Full Version: ‘It can happen to you’: Doctor who almost lost $4 million to fake government
‘It can happen to you’: Doctor who almost lost $4 million to fake government officials scam | The Straits Times
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/c...cials-scam
Title: ‘It can happen to you’: Doctor who almost lost $4 million to fake government officials scam

Source: The Straits Times, June 1, 2025

Author: Not specified

Article Summary:

- Theme: This news article highlights a case of a doctor in Singapore who was nearly scammed out of $4 million by individuals impersonating government officials. It emphasizes the sophistication of these scams and their potential to target anyone, regardless of education or background.

- Core Points: Dr. L, a 36-year-old general practitioner, received a call from someone claiming to be an MAS officer working with the police. The scammers convinced her she was involved in a money-laundering investigation and needed to transfer her funds for safekeeping. They used convincing tactics, including a video call with fake official logos and an arrest warrant sent via WhatsApp. A real police officer, ASP Lynn Tan, intervened, contacting Dr. L just as she was about to complete the transfer. ASP Tan's intervention, verification through official channels, and the bank's quick action prevented the loss of Dr. L's money.

- Phenomenon: The article points to the increasing prevalence of government official impersonation scams. In 2024, victims lost $151.3 million to these scams, a significant increase from $92.5 million in 2023. The case of Dr. L serves as a cautionary tale, illustrating how sophisticated these scams can be and how even highly educated individuals can become victims. The article emphasizes the importance of verifying information through official channels and stresses that legitimate authorities would never request money transfers via such methods.
The scammers just updated their script identity from Alan Tan to ASP Lynn Tan....
The Confidence Game doesn’t explicitly list "tactics to counter cons" in a checklist form, but from the psychological insights and real-world examples, we can extract several practical countermeasures:

---

🔐 Tactics to Counter Confidence Games

1. Pause and Verify

> Don’t act immediately on emotionally triggering situations.
Cons rely on urgency and emotional manipulation (fear, greed, hope).

Tactic: Step back and independently verify claims or offers.

Ask: Is this person rushing me? Why?

---

2. Check the Source, Not the Story

> Con artists spin compelling narratives.
The more perfect the story, the more suspicious you should be.

Tactic: Verify identity, credentials, or legitimacy through independent, official channels.

Red Flag: “Exclusive” or “secret” offers.

---

3. Beware of Flattery or Sudden Rapport

> If someone seems "too friendly" or "gets you" instantly, slow down.

Tactic: Maintain boundaries until trust is earned gradually.

---

4. Don’t Trust Confidence Alone

> Con artists appear charismatic, competent, and credible.
But confidence is not the same as competence.

Tactic: Rely on evidence, not feelings. Ask for paperwork, second opinions, or references.

---

5. Embrace Skepticism Without Shame

> We fall because we think we’re too smart to fall.

Tactic: Regularly remind yourself: “Anyone can be conned, including me.”

Be open to input from others, even if it challenges your beliefs.

---

6. Train Yourself to Spot Red Flags

> Common signs include:

Pressure to keep secrets

Overpromising outcomes (“guaranteed profits”)

Resistance to third-party verification

Requests for upfront payment via hard-to-trace methods (e.g., crypto, gift cards)

---

7. Create Friction Before Big Decisions

> The more you slow down, the less likely you are to fall victim.

Tactic: Build in “cooling-off periods” before financial or emotional commitments.

---

8. Talk to Others

> Con artists isolate their marks.

Tactic: Share what’s happening with trusted friends, family, or advisors.

A second opinion may reveal what emotion clouds.

《信任游戏》没有以清单形式明确列出“反诈骗策略”,但我们可以从书中的心理学见解和真实案例中提取一些实用的反制措施:

---🔐 反制信任骗局的策略

1. 暂停并核实

不要立即对情绪触发性事件采取行动。骗子依赖紧迫感和情绪操纵(恐惧、贪婪、希望)。
策略:退一步,独立核实声明或提议。
提问:这个人是不是在催促我?为什么?

2. 核实来源,而非故事

骗子编造引人入胜的故事。故事越完美,越应该怀疑。
策略:通过独立的官方渠道核实身份、资质或合法性。
危险信号:“独家”或“秘密”的提议。

3. 警惕奉承或突然建立的融洽关系

如果有人显得“过于友好”或瞬间“理解你”,请放慢速度。
策略:在信任逐渐建立之前,保持界限。

4. 不要只相信自信

骗子看起来魅力四射、能干且可信。
但自信不等同于能力。
策略:依靠证据,而非感觉。索要文件、寻求第二意见或参考意见。

5. 坦然接受怀疑

我们之所以上当,是因为我们认为自己太聪明了,不会上当。
策略:经常提醒自己:“任何人都可能被骗,包括我。”
乐于接受他人的意见,即使这会挑战你的信念。

6. 训练自己发现危险信号

常见迹象包括:
施压要求保守秘密
夸大其词地承诺结果(“保证盈利”)
拒绝第三方验证
要求预付难以追踪
[Image: file-00000000a17061f78f1177d7a70d1e06.png]

[Image: file-00000000be3861f7a8983d1b109731a7.png]

的付款方式(例如,加密货币、礼品卡)

7. 在重大决定前制造摩擦

你放慢速度越多,就越不容易成为受害者。
策略:在财务或情感承诺之前,设置“冷静期”。

8. 与他人交谈

骗子会孤立他们的目标。
策略:与值得信赖的朋友、家人或顾问分享正在发生的事情。
第二意见可能会揭示情绪蒙蔽了你的双眼。
(01-06-2025, 08:45 AM)Bigiron Wrote: [ -> ]Title: ‘It can happen to you’: Doctor who almost lost $4 million to fake government officials scam

Source: The Straits Times, June 1, 2025

Author: Not specified

Article Summary:

- Theme: This news article highlights a case of a doctor in Singapore who was nearly scammed out of $4 million by individuals impersonating government officials. It emphasizes the sophistication of these scams and their potential to target anyone, regardless of education or background.

- Core Points: Dr. L, a 36-year-old general practitioner, received a call from someone claiming to be an MAS officer working with the police. The scammers convinced her she was involved in a money-laundering investigation and needed to transfer her funds for safekeeping. They used convincing tactics, including a video call with fake official logos and an arrest warrant sent via WhatsApp. A real police officer, ASP Lynn Tan, intervened, contacting Dr. L just as she was about to complete the transfer. ASP Tan's intervention, verification through official channels, and the bank's quick action prevented the loss of Dr. L's money.

- Phenomenon: The article points to the increasing prevalence of government official impersonation scams. In 2024, victims lost $151.3 million to these scams, a significant increase from $92.5 million in 2023. The case of Dr. L serves as a cautionary tale, illustrating how sophisticated these scams can be and how even highly educated individuals can become victims. The article emphasizes the importance of verifying information through official channels and stresses that legitimate authorities would never request money transfers via such methods.

what a DUMBFARK...............educated DumbFark...............

anyway will never happen to me....................i no have 4 million leh...........
a gp at age 36 after working ard 12 yrs can hv a fortune of cash 4m ?means he can make >30k a mth

cash 4m!1

not counting his instalmwnt on cars n houses
means can earn>40k a mth 
that is ard half a million a yr.
I always insult the conman’s pussy Smile
I will never hesitate to offend anyone online or never see before. It is ok to F...k anyone u never see until verified Big Grin

Be it online or on phone. Just hang up if any doubt. Jericho this type, I will F...k his 18th gen ancestorsLaughing
Call police or MAS hotline to check with them if receiving fishy call.

https://www.mas.gov.sg/contact-us
Think I am safe too.
No money no problem.
(01-06-2025, 01:29 PM)talky Wrote: [ -> ]a gp at age 36 after working ard 12 yrs can hv a fortune of cash 4m ?means he can make >30k a mth

cash 4m!1

not counting his instalmwnt on cars n houses
means can earn>40k a mth 
that is ard half a million a yr.

inherit money leh...............

or maybe the DumbFark will tell you...............she used to have 8 million.................but last year kena conned of 4 million liao............. Rotfl
Why keep 4m cash in bank? Too rich so nowhere to allocate the cash likely...