Full Version: S'poreans can't avoid competition by building walls to keep foreigners out: Vivian
https://mothership.sg/2021/09/vivian-bal...oreigners/

Singaporeans "cannot afford to believe" that in erecting walls and tariff barriers to keep foreigners out, they would be shielded from competition, Foreign Affairs Minister Vivian Balakrishnan said on Sep. 29

Speaking at a media doorstop after his working visit in Washington D.C., where he met with U.S. Secretary of State Antony Blinken, veteran diplomat Kurt Campbell, as well as some members of Congress, Vivian said Singapore needs to "double down to prepare for the jobs of the future" at a time of uncertainty during the digital revolution, adding that the government has to "remake, reskill and re-uplift" the people to go after such jobs of the future as well.
Bala we are not telling you to erect walls for foreigners but merely suggesting to not open gates for them to free flow just as in happy hours sessions ,buy 1 get 2 free.
This guy will keep twisting and boomerang to Sporn.
PAP built the walls starting from MOE with faculty quotas. MP Chan said 3100 quota was set per year. So we end up importing 30 or 45k FTs in IT instead.

So why twist around like a Raven chides Blackness?
He built wall against singaporean can leh
[Image: 4-C0-C8-E98-5-AB2-4762-A9-A9-A30888-B2-B84-B.jpg]
[Image: 7-E106150-0-BBA-4628-B920-0270-A9758-D5-E.jpg]
[Image: 147-DEE73-3410-47-B4-935-E-681354-D71-E80.jpg]
Nice comforting words to put singaprean as poor as in the 60s or 70s
He okay with importing illiterate FTrs with fake degrees and fake credentials.

How can that be????
this is akin to we tell u not to hv to much hot sunshine on  bare body as may cause skin cancer,u tell me no sunshine will not get vit D
the bal is enough not overdoing.
(01-10-2021, 12:36 PM)forum456 Wrote: [ -> ]https://mothership.sg/2021/09/vivian-bal...oreigners/

Singaporeans "cannot afford to believe" that in erecting walls and tariff barriers to keep foreigners out, they would be shielded from competition, Foreign Affairs Minister Vivian Balakrishnan said on Sep. 29

Speaking at a media doorstop after his working visit in Washington D.C., where he met with U.S. Secretary of State Antony Blinken, veteran diplomat Kurt Campbell, as well as some members of Congress, Vivian said Singapore needs to "double down to prepare for the jobs of the future" at a time of uncertainty during the digital revolution, adding that the government has to "remake, reskill and re-uplift" the people to go after such jobs of the future as well.
Bala take n sing song. Tell to talk about CECA.
(01-10-2021, 01:48 PM)Gstalk Wrote: [ -> ]He okay with importing illiterate FTrs with fake degrees and fake credentials.

How can that be????
OUR SCHOOL EDUCATION SYSTEM FAIL, NOT GOOD ENOUGH. FOR HIM.
(01-10-2021, 02:16 PM)Teeth53 Wrote: [ -> ]Bala take n sing song. Tell to talk about CECA.

PAP should send him to India n make a new CECA deal.
(01-10-2021, 01:13 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: [ -> ][Image: 7-E106150-0-BBA-4628-B920-0270-A9758-D5-E.jpg]

[Image: IMG-20210927-WA0003.jpg]
a underperform minister, should just get out of office, we dont need him at all. useless
His last term in office liao lah. Can ignore him.

He's one of the worst ministers, put him anywhere that place will cock up. One of those who can talk very well but that's all he can do.
Even with free competition from unlimited FTs . . .. why PAP imported trash? Half of them are not even real talents.

T5 Airport is Floating platform like Japan? Can we have super business like FB or Google?

Free Competition 有屁用 ?
We sign agreement with free virus
Open up civil service to foreigners, from junior staff to EP. If civil service is willing to do that, I am sure all of us are willing to take competition from foreigners.
such poor attitude people should just zip their mouth.
These MIW always like to distort ground sentiments.

When citizens say there are too many FT or EP holders, MIW will act blur and ask who will construct our HDB flats.

When citizens say there is unfair competition by underqualified FT, MIW will act blur and say we can't keep out competition.

One more: constructive debate about CECA becomes an accusation of racism.
Why would a Singapore Minister bad mouth his own people in a foreign land?

Is this the kind of minister that we want or deserve?
(01-10-2021, 05:55 PM)starbugs Wrote: [ -> ]These MIW always like to distort ground sentiments.

When citizens say there are too many FT or EP holders, MIW will act blur and ask who will construct our HDB flats.

When citizens say there is unfair competition by underqualified FT, MIW will act blur and say we can't keep out competition.

One more: constructive debate about CECA becomes an accusation of racism.

PAP is not honest nor transparent.

The more they refuse to listen, the more they aggravate the situation. 

They can only blame themselves for so much social issues.
This shows that once they are on it, they never change course like the pilots on the planes or captains of ships when there are storms ahead.

When the Delta is around, they continue to speak that FTs are needed and we need to open up.

Based on the narratives, both the world's two biggest economies don't seem to buy our idea of living with viruses. One said it can give rise to variants while the other aim at eliminating the virus. HK top medical expert replies to us are that it is a dangerous path for us to take.
Another frustrating useless assertion....nobody say build walls keep people out the minister should stop putting words in peopl's mouth.

The debate has always been about number today Singapore has higher per capita imported foreign labor and if nothing is done it will grow to 50% and 60%. It is about PAP's extremism NOT about build walls or staying open!
We should adopt the be best practices when it comes to taping foreign talent so it is sustainable on locals
The wall was never build by the people, it was the administration who has brought in all sort of low level talents who took up the job opportunities that supposed to be filled by locals.

They have also failed with their policy by giving employers to exploit with the hiring of foreign talents, where such “talent” has or have lied with their credentials.

And at the same times it was their poor policy to give the “right” skill set for the people to get trained that resulted some of the industries were not able to filled with our graduates or citizens.

And in times of crisis our administration then blamed on the citizens for being xenophobic, racists and siding the foreigners to blame on us for building up a wall.

Such government who held no accountabilities are quick to blame the people instead of looking back on their poor policy execution. Maybe or conveniently they are absent minded, that they forgotten many times our oppositions as well as some of their party members have brought up the concerns, concerning on foreign talents.

An administrations who held no accountability can only blamed the people instead of themselves, simply because they held no responsibility. The high remunerations has paid these people to forget about their responsibilities but more on their KPI by sacrificing the people’s well being.

And we are seeing more of such act during crisis such as this.
Does it really matter what he says.
It not working.
Not correct.
Not the real turkey.
All are shutting
The beautiful pat XI is helping to shut it down.
China is more than 70% DARK her vessels mass at Los angeles ready to deliver for Dola but not allow to go in.
My work is to make them sound correct b4 the storm.
Got cum from good skool?
FWs has levy and quota because PAP Built WALLS. FTs come FREELY while we face 21 JOB Discrimination of Great Wall.

Anyway, Vivian saying this does not obliviate PAP's crimes while we are subjected to the depredation of the 12 year hostility against us. PAP's success in the 70s is a fulsome aberration now, with hatred emanating from their war zone.

Intellectual atrophy with elephant ego, squandering freely like mire swamp to entrap gigolo minds exemplify their indecorous behaviour again.