Full Version: Temasek Holdings net portfolio value crosses S$400 billion for the first time

It's much smaller than CPF Board AuM
WOW!!

PAP are really suckers to use CPF monies

to Self- Praise themselves

yet no news about their profits or loss

for anything conclusive

kena sai!
Greed knows no boundaries.
How much is due to additional $$ flowing into it fr MAS?
(12-07-2022, 04:13 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]How much is due to additional $$ flowing into it fr MAS?

The source of Temasek's funds: https://www.temasek.com.sg/en/about-us/ins-outs-temasek
Temasek is a big shark, will it ever fall prey to some killer whales?
(12-07-2022, 04:31 PM)pinkpanther Wrote: [ -> ]Temasek is a big shark, will it ever fall prey to some killer whales?

Temasek used to be the smallest brother among GIC, MAS and Temasek just a few months ago. Now it is the second brother below GIC. Can be cosnidered big shark compared to most sovereign funds?
Can make $$$ wont need extra GST liao.
But then u need to fool those dumbfarks.
(12-07-2022, 04:13 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]How much is due to additional $$ flowing into it fr MAS?

Within short periods of 3 years, MAS transferred total S$120 billions excess currency reserves to GIC.

On records, No other country's central bank able to make that sort of money to transfer to SWF.
paper wealth only. have not leave market how to say win or loose?
important is market continue to produce milk for tm to give to government to spend.
if you like you can also buy the share you own and push it high high but then how to sell at high point to make the paper money into real one? just look at tencent biggest shareholder difficulties. or nearer wilmar ownership of her subsidiaries.
(12-07-2022, 03:42 PM)Levin Wrote: [ -> ]https://www.channelnewsasia.com/business...ew-2803921

during bull run also lose God knows how many billions................now bear market don't know lose how much more...............

still dare to bullcrap portfolio go up.............

MAS transfer to GIC lah.
just look at falling knife of byd. sure many fund is hurt. also like recently baba and tencent.
if revalue book now. don't think got so much.
(12-07-2022, 05:39 PM)RichDad Wrote: [ -> ]MAS transfer to GIC lah.

Sit down doing nothing, MAS can produce S$120 billions in 3 years ie. Approx 33% of Temasek AuM

So easy, no sweat

Portfolio value is different from profitability and ROI

Useless
At the end of the day money from left hand move to right hand but money belong to the public
A lot of the portfolio value is in unquoted securities, e.g Ant and maybe Nijavan type of startups. You can peg at whatever value the latest funding round values a company at. Tech stocks tanked, so the portfolio value is inflated.
Now, telling us

"Temasek Turns Cautious on Outlook, Sees More Market Declines (Why now, and not 6 months ago,?)"

Temasek is nothing when compare to Norwegian SWF.

It's chickenfeed
Bluff people one, think I'm dumb is it
Then why GST keep going up?
(12-07-2022, 09:54 PM)Harry Lee Wrote: [ -> ]Then why GST keep going up?

Keep collecting GST just to increase their portfolio value
Financial report can be painted very rosy.
This is the very first lesson you must learn in stock trading. Rotfl

Just like current US inflation reported is 8.6%, if you compare to 80s 15% inflation, do you know how much percentage of inflation is massaged. The answer can be found somewhere if you do your due diligence.

If their performance is so good, why need to keep squeezing the dafts?
I don't want this. I want no GST hike. Is this possible ?
Should be lesser growth going forward
as many QE has stop first Qtr this year.
(13-07-2022, 06:10 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]Financial report can be painted very rosy.
This is the very first lesson you must learn in stock trading. Rotfl

Just like current US inflation reported is 8.6%, if you compare to 80s 15% inflation, do you know how much percentage of inflation is massaged. The answer can be found somewhere if you do your due diligence.

If their performance is so good, why need to keep squeezing the dafts?

Even assuming this is accurate, this type of performance cannot be guaranteed.

GST is a more stable source of revenue. Pow chiak.

That's why need to squeeze us like kam jia.
How much is from investment gains and how much is from our CPF injecting into the portfolio?  

(13-07-2022, 08:43 AM)webinarian Wrote: [ -> ]How much is from investment gains and how much is from our CPF injecting into the portfolio?  

Not sure about the investment gains part but zero from CPF injection as that is not a source of funds for Temasek. Indirectly, GIC is the one managing the CPF monies.

No CPF monies go towards government spending. Government borrowings from SGS and SSGS cannot be used to fund expenditures. Under the Government Securities Act (enacted in 1992), the monies raised from SGS and SSGS cannot be spent.

The proceeds from SSGS issuance are pooled with the rest of the Government's funds, such as proceeds from issuing Singapore Government Securities (SGS) in the markets, government surpluses, as well as the receipts from land sales which under our Constitutional rules are accounted for as Past Reserves. The comingled funds are first deposited with MAS as government deposits. MAS converts these funds into foreign assets through the foreign exchange market. A major portion of these assets are of a long-term nature, such as those that provide backing for long-term Government liabilities like SSGS as well as unencumbered assets such as government surpluses and land sales receipts. These assets are ultimately transferred to GIC to be managed over a long investment horizon.

https://www.mof.gov.sg/policies/reserves...20accounts.