Full Version: F&B outlets have ‘fully exhausted’ their reserves, more closures expected
https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/fb...-landlords

F&B outlets and retailers said more of them will close without assistance such as rental relief from landlords

They are already in "deep red", a representative from a tenants association said

They added that there has been little support from landlords during the heightened alert period since May

With their reserves “fully exhausted” and earnings in “deep red”, retailers and food-and-beverage (F&B) establishments said that more of them could be forced to close if further assistance is not provided.

Mr Terence Yow, chairman of the Singapore Tenants United for Fairness (SGTuff), estimated that about 10 to 20 per cent of customer-facing businesses have shut, with numbers probably higher in the Central Business District and central shopping districts, since the country went into a heightened alert from May 8 due to a surge in coronavirus infections.

And he expects a similar proportion to pull their shutters in the next few months without sufficient help from their landlords.

“We honestly think that this could be the last chance or ability for us to hold out, as long as we can get out of this and as long as we can get some significant help from landlords or (in managing) manpower costs,” he said.

Mr Andrew Kwan, president of the Restaurant Association of Singapore (RAS), said: “If the (companies in the) industry were left to their own devices, I think many would shut down. And that would not be good overall because not only does the company go down, it carries along with it all the employees as well.”
Govt Virus Package coming up this week.
How about Orange and Teal, owner CSJ?
They should know that this pandemic will drag on for a very long time.
Time to reflect whether want to continue or fold up.
Can ask those pai kia ktv owners who pretend to pivot to F&B to compensate them? Big Grin
i already start seeing some stalls closing. sad man
(22-07-2021, 09:40 AM)forum456 Wrote: [ -> ]https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/fb...-landlords

F&B outlets and retailers said more of them will close without assistance such as rental relief from landlords

They are already in "deep red", a representative from a tenants association said

They added that there has been little support from landlords during the heightened alert period since May

With their reserves “fully exhausted” and earnings in “deep red”, retailers and food-and-beverage (F&B) establishments said that more of them could be forced to close if further assistance is not provided.

Mr Terence Yow, chairman of the Singapore Tenants United for Fairness (SGTuff), estimated that about 10 to 20 per cent of customer-facing businesses have shut, with numbers probably higher in the Central Business District and central shopping districts, since the country went into a heightened alert from May 8 due to a surge in coronavirus infections.

And he expects a similar proportion to pull their shutters in the next few months without sufficient help from their landlords.

“We honestly think that this could be the last chance or ability for us to hold out, as long as we can get out of this and as long as we can get some significant help from landlords or (in managing) manpower costs,” he said.

Mr Andrew Kwan, president of the Restaurant Association of Singapore (RAS), said: “If the (companies in the) industry were left to their own devices, I think many would shut down. And that would not be good overall because not only does the company go down, it carries along with it all the employees as well.”

It is a pity that many F&B outlets needs to close shop, then what happens to the staff of the business. Sad
Oppo will prosper in 2025................goooooooooooooooooooooooooood
You know how many f&b bosses with multiple properties and GCB? Lol

Exhausted all their resources? Lol
(22-07-2021, 11:07 PM)Sticw Wrote: [ -> ]You know how many f&b bosses with multiple properties and GCB? Lol

Exhausted all their resources? Lol
Angry Angry Angry
Drive around some quieter HDB estate, you will realise many shops already not opening. SadSad
Ghost town coming?
(23-07-2021, 06:25 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]Ghost town coming?

Don't worry about all such small businesses and SMEs.

Later when times are better there is no shortage of people with money to start such businesses when there is money to be made.
(23-07-2021, 06:29 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]
(23-07-2021, 06:25 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]Ghost town coming?

Don't worry about all such small businesses and SMEs.

Later when times are better there is no shortage of people with money to start such businesses when there is money to be made.

You see bolehland.... You think not possible?
The diease can spread?
Now you see this garment so quiet on another budget.
The budget shd help the ppl not the rich.
(23-07-2021, 06:19 AM)wulala Wrote: [ -> ]Drive around some quieter HDB estate, you will realise many shops already not opening. SadSad
AMK got one block all shops rented out struggling only 2 TCM and joss paper shops run by owners
Let these useless F&B crash lah .... my regular makan kopi tiam stalls some need to queue for 15mins or more just to tar pow
These F&B average to below standard food charging stupid prices deserve to close shop