Full Version: I took my elderly aunt to do various medical scans
Doctor advise to do private as waiting time will be very long for govt hospital.

If something serious, rather not wait because if illness is stage 3 become stage 4,  this wait can be a fatal mistake.

Hrr condition also cannot bring her to JB  to do..if do that i need to charter a private transport the savings will disappear.

[Image: tE5F753.jpeg]

I just want to ask why GST cannot be waived for medical treatment?

[Image: 8Y4Nt60.jpeg]

In every country with GST or VAT, medical bill is exempted from tax.

Our population ia ageing and need more medical care. At the same time meidcal cost has esclated.

Why cant GST be waive for medical services?
Then who is going to pay the pap ministers their million dollars salaries?
(14-01-2025, 11:20 AM)Alice Alicia Wrote: [ -> ]Then who is going to pay the pap ministers their million dollars salaries?

Getting people who are sick to pay is not humane.
Is sgtalk the right place to ask for such a serious matter?
(14-01-2025, 11:16 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]In every country with GST or VAT, medical bill is exempted from tax.

Our population ia ageing and need more medical care. At the same time meidcal cost has esclated.

because PAP cannot waive GST for people living in bungalows,condo and overseas properties (like in JB/KL)

it does not make sense to waive GST for the billionaires and millionares and property rent collectors
Ask your aunt to open a gst registered company lah...can claim back gst from the government ..so easy! Big Grin
When vat is free, the medical fees are high, and income taxes are at 40 to 45%. The money has to come from somewhere
(14-01-2025, 12:41 PM)FartSunKing Wrote: [ -> ]Later I went to Polyclinic to get an appointment to see eye doctor at government clinic at Alexandra Hospital, appointment in Apr 2025, about 6 months waiting time

No problem lar, still can see and read, just more blurry than before, 6 months waiting time to save about $500 for cataract eye tests

Well done MOH, thank you PAP

Majulah Singapura, Undilah PAP

do not assume you have cataract problem.
let the consultant check for you on your eye problems.

you can call SNEC as a private patient and check with them on walk in slot for private patient.
you can request to see only consultant and senior consultant only.
you can get to see doctor on the same day. no need to wait for 6 months.

for example, sengkang hospital eye clinic is managed by SNEC.
my brother called as private patient and he could see the doctor on the same day after 2pm.
later he was referred to SNEC for further followup.
(14-01-2025, 11:22 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Getting people who are sick to pay is not humane.

Must well said why so many minsters drawing high salaries. Do we need so many mayors and MPs?
(14-01-2025, 11:16 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Doctor advise to do private as waiting time will be very long for govt hospital.

If something serious, rather not wait because if illness is stage 3 become stage 4,  this wait can be a fatal mistake.

Hrr condition also cannot bring her to JB  to do..if do that i need to charter a private transport the savings will disappear.

TS, can you be less ambiguous in your header next time? I was wondering how come public hosp charge your aunt gst unless she is not citizen under subsidy. Oso if beri serious dr should order priority scanning for your aunt, how come need to go pte? I ony see b4  pte patients transfer to public hospitals for whatever reason. Of course oso got the reverse lah. Dat type iz usually for 2nd opinion  and for those who can afford faster treatment.
(14-01-2025, 12:41 PM)FartSunKing Wrote: [ -> ]Recently I called a private eye clinic to check the cost of cataract surgery

As my vision has deteriorated, perhaps due to old age or the dangerously high dosage or corticosteroid Prednisolone medication I have been taking the past 18 months, 20 mg a day

The staff who answered my call at the private eye clinic told me about $10K per eye including GST, total about $20K

I said ok, book me an immediate appointment for the cataract surgery, 10 days later at the earliest

Later a Medical Concierge from the private eye clinic called me and told me need to test first, cataract surgery only if I have cataract

I said I did the painful eye tests to check for cataract twice in the past, once at SNEC, once at a private clinic which cost about $600, money wasted because no cataract so no surgery to replace my lenses for better eyesight

She asked me how long ago my tests, I told her about 10 years ago

She said still need to do eye test first before cataract surgery so I said cancel the appointment as I don't want to waste money doing eye test for cataract the 3rd time 

Later I went to Polyclinic to get an appointment to see eye doctor at government clinic at Alexandra Hospital, appointment in Apr 2025, about 6 months waiting time

No problem lar, still can see and read, just more blurry than before, 6 months waiting time to save about $500 for cataract eye tests

Paiseh I ignorant, but your pte health insurance no cover dis type of treatment?
Many sick old folks around. Didn't take gd care when young? 少年不养生,老来养医生。
(14-01-2025, 01:26 PM)luncheonmeat Wrote: [ -> ]TS, can you be less ambiguous in your header next time? I was wondering how come public hosp charge your aunt gst unless she is not citizen under subsidy. Oso if beri serious dr should order priority scanning for your aunt, how come need to go pte? I ony see b4  pte patients transfer to public hospitals for whatever reason. Of course oso got the reverse lah. Dat type iz usually for 2nd opinion  and for those who can afford faster treatment.
Dont mind me asking how does one know is it is serious before a scan is done?

Wouldnt the public hospital jist tell you to wait in queue because they cannot see the seriousness before the scan ...?

When the scan finds out it js somethjng serious after the longer wait wouldnt  the chancesbe lower?
(14-01-2025, 01:37 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Dont mind me asking how does one know is it is serious before a scan is done?

Wouldnt the public hospital jist tell you to wait in queue because they cannot see the seriousness before the scan ...?

When the scan finds out it js somethjng serious after the longer wait wouldnt  the chancesbe lower?

All beri good qn. I no dr. Usually if send to AnE and presented with beri obvious symptoms, depending on the illness, blood test results deranged, patient vomited blood etc require hospitalisation dat type is serious yah.

Your post jin vague, I'm assuming your relative has the C word? If so what type and how was it diagnosed or discovered if no scan done?
(14-01-2025, 12:41 PM)FartSunKing Wrote: [ -> ]Recently I called a private eye clinic to check the cost of cataract surgery

As my vision has deteriorated, perhaps due to old age or the dangerously high dosage or corticosteroid Prednisolone medication I have been taking the past 18 months, 20 mg a day

The staff who answered my call at the private eye clinic told me about $10K per eye including GST, total about $20K

I said ok, book me an immediate appointment for the cataract surgery, 10 days later at the earliest

Later a Medical Concierge from the private eye clinic called me and told me need to test first, cataract surgery only if I have cataract

I said I did the painful eye tests to check for cataract twice in the past, once at SNEC, once at a private clinic which cost about $600, money wasted because no cataract so no surgery to replace my lenses for better eyesight

She asked me how long ago my tests, I told her about 10 years ago

She said still need to do eye test first before cataract surgery so I said cancel the appointment as I don't want to waste money doing eye test for cataract the 3rd time 

Later I went to Polyclinic to get an appointment to see eye doctor at government clinic at Alexandra Hospital, appointment in Apr 2025, about 6 months waiting time

i hv checked before,the cheapest pte hospital to do cataract opeation is a clinic in farrer park hospital,even got discount for seniors.
gogle it
(14-01-2025, 11:16 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Doctor advise to do private as waiting time will be very long for govt hospital.

Funerals costing 5 figures will attract 4 figures GST. They will also collect without a word of thank you so there, why would they worry about your $38 gst?
Can ah butt do everyone a favor by writing to ST about this important issue?
Vote and push for ah Butt into PAP!
Gd idea. He will raise many isuues related to the poor ppl in sg. Shd be able to get many votes
(14-01-2025, 11:22 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Getting people who are sick to pay is not humane.

U should ask during PAP rally this year.
If she is serious, go to A&E immediately 
Express concern, they will check and advise. 
They won't tell you to go private.