So many goodus after retirement put all their cpf retitement hard earned money including their hdb sale receipts into these so called landed houses with beautiful compound beside the sea front..plus easily available cheap pretty holes for them to enjoy ...18th plus 19th hole..

N after being swindled of their money, these goodus kwai kwai come back n ask govt  for subsistence living n housing , otherwise they put up tents along east coast beaches.

How can the sinkees ask govt. for money, when their CPF money is being scammed.... Angry
Always buy where the locals also buy. Malaysia also have. Land is on leasehold and the building is freehold. Most of our residential and commercial buildings are on leasehold.

The Phillipines also have. The developer leases the land for 40 years. He develops it into resort houses by the sea.

Just guessing. The company leases the land from the government there. They have to keep paying to maintain the lease. Not enough buyers and not enough collections. Lease ended, they transfer the management to another party. Last time, there are those listed properties funds management. They take over from such managements.
Never ever buy properties in batam, muddylands ...these places , the cowboy roam with guns , explosives erc
They keep on changing policy one n u kerp on paying so many protection monies ..my friend has a condo unit in port dickson by the sea...only 20% occupied by their people n rest bot by foreigners , many r greedy hao lians from here...give to us free ! Thank u for the free offer!
(20-12-2021, 06:50 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]I won't jump into conclusion that the management company has done something wrong.

Look at it this way HDB flats are 99yr leases...when lease end we have to go....

Most residents are Australians...maybe they don't understand what a leasehold is...

The person who wrote the original posting on the matter left out all the legal details and claimed the management company is mafia and in cohoots with police and military.

they tried to sell me those properties, claiming 30+30+20 and whatever shit. sure renew, all legal black and white done by professional lawyers, they claim. 

I never fall for their shit

peanut ur head, some properties there have respectable tenant like banyan tree and so on, smelly smelly cost SGD $400k
(20-12-2021, 06:50 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]I won't jump into conclusion that the management company has done something wrong.

1988 period Batam was the talk of reddot.day and nite non stop. Big Grin
(21-12-2021, 08:59 AM)Blin Wrote: [ -> ]1988 period Batam was the talk of reddot.day and nite non stop. Big Grin

those bought in 1988 no feeling, i think only SGD $20k only
(21-12-2021, 09:03 AM)hero Wrote: [ -> ]those bought in 1988 no feeling, i think only SGD $20k only

in 1988, one car can exchange for 2 houses in batam.

car has 10 year COE, house in batam in 30 year lease.

so those paid $20k are will to dump the house after 30 years.    cheap cheap, less than $60 a month, can't even rent a toilet in singapore
who on earth buys a 25 yr lease
Commercial properties in Singapore 30 years.

https://www.industrialguru.sg/tips/why-3...roperties/

Are you one of them that buy these houses for keeping mistress...? Laughing Rotfl