Full Version: Some 950,000 households to get rebates to offset utility and conservancy bills
Some 950,000 households to get rebates to offset utility and conservancy bills from January 2023

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/s...an-2023ary 2023
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/s...m-jan-2023
Why discriminate and not to the whole of Singapore households?
Another Giordano Sale?

Raise the price of pants from $59 to $69 and then say 10% discount, arh?
(30-12-2022, 05:50 PM)surfer Wrote: [ -> ]Why discriminate and not to the whole of Singapore households?

Part and parcel of their policy. I until now NS55 $100 credit also never give me. You say leh?
(30-12-2022, 06:07 PM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]Part and parcel of their policy. I until now NS55 $100 credit also never give me. You say leh?

😱😱😱🥺
A well run country and govt will never resort to rebates and candies. Instead, the people will be so well off that they will do a lot in return for the society and charity.

Singapore looks so fantastic on the surface and numbers but in reality we are all bloated and terribly hollow. Easily crumbled...
(30-12-2022, 06:54 PM)Sticw Wrote: [ -> ]A well run country and govt will never resort to rebates and candies. Instead, the people will be so well off that they will do a lot in return for the society and charity.

Singapore looks so fantastic on the surface and numbers but in reality we are all bloated and terribly hollow. Easily crumbled...

Good an example you see Denmark and Norway , always top on healthcare and happiness index it the world ranking.

I never see much Denmark or Norway so call give " rebate here and there to their people yet their people happy index is there on top their health care system "

In before PAP will tell u because we depend from others so need to pay cos we are small country which don't have much resources of our own , Tropical reply from them.
The usave vouchers should be more flexible to be used for other purposes instead of just utilities. I cannot finish the credits unless I deliberately waste water and electricity.
(30-12-2022, 05:50 PM)surfer Wrote: [ -> ]Why discriminate and not to the whole of Singapore households?

People who own private properties not allowed lah! Big Grin They are so filthy rich already leh!
(30-12-2022, 07:18 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]People who own private properties not allowed lah! Big Grin They are so filthy rich already leh!

How about those living in Condos..............? Laughing
(30-12-2022, 06:07 PM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]Part and parcel of their policy. I until now NS55 $100 credit also never give me. You say leh?

Govt one eye big one eye small? Thinking
(30-12-2022, 07:47 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]How about those living in Condos..............? Laughing

I'm sure wont get. Thinking
Staying in private properties already so rich, why need rebates?
Rebate mean temporary discount, later charge full new price. Give you some time to find more money to pay permanently?
Exactly. Everybody is affected. Many elderlies who stay in private property are cash strapped with no income. Those who don't need it can donate out
(30-12-2022, 08:17 PM)dynamite Wrote: [ -> ]Rebate mean temporary discount, later charge full new price. Give you some time to find more money to pay permanently?

Quite true, it is only a temporary discount, after that the full charge will apply and then it will be permanent............ Laughing Gesti-109

This is not discriminate. Those who live in bigger houses are more well off and require less subsidy. Quite fair.
(30-12-2022, 06:05 PM)Ola Wrote: [ -> ]Another Giordano Sale?

Raise the price of pants from $59 to $69 and then say 10% discount, arh?

I think they raised the bills just a couple of mouths before right?
(30-12-2022, 08:56 PM)Harry Lee Wrote: [ -> ]Exactly. Everybody is affected. Many elderlies who stay in private property are cash strapped with no income. Those who don't need it can donate out

Those elderlies just downgrade and sell off their private properties and they'll be flushed with cash.  Laughing
those who are asset heavy, cash tight can consider readjusting their wealth balance.
high property price is an unusual thing. when other country open up from covid the flow may reverse. lower rental and demand for house will reduced. hopefully like that la.
else it is going to be a problem as young people see house becoming beyond reach.
hdb tell can apply bto sure get but it take a very long time to deliver. no hdb how to marry so no children. when popuplation drop hdb has some reponsibilities.
(30-12-2022, 09:56 PM)winbig Wrote: [ -> ]Those elderlies just downgrade and sell off their private properties and they'll be flushed with cash.  Laughing

There is a group of elderly who inherit from parents the private ppty so they may not have a lot of cash on hand. And then due to sentimental reasons refuse to sell the ppty to get cash. They are caught by those freebies not given to them based on ppty type. This has been brought up before in news of this group of poor in private ppty. My own thinking just sell and get cash lah f what sentimental reasons.
(30-12-2022, 06:54 PM)Sticw Wrote: [ -> ]A well run country and govt will never resort to rebates and candies. Instead, the people will be so well off that they will do a lot in return for the society and charity.

I am impressed with your narrative and give you a like and a rep. pt..... Clapping Gesti-109
(30-12-2022, 09:54 PM)winbig Wrote: [ -> ]This is not discriminate. Those who live in bigger houses are more well off and require less subsidy. Quite fair.

Well said, it is only logical what the gov does........ Clapping
(30-12-2022, 07:00 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: [ -> ]Good an example you see Denmark and Norway , always top on healthcare and happiness index it the world ranking.

I never see much Denmark or Norway so call give " rebate here and there to their people yet their people happy index is there on top their health care system "

In before PAP will tell u because we depend from others so need to pay cos we are small country which don't have much resources of our own , Tropical reply from them.

I do not really trust happy index, Den and Nor gives lot of social benefits.
in some way similar to Sg rebates

Sg real issue is high medical and living cost.
(30-12-2022, 09:54 PM)winbig Wrote: [ -> ]This is not discriminate. Those who live in bigger houses are more well off and require less subsidy. Quite fair.

Not true. I know of elderly people who live in landed properties . They worked very hard to buy their homes in their younger days and now retired without any source of income. Quite a lot of them are running out of their hard earned savings.
(30-12-2022, 09:06 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]Quite true, it is only a temporary discount, after that the full charge will apply and then it will be permanent............ Laughing Gesti-109

After rebate, permanently F forever
(31-12-2022, 08:53 AM)surfer Wrote: [ -> ]Not true. I know of elderly people who live in landed properties . They worked very hard to buy their homes in their younger days and now retired without any source of income. Quite a lot of them are running out of their hard earned savings.

Those that lived in landed properties can sell their houses, which can valued at millions of dollars, then downgrade to HDB flats in their golden years.  Therefore will the flush in cash they can easily afford to live comfortably......... Clapping Laughter-68
(31-12-2022, 09:08 AM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]Those that lived in landed properties can sell their houses, which can valued at millions of dollars, then downgrade to HDB flats in their golden years.  Therefore will the flush in cash they can easily afford to live comfortably......... Clapping Laughter-68

They are already accustomed to staying in their old house for decades. Can you imagine old people in their seventies and eighties having to sell and shift homes? I don't think they have the energy to move all their furniture and belongings.
(31-12-2022, 09:12 AM)surfer Wrote: [ -> ]They are already accustomed to staying in their old house for decades. Can you imagine old people in their seventies and eighties having to sell and shift homes? I don't think they have the energy to move all their furniture and belongings.

Can engage professional movers to move the furniture and belongings, after all it is a one time effort.......... Clapping
(31-12-2022, 09:17 AM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]Can engage professional movers to move the furniture and belongings, after all it is a one time effort.......... Clapping

Professional movers will help pack and shift the furniture and belongings to the new place BUT it is ultimately the old folks who will have to unpack and place the furniture where they want them to be.