Full Version: Forum letter : Diploma holder should not be paid less than degree holder for same job
why the fark go uni for
Good suggestion.
Shd base on same job scope to get the pay not qualification.
Future will depend of jobs responsibility is better...
Like that means should close down all universities liao!

Poly can start to prepare to train doctors, dentists, pharmacists, lawyers, etc.  nudie
No lah; degree holders are better than poly man...the type of study is different....more on engineering calculation and design ; drawings safety aspect...site engineer is on construction ; worker deployment and site construction aspects.
When a building collapsed who MOM look for ? Design engineer lah..
I don't think q company benefits if it hiresa uni grad to do a job poly grad can pick up.

Such things happen only in civil service and govt where there is a lot of slack.
(09-01-2022, 10:16 AM)cityhantam Wrote: [ -> ]Like that means should close down all universities liao!

Poly can start to prepare to train doctors, dentists, pharmacists, lawyers, etc.  nudie

(09-01-2022, 10:37 AM)ysh02 Wrote: [ -> ]No lah; degree holders are better than poly man...the type of study is different....more on engineering calculation and design ;  drawings safety aspect...site engineer is on construction ; worker deployment and site construction aspects.
If you were to see the modules a uni. student takes in order to graduate, you will know the difference, there are some modules about knowing what the world thinks, these modules are absent in a poly curriculum....
(09-01-2022, 10:42 AM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]If you were to see the modules a uni. student takes in order to graduate, you will know the difference, there are some modules about knowing what the world thinks, these modules are absent in a poly curriculum ....

Simple. Poly just need to add in these modules in their curriculum to help their students huat mah!  Rotfl

BTW, you really think the difference is just a few such modules?  Thinking
In economics, there is a famous concept that says university education is not just for the skills you learn, but also a signal to the employer of your mental faculties and ability to learn new skills on the job. Besides, some jobs really require degree level knowledge. Would you trust a doctor with no degree to treat you? Or a civil engineer with no degree to design the structure of your home?
(09-01-2022, 10:40 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]I don't think q company benefits if it hiresa uni grad to do a job poly grad can pick up.

Such things happen only in civil service and govt where there is a lot of slack.

Agree with you on that. Only in civil service that a uni graduate is doing the work that a poly can do. Seriously many are substandard.