13-07-2025, 08:06 PM
13-07-2025, 08:31 PM
(13-07-2025, 08:06 PM)Wy:Nox Wrote: [ -> ]Is this motherhood statement really true?
This is why make HDB resale market go Crazy...
13-07-2025, 08:44 PM
When you retire everythung of value you have forms part of your retirement assets.
When you buy HDB at age 35 and retire at age 65 the HDB would have gone up 3-5 times the origjnal price.
You can downgade, do lease buyback or sell off and retire in JB.
The problem is not with HDB being a retirement asset or not. The main problem is HDB prices are too high and people have to struggle to service their mortgage debt...if they lose job or get seriously ill they will be jn big trouble. Also property trapping substantial part of their incomr means their quality of life is poorer as they will have less for other things
When you buy HDB at age 35 and retire at age 65 the HDB would have gone up 3-5 times the origjnal price.
The problem is not with HDB being a retirement asset or not. The main problem is HDB prices are too high and people have to struggle to service their mortgage debt...if they lose job or get seriously ill they will be jn big trouble. Also property trapping substantial part of their incomr means their quality of life is poorer as they will have less for other things
13-07-2025, 08:57 PM
It is not because there is no enbloc possibility. Only private condo has the potential to enbloc due to the presence of MCST which can form a sales team to developers.
13-07-2025, 09:02 PM
(13-07-2025, 08:57 PM)*天哥* Wrote: [ -> ]It is not because there is no enbloc possibility. Only private condo has the potential to enbloc due to the presence of MCST which can form a sales team to developers.
Now HDB will not Enbloc so easy. Next also EPIC is pay more. Remember AMK that 3 blocks has to enbloc due to MRT construction just few years back? The resident not happy instead come En Bloc as They need to pay more for a new flat. End up the authority always have meeting with the resident later than settle.
13-07-2025, 09:02 PM
(13-07-2025, 08:44 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]When you retire everythung of value you have forms part of your retirement assets.
You forget the HDB flats are on 99 year lease. After 30 years of staying there, it may or may not appreciate as much as you’ve mentioned. There’ll be wear and tear on your flat too.
13-07-2025, 09:06 PM
(13-07-2025, 08:44 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]When you retire everythung of value you have forms part of your retirement assets.
Cash converter.
13-07-2025, 09:27 PM
(13-07-2025, 09:02 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: [ -> ]Now HDB will not Enbloc so easy. Next also EPIC is pay more. Remember AMK that 3 blocks has to enbloc due to MRT construction just few years back? The resident not happy instead come En Bloc as They need to pay more for a new flat. End up the authority always have meeting with the resident later than settle.
That kind is not considered the same kind of enbloc. In private enbloc, you set the price and offer it to developers. For HDB, it is considered as government redevelopment plan and it is a form of compensation to the residents. Take or not, is not you decide.
13-07-2025, 09:35 PM
HDB unit is on lease to the tenant for 99 years only. Better don't treat this thing as an asset because it will expires and return to HDB after 99 years.
However, you may treat it as an asset if you wish but must remember it has a run out date (ROD) in 99 years and it no longer belongs to you after that.

13-07-2025, 09:36 PM
Knn ... It's already fused into cpf as mandatory collateral pledge to trigger retirement decades ago ... What a question ...
13-07-2025, 09:38 PM
Further, for a private condo, residents can come together anytime with MCST to sell the project. HDB, you have no such right as the true owner is HDB, not you. You must hope like strike lottery for a redevelopment plan for your estate like an MRT station beside to estate, and some more your estate existence must grossly affect the MRT plan, otherwise they will not buy over it from you. Just look at the way Pars Ris, Ang Mo Kio construction shields all over you know already...die die they also try to save the hassle of buying from you.
14-07-2025, 07:20 AM
(13-07-2025, 08:06 PM)Wy:Nox Wrote: [ -> ]Is this motherhood statement really true?
It is not an asset if you never sell it.
The definition of asset is $$$ goes into your pocket and liability is $$$ goes out of your pocket.
We are only leasing for 99 years, cant even call ourselves we own a hdb unit. Eventually, we still have to return it to HDB. The 99 years hdb lease expiry date will be a big headache for current team, many lkk will be going to sleep in the street. As more and more young ppl are not going to marry and have children due to high cost of living.
14-07-2025, 08:05 AM
(13-07-2025, 08:57 PM)*天哥* Wrote: [ -> ]It is not because there is no enbloc possibility. Only private condo has the potential to enbloc due to the presence of MCST which can form a sales team to developers.
SM Lee Hsien Loong said HDB is a retirement asset .
are you saying SM Lee is totally wrong and entirely misleading ?
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapor...ng-3375271
14-07-2025, 08:17 AM
(13-07-2025, 09:38 PM)*天哥* Wrote: [ -> ]Further, for a private condo, residents can come together anytime with MCST to sell the project. HDB, you have no such right as the true owner is HDB, not you. You must hope like strike lottery for a redevelopment plan for your estate like an MRT station beside to estate, and some more your estate existence must grossly affect the MRT plan, otherwise they will not buy over it from you. Just look at the way Pars Ris, Ang Mo Kio construction shields all over you know already...die die they also try to save the hassle of buying from you.The residents will lose out if HDB buys over those blocks next to the construction sites. Another few more years the construction will end and the mrt entrance/station is just outside their blocks. Residents can save the time and money taking feeder buses to another mrt station.
14-07-2025, 08:41 AM
It's gd to hv some assets whether they are for retirement or not, and the more the better. Private properties ofc gd, hdb aso better than none.
14-07-2025, 08:45 AM
HDB until certain time maybe not as valuable as you seen. Some concert like location ,number years left, how the conditions of wear and tear.
14-07-2025, 10:53 AM
If your HDB is old and near to ZERO value
It becomes a liabillity, not asset.
26-07-2025, 08:10 AM
Admin should also ban profeu's clones vent and Wy:Nox for all these vulgarities postings 

26-07-2025, 08:10 AM
![[Image: D7-F39-E52-6-A33-4705-94-CD-6-C75956-ED093.png]](https://i.ibb.co/s9vfrv1r/D7-F39-E52-6-A33-4705-94-CD-6-C75956-ED093.png)
Yesterday, 10:54 AM
(13-07-2025, 09:02 PM)surfer Wrote: [ -> ]You forget the HDB flats are on 99 year lease. After 30 years of staying there, it may or may not appreciate as much as you’ve mentioned. There’ll be wear and tear on your flat too.
I have seen folks buy, the are very happy, b'cos their flats price still move up, this is important to all HDB / BTO markets...

Yesterday, 11:14 AM
(Yesterday, 10:54 AM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: [ -> ]I have seen folks buy, the are very happy, b'cos their flats price still move up, this is important to all HDB / BTO markets...
There are markets for three rooms, they are re-sale on market range from about (+-) $600,000 to almost plus $800,000, for four rooms and also five rooms flats - they are prices about sound around from (+/-), around less then a million$ to a high of above 1.3 million.
Yesterday, 11:18 AM
Left lease about 88 years...paid 300K now 700K..retire...thank you PAP...vote PAP...
Yesterday, 11:18 AM
(Yesterday, 10:54 AM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: [ -> ]I have seen folks buy, the are very happy, b'cos their flats price still move up, this is important to all HDB / BTO markets...
Hope info here help, is for reading only, thk.

Yesterday, 11:32 AM
(Yesterday, 11:14 AM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: [ -> ]There are markets for three rooms, they are re-sale on market range from about (+-) $600,000 to almost plus $800,000, for four rooms and also five rooms flats - they are prices about sound around from (+/-), around less then a million$ to a high of above 1.3 million.
Even those more then says, like old then 40 years and almost older, one can view on market, some buy and sell around $550,000(+) to $750,000 (+-) for only four rooms flats, those five rooms selling are even selling higher...

Yesterday, 11:38 AM
(13-07-2025, 09:02 PM)surfer Wrote: [ -> ]You forget the HDB flats are on 99 year lease. After 30 years of staying there, it may or may not appreciate as much as you’ve mentioned. There’ll be wear and tear on your flat too.
HDB 99ye lease is long enough to stay until death.
Here we are discussing retirement assets. When you retire at age 62 the HDB has around70-75yes left and worth 600-900k for 4rm today. You have the option to down grade cash out totally or stay rent free until death ...etc.
It is an important asset to have when you retire.
Yesterday, 12:22 PM
金窝银窝不如狗窝 treasure it if it's yr only asset left.
Yesterday, 12:44 PM
HDB should not let agents to speculate and inflat HDBs and stop cheating the future generations.
These flats should remain affordable...
Yesterday, 01:24 PM
Admin should also ban profeu's clones vent and Wy:Nox for all these vulgarities postings 

Yesterday, 01:33 PM
Why people always use the 99 years lease to create unhappiness? Tell me who can outlived their BTO lease?
Yesterday, 06:06 PM
(Yesterday, 11:18 AM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: [ -> ]Hope info here help, is for reading only, thk.
https://sgtalk.net/Thread-A-three-room-f...of-638-000