Full Version: Singapore executed a mentally disabled man despite international outcry,
Singapore executed a mentally disabled man despite international outcry, AP reported. Supporters say the 34-year-old Malaysian, convicted of a drug offense, had an IQ of 69. https://bloom.bg/3LkXwI9
A crime is a crime …. blame the family for not looking after a retard, allowing him to commit a crime that will harm a many families.
Blessing in disguise.........otherwise suffer for a few more decades and/or create more harm.
(27-04-2022, 04:13 PM)SotongOngTee Wrote: [ -> ]Blessing in disguise.........otherwise suffer for a few more decades and/or  create more harm.

Singaporean style of blessing....
Om Mani Padme Hum. May he come to eternal rest from samsara....... Rolleyes
why is it so difficult to catch the masterminds?
(27-04-2022, 04:02 PM)Bigiron Wrote: [ -> ]Singapore executed a mentally disabled man despite international outcry, AP reported. Supporters say the 34-year-old Malaysian, convicted of a drug offense, had an IQ of 69. https://bloom.bg/3LkXwI9

I support hanging that bugger lah!
should just use him as a ginea pig
jab him 4 times and see if his heart stop
It is unfortunate that he has to be punished, but look at the big picture. If he lives, every drug kingpin will be looking to recruit low IQ people to traffic drugs since they are above the law.
at least next time ,  Offender cannot use retarded person for trafficking liao, they thought will not.prosecute just because he is retarded. i pity the guy, but the family is doing what when criminals.is using him for drug trafficking. no one care, now caught then say things. the mastermind also shit, use him. hope their family become retard next lives.
The Government “did not get every call right”.

In this case???
Low IQ?

The prison officers said he can schedule his time table and made his own arrangements. And make friends in prison with staffs and he seem to be highly intelligent to do all this
Listen to both side of stories
If prison officer observations were correct

Next, send a strong message to master mind never take advantage using low IQ person to commit crime or be a bailor
and family of retarded needs to pay more attention on his or her outdoor activities.
Prevention is always better than cure 
RIP
(28-04-2022, 12:56 AM)Oasis Wrote: [ -> ]Listen to both side of stories
If prison officer observations were correct

Next, send a strong message to master mind never take advantage using low IQ person to commit crime or be a bailor
and family of retarded needs to pay more attention on his or her outdoor activities.
Prevention is always better than cure 
RIP

I think there are several variants of positions taken

1. Some people are absolutely against death penalty as it is eliminated in many first world countries like NZ Finland and Sweden. They feel that a more system level solution can avoid brutality. Death penalty is used because we failed in other means...other auccsssful societies have gone to next level to eliminate it.

2. Some people are against death penalty for drug trafficking but okay for capital crime. Why? Drug trafficking is a customs issue. You detect contraan and prevent it from entering. Why is there a need for death penalty. Second is there has to be local demand that drives the trafficking trade. So the problem has other forms of solutions beside death penalty.

3. In this case some people oppose the death penalty on those who are mentally disabled or economically vulnerable. Like some traffickers were in state of poverty and forced by mastermind. They don't know a single thing about Singapore law because they are poor and hardly educated and totally ignorant. Hanging them is no use as the mastermind has an endless pool ...the strategy is killing people but not achieving the goal. They should go after the people behind this. The masterminds.

Despite many failures to overturn our death penalty, many young activists push for it in doing so constantly remind us to rethink if it is necessary. Nothing in.country ever imporves if citizens just accept status quo and old assumptions are not challenged.

But it is not just death penalty but across all matters. If our young are not idealistic and daring the country will become stagnant 

They have jailed Terry Xu who ran the TOC. He is an inspiration reminding us of the price that has to be paid for speaking up against the PAP. They will find all means and ways to go after you with their vast resources.
(27-04-2022, 04:10 PM)Tangsen Wrote: [ -> ]A crime is a crime …. blame the family for not looking after a retard, allowing him to commit a crime that will harm a many families.

If you think this way, you are just like an Angmoh.
Yes is Yes. No is No. Big Grin

You have to make a thorough investigation first.
How come such case happen?
You are not mentally disabled, you won’t know what actually happen, the agony the family has gone through.

看到的也未必是真相。
You let the retard live, soon you will have the kingpins recruit retards as drug traffickers all over.
(28-04-2022, 07:18 AM)p1acebo Wrote: [ -> ]You let the retard live, soon you will have the kingpins recruit retards as drug traffickers all over.
What you say is illogical.

The kingpin will just find the next runner once the guy is caught...hang or don't hang makes no difference 

The correct strategy is to catch the kingpin. Because our law enforcers are not effective in doing this does not mean killing someone is right.
(27-04-2022, 04:10 PM)Tangsen Wrote: [ -> ]A crime is a crime …. blame the family for not looking after a retard, allowing him to commit a crime that will harm a many families.

Agree and support you lah! All criminals must be punished lah! Siao Lang also must die lah!
(28-04-2022, 07:47 AM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]Agree and support you lah! All criminals must be punished lah! Siao Lang also must die lah!

Why don't we also prevent robbery by hanging robbers.

Why don't we prevent stealing by hanging thieves.
(28-04-2022, 07:50 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Why don't we also prevent robbery by hanging robbers.

Why don't we prevent stealing by hanging thieves.

Just chop off their hands lah! No meh?
(28-04-2022, 07:44 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]What you say is illogical.

The kingpin will just find the next runner once the guy is caught...hang or don't hang makes no difference 

The correct strategy is to catch the kingpin. Because our law enforcers are not effective in doing this does not mean killing someone is right.

It is easier to recruit retards if they can get away without the death penalty.  Nobody wants to toy with drugs if it means they can get executed.  It is an effective deterrent.  Retards are retards… they are unlikely to comprehend the gravity of the issue.  That is the difference.
If a law is broken, punishment is to be dish out, regardless of who he or she is.

If we allowed exception, next time we will have people come out and say because I served the navy, or becoz I am a civil servant who served the people, so no death sentence..
Understand the effect of Opium in China
Who introduced Opium to China?
The motive was to destroy China defence and economy.
Just look at corrupted countries, they have natural resources.....
Little red dot has own area of concern
(28-04-2022, 07:12 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]If you think this way, you are just like an Angmoh.
Yes is Yes. No is No. Big Grin

You have to make a thorough investigation first.
How come such case happen?
You are not mentally disabled, you won’t know what actually happen, the agony the family has gone through.

看到的也未必是真相。

Waaaa … you so cleber ….. why dun you go help reveal the "truth"?
Why make so much noise here in an anonymous forum?
Thought these with mental problems will be exempted from death sentence, why must execute someone fled from IMH?