Just a warning for an industry wide trick that result in thousands of people losing thousands every year. Yesterday one of our forummer kena scammed.
You go home one say try to turn on your aircon unit. It beeps but does not blow or no beep. You take the remote to another room...press and the air con there is working. This means your FCU (fan coil unit) is faulty.
You look up a few repair man to describe the problem. They all tell you You need to replace entire system. Some will say no way to repair and so on. You pony up the money......but you have just fallen for a common scam.
The FCU is very cheap and replaceable. You just need to carousel to look for people selling FCU. Say your aircon is Daikin....just search "Daikin FCU". ....you will see many. Just look for your model or compatible model.
The seller often will know people who provide workman ship to replace the unit. Total cost is $300-$350.
Plse don't ever fall for this scam. It pains me to see entire aircon system taken out and discarded imagine to waste and damage to environment.
The guy who scam you to replace entire system will sell your working parts on the market....including your old FCU.
![[Image: ZIrPe9v.jpg]](https://i.imgur.com/ZIrPe9v.jpg)
aiya, when a fcu spoiled, the entire system is already quite old. it's a matter of time you'll hv to replace other parts. so for some ppl might as well just spend a few thousands to get everything done together
another consideration is old models are very not energy-efficient, so you'll end up paying higher utility bills
Some thinking they super smart machiam some forumers here Tyre poncek kena con to replace the whole Tyre they still gong gong think worth the $$$$
(29-09-2021, 05:48 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote: [ -> ]aiya, when a fcu spoiled, the entire system is already quite old. it's a matter of time you'll hv to replace other parts. so for some ppl might as well just spend a few thousands to get everything done together
Depend la as For aircon 5 years quite new tio boh ?!!!
Thanks for discussion yesterday I called for Aircon servicing.
My system is 12 years old. Guys did do basic servicing but interior of FCU is totally clogged up he says. By right need to do chemical wash, but due to system age, this company always tells me that if they dismantle to do chemical wash (need power down condenser) the condenser may not start up again due to age.
Hence they would only recommend basic servicing or change the whole system… No chemical wash
Aircon guy BS or some truth indeed ??
Correct. When change FCU some can get re-conditioned type. From Korea one more expensive.
(29-09-2021, 05:53 PM)cwc29 Wrote: [ -> ]Depend la as For aircon 5 years quite new tio boh ?!!!
My aircon i diagnostics i bot the parts I repair myself… only if the compressor or inverter faulty then consider to replace whole unit
(29-09-2021, 05:53 PM)cwc29 Wrote: [ -> ]Depend la as For aircon 5 years quite new tio boh ?!!!
if 5 yrs ofc tio lah. but if 15 to 20 yrs, get new one better.
(29-09-2021, 05:55 PM)See lylcnn Wrote: [ -> ]Thanks for discussion yesterday I called for Aircon servicing.
My system is 12 years old. Guys did do basic servicing but interior of FCU is totally clogged up he says. By right need to do chemical wash, but due to system age, this company always tells me that if they dismantle to do chemical wash (need power down condenser) the condenser may not start up again due to age.
Hence they would only recommend basic servicing or change the whole system… No chemical wash
If for domestic usage why so gong go chemical wash as long as the FCU not corroded normal
Cleaning can liao
(29-09-2021, 05:55 PM)lylcnn Wrote: [ -> ]Thanks for discussion yesterday I called for Aircon servicing.
Old aircon better dont dismantle anything.
Small problem later become big problem.
No need chemical wash.
Buy this in DIY shop can liao.
Open the fan coil cover.
Use the paint brush to simply clean up the fan coil first layer of thick dirt first.
Then spray the foam into the fan coil
Wait for 20 to 30mins to let the dirt comes out by itself.
If you know how to service aircon,
Pour some water into the fan coil mess and clear the jelly if any in the drainage.. Make sure switch off air con power before doing the servicing and make sure the water did not in contact with electrical wire at the side compartment.
![[Image: Screenshot-20210121-071913-Google.jpg]](https://i.ibb.co/t4mny7m/Screenshot-20210121-071913-Google.jpg)
(29-09-2021, 05:57 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote: [ -> ]if 5 yrs ofc tio lah. but if 15 to 20 yrs, get new one better.
Yup agree Standards 13 years lifespans for branded aircon so if more 13 years better dump not worth to Repair Liao
I think here there is an aircon man but he always post nonsense.
(29-09-2021, 05:57 PM)cwc29 Wrote: [ -> ]My aircon i diagnostics i bot the parts I repair myself… only if the compressor or inverter faulty then consider to replace whole unit
I not kiam hor … I don’t trust all this aircon man 80% lousy and try to con you trust me… as a aircon man if you dont con you difficult to survive.., you know why ?!!
(29-09-2021, 05:48 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote: [ -> ]aiya, when a fcu spoiled, the entire system is already quite old. it's a matter of time you'll hv to replace other parts. so for some ppl might as well just spend a few thousands to get everything done together
another consideration is old models are very not energy-efficient, so you'll end up paying higher utility bills
Forummer air con was 5yrs old and FCU spoil...aircon man ask him to replace entire system.
If aircon is above 20yrs old can consider change entire system...as more parts at break down.
But 10yr mark can still consider repair ...if not heavily used to 20yr mark you can still do a repair as it has some distance to go....it all depends on usage....just like mileage on car.
The cost savings from non inverter to inverter is 20-30% again depending on how often you use may not be worth changing whole system to get power savings. Low usage you may need many yrs to get savings back.
Idea of repair is also to lower waste and save environment
(29-09-2021, 06:04 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]Old aircon better dont dismantle anything.
Small problem later become big problem.
No need chemical wash.
Buy this in DIY shop can liao.
Open the fan coil cover.
Use the paint brush to simply clean up the fan coil first layer of thick dirt first.
Then spray the foam into the fan coil
Wait for 20 to 30mins to let the dirt comes out by itself.
If you know how to service aircon,
Pour some water into the fan coil mess and clear the jelly if any in the drainage.. Make sure switch off air con power and make sure water did not in contact with electrical wire at the side compartment.
![[Image: Screenshot-20210121-071913-Google.jpg]](https://i.ibb.co/t4mny7m/Screenshot-20210121-071913-Google.jpg)
If you used you sibey gong I told you never ever use above chemical wash to spray your FCU … aircon man will be super happy if you used above products. After sometime this products will choke your FCU evaporator coil at the end you need aircon man to chemical wash your coil LPPL .. trust me all above = con products to con newbie
(29-09-2021, 05:55 PM)lylcnn Wrote: [ -> ]Thanks for discussion yesterday I called for Aircon servicing.
WhatsApp my friend. He will advice.
Know him many years honest feller. His skill is very good.
His number: 93897535
Actually, it still depend on your luck.
Newer aircon will use more electronic components.
Electronic part is easy to spoilt and not durable.
Also got to make sure cockroach dont go party in your fan coil. It will trip or spoilt the air con fan coil unit when your fan coil unit has bigger PCB board.
Newer aircon using cheapo plastic, easy to damage if you dont know how to open it.
(29-09-2021, 06:29 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]WhatsApp my friend. He will advice.
Know him many years honest feller. His skill is very good.
His number: 93897535
Thanks for sharing
(29-09-2021, 06:32 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]Actually, it still depend on your luck.
Newer aircon will use more electronic components.
Electronic part is easy to spoilt and not durable.
Also got to make sure cockroach dont go party in your fan coil. It will trip or spoilt the air con fan coil unit when your fan coil unit has bigger PCB board.
During first Yr when they are still under warrabtybuse the aircon often to burn in the electronics. ..any weak parts activate warranty to fix. ...once you burn in, they last very long.
Used water and brush to wash your evaporator coil and the blower will do make sure dry up the evaporator coil after the wash some used vacuum cleaner and I prefer using blower to dry up the coil after washing… min 4 month’s service 1 time if less using 6-7 months ok de
(29-09-2021, 06:25 PM)cwc29 Wrote: [ -> ]If you used you sibey gong I told you never ever use above chemical wash to spray your FCU … aircon man will be super happy if you used above products. After sometime this products will choke your FCU evaporator coil at the end you need aircon man to chemical wash your coil LPPL .. trust me all above = con products to con newbie
No lah... I already said got to use water liao...
I already used it for donkey years.
You wash the floor with floor cleaning solution.
You still need to use water to do a final cleaning right.
I have never repaired my aircon before.
No need to do any gas top up if you did not see any liquid dripping out from your fan coil unit.
(29-09-2021, 06:35 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]I already used it for donkey years.
I have never repaired my aircon
I talking about The cooling effects and the efficiency never said this products will spoil your aircon.
(29-09-2021, 06:40 PM)cwc29 Wrote: [ -> ]I talking about The cooling effects and the efficiency never said this products will spoil your aircon.
Efficiency is all bullshxt.
(29-09-2021, 06:35 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]No lah... I already said got to use water liao...
No need to do any gas top up if you did not see any liquid dripping out from your fan coil unit.
Gas top up = one of the common scams to con your $$$ if your aircon man ask you to top up gas after the servicing .. confirmed they try to con you
(29-09-2021, 06:45 PM)cwc29 Wrote: [ -> ]Gas top up = one of the common scams to con your $$$ if your aircon man ask you to top up gas after the servicing .. confirmed they try to con you
You are absolutely right to say that.
(29-09-2021, 06:44 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]Efficiency is all bullshxt.
Cos you gong using above products soooo efficiently = bullshxt for you but not for me

(29-09-2021, 06:48 PM)cwc29 Wrote: [ -> ]Cos you gong using above products soooo efficiently = bullshxt for you but not for me 
I think you dont know how to use those product properly.
I know how to service aircon lah.
No problem for me.
I have also dismantled my house fan coil unit b4.
(29-09-2021, 06:35 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]No lah... I already said got to use water liao...
Liquid dripping out from your FCU because you using above products or evaporator coil dirty thus will reduced the cooling capacity/cooling efficiency one cooling efficiency drop condensation will occur at the surface of the fan coil if serious you can witness liquid dripping out from your fan coil unit if lagi worst you can see sweating or water dripping on the surface of your aircon PVC trunking or insulators if carry on without proper repairs finally algae blooming on the surface of your aircon trunking…
(29-09-2021, 06:52 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]I think you dont know how to use those product properly.
I know how to service aircon lah.
No problem for me.
I have also dismantled my house fan coil unit b4.
My ah Ma also knows how to dismantling and installed it back no big deal can ebola more how to used the products properly ?! TiA
(29-09-2021, 05:10 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Just a warning for an industry wide trick that result in thousands of people losing thousands every year. Yesterday one of our forummer kena scammed.
You go home one say try to turn on your aircon unit. It beeps but does not blow or no beep. You take the remote to another room...press and the air con there is working. This means your FCU (fan coil unit) is faulty.
You look up a few repair man to describe the problem. They all tell you You need to replace entire system. Some will say no way to repair and so on. You pony up the money......but you have just fallen for a common scam.
The FCU is very cheap and replaceable. You just need to carousel to look for people selling FCU. Say your aircon is Daikin....just search "Daikin FCU". ....you will see many. Just look for your model or compatible model.
The seller often will know people who provide workman ship to replace the unit. Total cost is $300-$350.
Plse don't ever fall for this scam. It pains me to see entire aircon system taken out and discarded imagine to waste and damage to environment.
The guy who scam you to replace entire system will sell your working parts on the market....including your old FCU.
![[Image: ZIrPe9v.jpg]](https://i.imgur.com/ZIrPe9v.jpg)
If one of the fan coil is not working but the compressor and other fan coils are working, it is safe to assume the fan coil that is not working is faulty.
What many overlook is the wiring from the compressor to fan coil.
It happen to me before. One fan coil stop working suddenly and the Mitsubishi technicians advice me to change the fan coil. I don’t believe in their assessment and engage a local aircon repairman and voila the problem was due a broken electrical wire from the compressor to the fan coil.