(27-12-2022, 12:58 PM)Manthink Wrote: [ -> ]That is nothing new. The painful reality is that country blessed with abundant natural resources is often compared w tiny SG. 
Malaysia and Singapore are being compared because we split off from the Federation. It does not make sense to compare, say, Peru with Singapore or Mexico with Singapore, when there is no common history between those countries and us.
In the case of Malaysia and Singapore, it was like two runners at the line on 9 August 1965, getting ready, on the mark, get set, GO! And Malaysia lost the race. MSA split to become MAS and SIA. Look at our MRT, and look at their LRT in KL.
There was a time...during LKY's time...when Taiwan, South Korea, Hong Kong and Singapore were called the 4 Asian Tigers.
Malaysia was not even mentioned. Today, nobody uses that term "Asian tigers" but some Malaysian politicians are damned shameless to say "We must make Malaysia great again, the Asian tiger that it once was". Since when was Malaysia ever a tiger? It was not even a cub.
(27-12-2022, 11:39 PM)Oyk Wrote: [ -> ]Malaysia and Singapore are being compared because we split off from the Federation. It does not make sense to compare, say, Peru with Singapore or Mexico with Singapore, when there is no common history between those countries and us.In the case of Malaysia and Singapore, it was like two runners at the line on 9 August 1965, getting ready, on the mark, get set, GO! And Malaysia lost the race. MSA split to become MAS and SIA. Look at our MRT, and look at their LRT in KL. There was a time...during LKY's time...when Taiwan, South Korea, Hong Kong and Singapore were called the 4 Asian Tigers.Malaysia was not even mentioned. Today, nobody uses that term "Asian tigers" but some Malaysian politicians are damned shameless to say "We must make Malaysia great again, the Asian tiger that it once was". Since when was Malaysia ever a tiger? It was not even a cub.
That's the curse many Bolehland politicians and commentators often point to - the historical link that SG and MY used to be together, which ended in acrimony in 1965.
And like it or not, that link continues today from people, food, travel, commerce and water. I won't call this a "race" between both countries since each are now at totally different level in not just the macro economy and development but also in political, social dynamics and population values.
And this curse become more ironic since it is SG's inherent limitations that forces us to change before crisis appear...aka KIASU, while MY only commit to "change" when things has gone down the sh!t drain.
(23-12-2022, 12:58 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]Now cannot compete doesnt mean 30 years later cannot overtake Sg.
What they need is a team of capable leaders lah who unite and work for the ppl
IMHO, I doubt they can get out of current problems so soon...
Why ? Well, I am aware many SGtalk posters who are born M'sians....and till now, none of them are brave enuf to put their hands up say "I am a Malaysian". So much for unity and capable ppl...

(24-12-2022, 11:17 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]Quite true, they need to resolve their differences, else they will be left behind as the world moves forward........ 
You kidding us right ? Anwar's gov act 1 is clearly not to change anything, including NEP policy leh.
Got "difference" to resolve meh ?
KUALA LUMPUR: Deputy Prime Minister Ahmad Zahid Hamidi said the interests of Malays were never compromised in the cooperation agreement among political parties forming the unity government. “When the agreement was signed by the various (political) parties, the matter was never compromised and was even deemed as the first foundation of the agreement not only for now, but for the long term,
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/asia/mal...ad-3170806
(24-12-2022, 10:22 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]If that country don't have corruption, then Singapore don't have a place to stand liao.......... 
As long as discriminatory and pro Malay laws exist, SG will continue to do well. No worry.
In fact, indirectly, SG is a byproduct of racism in Malaysia.
(28-03-2023, 01:45 AM)Alice Alicia Wrote: [ -> ]As long as discriminatory and pro Malay laws exist, SG will continue to do well. No worry.
In fact, indirectly, SG is a byproduct of racism in Malaysia.
That is an understatement - An independent SG exist precisely thanks to racist policy in Malaysia.
Malaysia economically is stuck in middle income trap and cannot make it to first world.
But look at Taiwan, Japan and S Korea. And Singapore, While we have made it we have also paid the price of living in an ultra competitive society where getting housing or car is not easy.... having children is also not easy all the countries that made it to 1st world in Asia all have lowest birth rates in the world,
It is easy to say you want something ....until you look at the price to pay.
You may have destroyed yourself getting it and you won’t know until it’s too late.
Hot housing your society to win a race...you have to remember this race has no finishing line....the number of COE and landed property does not increase in number when you make your people work twice as hard to compete against foreigners
The rise of SEA was also due to the fact that China was a closed up economy then. We actually have to thank the Communist for their myopic vision then. Else you think anyone would have help develop the economy in Singapore??
Agreed that the rise of Singapore was also because of how racist the Malaysia govt was, equally myopic.
LKY did not want to be part of Malaya unless he gets to control a bigger area such as Johor or more. But LKY cannot say no and just go independent cos likely will get runover by the malays then. Hence the marriage and divorce and the drama to spur Singaporeans forward.
(28-03-2023, 07:36 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Malaysia economically is stuck in middle income trap and cannot make it to first world.
But look at Taiwan, Japan and S Korea. And Singapore, While we have made it we have also paid the price of living in an ultra competitive society where getting housing or car is not easy.... having children is also not easy all the countries that made it to 1st world in Asia all have lowest birth rates in the world,
It is easy to say you want something ....until you look at the price to pay.
You may have destroyed yourself getting it and you won’t know until it’s too late.
Hot housing your society to win a race...you have to remember this race has no finishing line....the number of COE and landed property does not increase in number when you make your people work twice as hard to compete against foreigners
You have a choice to live in Bolehland since got so much complain about SG.
And you are welcome to quit and migrate to M'sia. No one is stopping you.

(28-03-2023, 08:17 AM)Sticw Wrote: [ -> ]The rise of SEA was also due to the fact that China was a closed up economy then. We actually have to thank the Communist for their myopic vision then. Else you think anyone would have help develop the economy in Singapore?? Agreed that the rise of Singapore was also because of how racist the Malaysia govt was, equally myopic.
LKY did not want to be part of Malaya unless he gets to control a bigger area such as Johor or more. But LKY cannot say no and just go independent cos likely will get runover by the malays then. Hence the marriage and divorce and the drama to spur Singaporeans forward.
I think you got the history mixed up.
That economic growth & liberalisation was not even the in-thing in SEA eve in 1970s Thai, Indonesia, Vietnam and certainly M'sia aren't even industrilised.
Not until the 1980 with the success lead by the "4 Tigers economies" how shown the potential of globlisation under US-led order.
The Chinese saw that too - Else why did Deng wanna visit anti-communist SG and learn from us and changed course in 1978 ?
Aiyah, the people in power compete with other on how much they can put into their own pockets.
If not enough, they put more into their children’s pockets too.
Great, I hope Muddysia remains forever Boleh so I can have 1=3.35 .....
writer talked like that sure kenna later by u know who.
over there if u r not bolehM they'll tell u you'll never understand them period
(28-03-2023, 05:18 PM)menghuii Wrote: [ -> ]writer talked like that sure kenna later by u know who.
over there if u r not bolehM they'll tell u you'll never understand them period
That is the really sad part of M'sia....Their citizens cannot even understand their own kind and many lost hope...
The Author himself admits he has no love for SG because he observed M'sians who came to SG work with "more purpose and passion" compared to those back home...which I observed tend to be otherwise....
He just don't realised JHK love cumming to SG because they only have "Passion And Purpose" (PAP) for SGD.
![[Image: maxresdefault.jpg]](https://i.ytimg.com/vi/nKD1Iw_MboM/maxresdefault.jpg)