Full Version: Possible to replace USB-C port of a discontinued handphone ?
bros..............

say the phone discontinued for a couple years .................if the USB-C port spoilt...........is it possible to bring the phone to the distributor to change it ?

or they will not do it ?..........if so, then those small handphone shops can do a proper job ?

i reckon apart from the battery................the USB-C port is the next likely component to fail if i recharge the phone daily..........
Singapura Mobile Repair
Why u wanna make yr life so difficult?
(02-10-2024, 01:29 PM)Niubee Wrote: [ -> ]Why u wanna make yr life so difficult?

no money to buy new phone mah............just asking for the future lah..............my current budget phone less than 2 years..............but i recharge once a day so scared wear out the USB port leh......... Confused
(03-10-2024, 10:52 AM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: [ -> ]no money to buy new phone mah............just asking for the future lah..............my current budget phone less than 2 years..............but i recharge once a day so scared wear out the USB port leh......... Confused

Everyday live in fear. 活受罪
(03-10-2024, 10:56 AM)Niubee Wrote: [ -> ]Everyday live in fear. 活受罪

i very poor mah..............if rich - everything just buy new lor...........
Yes can.

Just buy the part on aliexpress go to the mobike shop theh replace for you.
(02-10-2024, 12:34 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: [ -> ]bros..............

say the phone discontinued for a couple years .................if the USB-C port spoilt...........is it possible to bring the phone to the distributor to change it ?

or they will not do it ?..........if so, then those small handphone shops can do a proper job ?

i reckon apart from the battery................the USB-C port is the next likely component to fail if i recharge the phone daily..........

From micro usb female to type c female? The hole sizes different how to change? Unless the phone shop can make the hole bigger so change to type c female
(02-10-2024, 12:34 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: [ -> ]bros..............

Can be done lah, just that you need to get the schematic drawing of your old phone to find out the pin comnection to play safe.
[Image: IMG-0535.jpg]

If you diy, can buy these female connectors online.
But the hole on yr phone case cannot accommodate different types
USB to Type C converter.
(04-10-2024, 11:32 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Yes can.

Just buy the part on aliexpress go to the mobike shop theh replace for you.

the shop won't have USB-C connectors meh ?..........i try agent 1st since the port is better (supposedly tested for 6000 insertions)

(04-10-2024, 12:29 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]From micro usb female to type c female? The hole sizes different how to change? Unless the phone shop can make the hole bigger so change to type c female

USB-C port.......like on your phone nowadays

(04-10-2024, 12:32 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]Can be done lah, just that you need to get the schematic drawing of your old phone to find out the pin comnection to play safe.

but USB-C no orientation what..............not like the old USB mini or micro.......

(04-10-2024, 12:34 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ][Image: IMG-0535.jpg]

If you diy, can buy these female connectors online.

my hands are like feet...........cannot DIY lah

(04-10-2024, 12:35 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]But the hole on yr phone case cannot accommodate different types

just the usual USB-C port leh

(04-10-2024, 12:53 PM)theold Wrote: [ -> ]USB to Type C converter.

it's USB-C mah now............no need converter
If type c to type c it’s easy. Those phone shops shd be able to do

Long long time ago micro usb to micro usb was around $10
(04-10-2024, 03:35 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: [ -> ]but USB-C no orientation what..............not like the old USB mini or micro.......

You cannot anyhow buy a USB-C for your phone lah. The USB may not fit nicely into the housing of your phone.
Only way is to buy an old damage phone of the same make and model with your current one and cannibalise that USB. I saw some shops in Sim Lim buying and selling such old damage phones for spare parts.       Rolleyes
Save some money but waste so much time... Wah kau
heng ar

i change the usb c broad myself at 30 dollars
(04-10-2024, 04:56 PM)Niubee Wrote: [ -> ]Save some money but waste so much time... Wah kau

i velly poor man lah..............boh pian......... Confused
(04-10-2024, 04:53 PM)Huliwang Wrote: [ -> ]You cannot anyhow buy a USB-C for your phone lah. The USB may not fit nicely into the housing of your phone.
Only way is to buy an old damage phone of the same make and model with your current one and cannibalise that USB. I saw some shops in Sim Lim buying and selling such old damage phones for spare parts.       Rolleyes

so troublesome meh ?.............if i go back to the distributor..........they will change the USB-C port for me even though my phone discontinued for a few years ? Thinking
(04-10-2024, 03:45 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]If type c to type c it’s easy. Those phone shops shd be able to do

Long long time ago micro usb to micro usb was around $10

if i go back to the distributor..........they will change the USB-C port for me even though my phone discontinued for a few years ?
(02-10-2024, 01:29 PM)Niubee Wrote: [ -> ]Why u wanna make yr life so difficult?

ya lor,, save so much money for what,, also cannot bring over..

buy a iphone and enjoy or latest samsung..

u give money to yr kid the most they cry for a few days at yr funeral and later then take yr money go buy
iphone also the same..

better u go buy and enjoy ,, good luck
(05-10-2024, 07:43 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: [ -> ]if i go back to the distributor..........they will change the USB-C port for me even though my phone discontinued for a few years ?

Duno about distributor. Dun think they are interested in small money
(05-10-2024, 07:46 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Duno about distributor. Dun think they are interested in small money

but the website i just found got price list for this kind of repair............not cheap also ah..........
(05-10-2024, 07:43 PM)victortan Wrote: [ -> ]ya lor,, save so much money for what,, also cannot bring over..

buy a iphone and enjoy or latest samsung..

u give money to yr kid the most they cry for a few days at yr funeral and later then take yr money go buy
iphone also the same..

better u go buy and enjoy ,, good luck

i no money in the 1st place leh......................don't say Apple phone.................i find apples too expensive also..................seriously................ crying