Full Version: Is a car a necessity in S'pore?
If S'poreans have specific needs such as a family with young children and seniors or a job that requires frequent travel to outlying areas, a car is beneficial and might not be a luxury. In such cases, it is important to weigh the costs and benefits carefully before making a decision. Owning a car in SG is expensive owing to high COE premiums, registration fees, road tax, ERP, petrol tax and parking costs. Buying and maintaining a car will eat into our retirement savings and funds for our children's education and other household expenses. It all boils down to affordability.
While it is possible for parents without a car to cope with young children in tow, it must be exhausting to juggle errands and activities using public transport. Given the high cost of cars, I am curious to know how families with multiple children and both parents working cope without a car.  What strategies do you use for weekdays and weekends? How do you handle school drop-offs, pick-ups, and CCA activities?  What aspects of your family life would be difficult or impossible without a car?
just recently one of my army friend go learn driving. He not say rich no doubt he currently rent out one hdb flat whole unit. I got ask him why he wanna learn driving. He never tell me. I also don't bother to ask more.

Maybe he want to be PHV , just like my another army friend doing full time. Now a days people wanna drive most likely will be PHV , rent the car than fetch passenger to earn back the rental fee , extra will be bonus. Some just do part time as long earn back the rental fee than use the rental car do their own stuffs , or use it to travel around.

for me I don't bother to learn , i do have a license but is class 2b motorbike. Even I got motorbike license I never ride so far. Thus come car even worst if I got the license. Partly I feel i need to set a side some money to feed the motorbike or car expenses.

Just recently I came to know my cousin who bought a 2nd Audi think he sold off . Another relative claim maybe due to high COE recently thus he can earn more " cashback " ? I don't know in depth how the car sales work out. Like those car owners go change new car sell off their current ones than top up a bit or whatever.
Most expats choose to live near mrt station so they dun drive. Same for local families but they got to pay higher prices
(21-10-2024, 11:32 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Most expats choose to live near mrt station so they dun drive. Same for local families but they got to pay higher prices

Smile like my place, my area here got TWO MRT station nearby. One is main line another is LRT . Thus go any where is easy. Go Orchard road take mrt take only like 10 mins or so. If drive or ride motorbike. You can't confirm can reach Orchard around 10 mins or so partly who knows got traffic jam around or road works suddenly etc than come weather heavy rain always traffic is slow as drivers and rider slow down.

I do noticed a lot expats stay at Novena even PRC partly so near to Orchard just take MRT.
(21-10-2024, 11:02 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]If S'poreans have specific needs such as a family with young children and seniors or a job that requires frequent travel to outlying areas, a car is beneficial and might not be luxury. In such cases, it is important to weigh the costs and benefits carefully before making a decision. Owning a car in SG is expensive owing to high COE premiums, registration fees, road tax, ERP, petrol tax and parking costs. Buying and maintaining a car will eat into our retirement savings and funds for our children's education and other household expenses. It all boils down to affordability.

Of cos having a car is necessary..  Big Grin

[Image: 360-F-375265546-b-Prmb-BKrlopq-TWoz-Lz-U...-Pt-Pr.jpg]
cars for the non peasants

and car lite for the peasants
(21-10-2024, 11:44 AM)pinkpanther Wrote: [ -> ]Of cos having a car is necessary.

While S'pore's car-lite policy is logical for the most densely populated country in the world. However, it is essential to acknowledge the value of car ownership for many of us. Public transport, while efficient, does not fully meet the needs of all households and businesses; especially those in remote areas or with specific transportation requirements. Owning a car significantly enhances our quality of life, enabling adults to access better jobs, educational opportunities for our children and essential healthcare services for our elderly parents.
Having a flashy car in SG is not a matter of life or death. It is more important than that!

[Image: 2471749-bigthumbnail.jpg]
(21-10-2024, 01:56 PM)wendychan Wrote: [ -> ]cars for the non peasants and car lite for the peasants

The current price-based COE system is a straightforward way to regulate the vehicle population. The govt controls the supply, ensuring a fair allocation based on market demand. This system is equitable, as anyone with the means can acquire a car. In other words, the govt is controlling the COE premiums and laughing all the way to the bank while doing so. Vulgar as it may seem, it all boils down to affordability just like everything in SG. If you can afford a GCB, a fleet of luxury cars and branded goods, the govt is not going to stop you from buying them.  
Just substitute "owning a car" with "football" in former Liverpool manager, Bill Shankly's quote.

[Image: 1580680156077?e=2147483647&v=beta&t=gpXs...UdhZmfDjW4]
If need be and can afford then go get one loh.

Not just far car but almost everything
(21-10-2024, 02:44 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]If need be and can afford then go get one loh. Not just far car but almost everything

That is the official line from the Govt: "No one is stopping S'poreans from buying a car so long as you can afford it, but do not expect the govt to make it affordable to you." 
(21-10-2024, 11:02 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]If S'poreans have specific needs such as a family with young children and seniors or a job that requires frequent travel to outlying areas, a car is beneficial and might not be a luxury. In such cases, it is important to weigh the costs and benefits carefully before making a decision. Owning a car in SG is expensive owing to high COE premiums, registration fees, road tax, ERP, petrol tax and parking costs. Buying and maintaining a car will eat into our retirement savings and funds for our children's education and other household expenses. It all boils down to affordability.

I don't have highway code and never learned driving since young lah! Big Grin Only taking buses and now trains go everywhere lah! If nearby just walk lah!
(21-10-2024, 07:36 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]I don't have highway code and never learned driving since young lah! Big Grin Only taking buses and now trains go everywhere lah! If nearby just walk lah!

Trains are better..you can close your eyes, relax and enjoy the cool breeze.. Sometimes there are beautiful ladies to look at Big Grin...Driving requires 100% attention..if you tell yourself to close your eyes for only 5 secs....that is it!!
(21-10-2024, 07:43 PM)pinkpanther Wrote: [ -> ]Trains are better..you can close your eyes, relax and enjoy the cool breeze.. Sometimes there are beautiful ladies to look at Big Grin...Driving requires 100% attention..if you tell yourself to close your eyes for only 5 secs....that is it!!

I usually sit down in trains immediately fall asleep lah! Big Grin Aircon so cosy and the seats are very stable leh can lean against the glass panel also lah!
(21-10-2024, 07:43 PM)pinkpanther Wrote: [ -> ]Trains are better..you can close your eyes, relax and enjoy the cool breeze.. Sometimes there are beautiful ladies to look at Big Grin...Driving requires 100% attention..if you tell yourself to close your eyes for only 5 secs....that is it!!

I would close both eyes if I have to see this sight!

[Image: Cheek.jpg]
(21-10-2024, 07:53 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]I would close both eyes if I have to see this sight!

This is indeed the best way to enjoy the cool breeze!
(21-10-2024, 07:56 PM)pinkpanther Wrote: [ -> ]This is indeed the best way to enjoy the cool breeze!

I am sorry, butt I do not agree with you. LOL!
(21-10-2024, 07:53 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]I would close both eyes if I have to see this sight!

(21-10-2024, 07:56 PM)pinkpanther Wrote: [ -> ]This is indeed the best way to enjoy the cool breeze!

I just close my eyes to sleep lah! Big Grin Cantonese said Moh Ngan Tai no eyes to see lah!
(21-10-2024, 07:46 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]I usually sit down in trains immediately fall asleep lah! Big Grin Aircon so cosy and the seats are very stable leh can lean against the glass panel also lah!

Do you pretend to fall asleep when you are standing next to well endowed women?

[Image: Crowded-Train.jpg]
(21-10-2024, 07:58 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]I just close my eyes to sleep lah! Big Grin Cantonese said Moh Ngan Tai no eyes to see lah!

Please open your eyes BIG BIG now!

[Image: Airline.jpg]
(21-10-2024, 08:00 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]Do you pretend to fall asleep when you are standing next to well endowed women?

The camera man knows best when to take a good pic 👍
(21-10-2024, 08:07 PM)pinkpanther Wrote: [ -> ]The camera man knows best when to take a good pic 👍

The bespectacled man with both hands held up high is afraid of falling to temptation.

(21-10-2024, 08:14 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]The bespectacled man with both hands held up high is afraid of falling to temptation.

There's truly no room ... if he lets both his hands drop, it constitutes molestation. Big Grin
(21-10-2024, 08:17 PM)pinkpanther Wrote: [ -> ]There's truly no room ... if he lets both his hands drop, it constitutes molestation. Big Grin

Not if that female passenger offers him her mangoes.

[Image: Mango.jpg]
(21-10-2024, 08:00 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]Do you pretend to fall asleep when you are standing next to well endowed women?

Next train not so crowded better lah! Big Grin
(21-10-2024, 08:30 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]Next train not so crowded better lah! Big Grin

You may have a clear view of this:

[Image: Sleeping.jpg]
(21-10-2024, 08:44 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]You may have a clear view of this:

[Image: Sleeping.jpg]

You can only imagine the level of discretion and secrecy required for the cameraman to capture this image.
(21-10-2024, 11:38 AM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: [ -> ]Smile like my place, my area here got TWO MRT station nearby. One is main line another is LRT . Thus go any where is easy. Go Orchard road take mrt take only like 10 mins or so. If drive or ride motorbike. You can't confirm can reach Orchard around 10 mins or so partly who knows got traffic jam around or road works suddenly etc than come weather heavy rain always traffic is slow as drivers and rider slow down.

I do noticed a lot expats stay at Novena even PRC partly so near to Orchard just take MRT.
Toa payoh got LRT?