Full Version: My S$ very strong
Ringgit now 3.12.
Too bad cannot go and shop shop there.
(25-01-2022, 09:25 AM)Migrant Wrote: [ -> ]Ringgit now 3.12.

So what S$ strong. Inflation over here is creeping up. Costs of living soon everyone buay tahan liao. Angry

You can buy Lee Zi Jia over now

But I heard it is not safe to go JB.....cos lots of robbery there.......
(25-01-2022, 09:29 AM)dynamite Wrote: [ -> ]You can buy Lee Zi Jia over now
Good buy 😂
(25-01-2022, 09:31 AM)Migrant Wrote: [ -> ]Good buy 😂

Buy him and that female gold medalist Goh over.
(25-01-2022, 09:40 AM)dynamite Wrote: [ -> ]Buy him and that female gold medalist Goh over.
Good offer, but one at a time😂
(25-01-2022, 09:45 AM)Migrant Wrote: [ -> ]Good offer, but one at a time😂

But not  everybody wants to be a Singapore citizen, they rather be a PR, where they still retain their home citizenship.   Those that retain their citizen status and remain here as PRs have the best of both  worlds. They get all the benefits a citizen get.  They would rather retain their country's of birth, where they are able to buy GCB in their retirement days...................
MAS is guiding SGD up to fend off imported inflation. Maybe no need to transfer reserves to GIC
(25-01-2022, 10:43 AM)RichDad Wrote: [ -> ]MAS is guiding SGD up to fend off imported inflation. Maybe no need to transfer reserves to GIC

Is that good news.......?
(25-01-2022, 10:51 AM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]Is that good news.......?

This is extremely bad news for people with plenty money locked in FDs. Interest rates will be depressed against a strong Singing Dollar...... Rolleyes
(25-01-2022, 10:55 AM)Huliwang Wrote: [ -> ]This is extremely bad news for people with plenty money locked in FDs. Interest rates will be depressed against a strong Singing Dollar...... Rolleyes

OIC...
It's all about demand supply...the demand for a strong stable sing$$$ is much greater than say ringgit in tandem with a deteriorating economy managed by a weak shaky highly corrupted leadership chasing away unicorn investments.

Not very good. We need reserves to support our SGD
(25-01-2022, 11:12 AM)RichDad Wrote: [ -> ]Not very good. We need reserves to support our SGD

oic.....
(25-01-2022, 10:55 AM)Huliwang Wrote: [ -> ]This is extremely bad news for people with plenty money locked in FDs. Interest rates will be depressed against a strong Singing Dollar...... Rolleyes

But it is good news if you are travelling overseas or buying imported stuffs.

Should take inflation a bit here.
Yin yang balance in any major decision is key to success...be it balancing a budget, inflation vs money ss, or any major monetary policy the govg has to make cos the world out there r full of merciless sharks, predators opportunists speculators like sorrows ever ready to attack any weak currency...to protect n to appreciate their bottom line for powerful.vested parties like the pous n other mafia gangs

Sinkies had been waiting for a very long time for it to reach 3.50 but till now it never happened.  In fact, some were hoping that it would be 4.0

A reason for that is that MAS will intervene, and they do that because while we might like the rate to be in our favour even more, so your JB bak kut teh costs you less,  it is not good at a (macro) national level.
(25-01-2022, 11:15 AM)RichDad Wrote: [ -> ]But it is good news if you are travelling overseas or buying imported stuffs.

Should take inflation a bit here.

Buying imported stuff or buying things when you are travelling will still be subjected to taxes on your return? Thinking

Strong sing dollar? Good and bad. Good for importers, bad for exporters. Interest rates will most likely remain low so for those about to put into FD hoping for a higher interest rate, not so good. It will impact tourism too but there are not that many tourists here nowadays anyway. Good for those who wanted to travel abroad.