Full Version: Singapore : Elderly picking up cardboard on CNY eve breaks taxi driver's heart
[Image: nMNpTYZ.jpg]
[Image: QEB94f1.jpg]
Speaking to The Pride, Nafiz felt that the ageing population and outsourcing of low-wage jobs to foreigners were contributing factors.

[Image: Ad3DC1g.jpg]

He said: “Most of (the elderly) are financially unstable because they don’t have jobs. There are those who have children, but unfortunately, Singapore’s cost of living is very high, and some are not earning enough to support their elderly. So these elderlies will find ways to make their own living.”

In responding to a question by Singapore Democratic Chairman, Dr Paul Tambyah, at the Singapore Perspectives 2023 conference organized by the Institute of Policy Studies (IPS), Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong said that the majority of workers in Singapore want to work longer, as long as they are healthy.

Dr Tambyah has asked if the Silver Support scheme could be more universal to avoid a huge drop in income when they stop working. The scheme provides lower-income senior citizens with a quarterly cash payout during their retirement.

He touched on the age of retirement in Singapore and asked, “Would anyone actually want to be operated on by a 70-year-old neurosurgeon? Or ride in a bus driven by a 70-year-old bus driver?”

He added, “The basis of this question is the narrative seems to be that we need to keep working. And if we are unable to do a particular job, we’ve got to retrain.”
remember 1 of the minister say those cardboard collectors are doing exercises ?
Why singapore use so many cardboard...should ban these company uaing cardboards
"there are no poor in Singapore" claimed one minister.

is the taxi driver trying to make the PAP govt look bad???
Not right to judge ones well being based on such visuals.

There are those with families and wealth but silently they are emotionally and financially bankrupt.
(31-01-2023, 09:29 AM)fishbuff Wrote: [ -> ]"there are no poor in Singapore" claimed one minister.

is the taxi driver trying to make the PAP govt look bad???

How can there be no poor in Singapore, those that are collecting cardboard, are not exercising as a minister had commented, but they do this because they don't have the money for 3 square meals.   I don't think an old woman who is bent on her back will want to collect cardboard to sell, it is a back breaking job................ crying
Maybe they're too bored and dun know how to use the internet?
(31-01-2023, 07:49 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote: [ -> ]remember 1 of the minister say those cardboard collectors are doing exercises ?

Actually he said some are doing it for exercises. No wrong. Some or a very small number. He didnt say all.

But of course oppies play it up. Same as pappies playing up oppies mistakes.

That's politics for you.
(31-01-2023, 10:10 AM)toothpick Wrote: [ -> ]Not right to judge ones well being based on such visuals.

There are those with families and wealth but silently they are emotionally and financially bankrupt.

Many jiakliaobee zoomers will be in this situation in the future.

It never fails to tug heartstrings to see an old man (more so if it is an old woman) doing this, but we need to find out what happened to them when they were young...why no savings, why no family etc.

Recently, a 70-year-old woman lost her life savings to scammers.  PAP's fault again?

I still remember the Orchard Tower case and natella zeh zeh.  That bunch of gangsters...have they turned over a new leaf, or will they have to collect carton boxes when they are old?  They terrorised the society when they were young, but when they are old, bent over and wrinkled, the society owes them?

What about those who would be released from prison after servicing a long jail sentence?  Do they have a place to return to, or will they be turned away by relatives?

Life is too complicated to simply jump to conclusion about every individual's circumstance..  but the smelly oppies like to use such peektures to right away say "PAP! Vote them out!"  CSJ is fond of doing such beedios and taking such peektures.  And he had never won a single erection.  Laughing
(31-01-2023, 10:18 AM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]How can there be no poor in Singapore, those that are collecting cardboard, are not exercising as a minister had commented, but they do this because they don't have the money for 3 square meals.   I don't think an old woman who is bent on her back will want to collect cardboard to sell, it is a back breaking job................ crying

Such a man or woman would have spent the best years of his or her life under LKY's government.

Go look for him and ask him why...if you think his government is responsible for this.
(31-01-2023, 10:18 AM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]How can there be no poor in Singapore, those that are collecting cardboard, are not exercising as a minister had commented, but they do this because they don't have the money for 3 square meals.   I don't think an old woman who is bent on her back will want to collect cardboard to sell, it is a back breaking job................ crying

do you want to contradict your pap minister??
Errr...I am surprise TS don't know elders being Karung guni has been a part and parcel of SG social reality for a long time....So I find it odd for the website use CNY period to make a point.

What purpose does this serve ?
🥺🥺🥺😭😭😭😭😡
(31-01-2023, 08:59 AM)Sharexchange Wrote: [ -> ]Why singapore use so many cardboard...should ban these company uaing cardboards

Should just ban anyone writing and photo taking of elderly workers in Sg. Then we will look really good. Anyways the elites don't have heart, time and effort for the commoners. Just let go already lah.
RC should organize free dinners for those lonely or poor souls.
(02-02-2023, 11:35 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote: [ -> ]RC should organize free dinners for those lonely or poor souls.

That would be nice......................... Clapping
(31-01-2023, 01:41 PM)fishbuff Wrote: [ -> ]do you want to contradict your pap minister??

A PAP minister is also a human, and thence is subject to err.................... Laughing nudie
(02-02-2023, 11:42 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]That would be nice......................... Clapping

There are few festivals in SG about reunion.
RC should take up the role to promote true spirit of the festivals.
5.x ghz license exempt band
The Govt and MOM reported new job creation for elderly workers
This should be published in SIA in-flight magazine as tourist attraction to the world's most expensive city.

Seeking potential new investment to recycle waste
(31-01-2023, 10:10 AM)toothpick Wrote: [ -> ]Not right to judge ones well being based on such visuals.

What is the possibility of these elderly cardboard collectors with wealth like off- color Ministers?
(02-02-2023, 11:44 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]A PAP minister is also a human, and thence is subject to err.................... Laughing nudie

cannot ... PAP is sinkie's Gods..

cannot contradict, else they will risk repurcussion.

can you protest in the street against PAP and see what might happen to you?
(03-02-2023, 09:53 AM)fishbuff Wrote: [ -> ]cannot ... PAP is sinkie's Gods..

you will earn free meal and accomodation in Changi chalet.
(03-02-2023, 09:53 AM)fishbuff Wrote: [ -> ]cannot ... PAP is sinkie's Gods..

(03-02-2023, 09:56 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote: [ -> ]you will earn free meal and accomodation in Changi chalet.
That is K88 shu shu answer to you.............. Clapping
(03-02-2023, 10:05 AM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]That is K88 shu shu answer to you.............. Clapping

bottomline; mai kpkb about govt. 
believe what they say and never question them
(31-01-2023, 05:14 PM)Manthink Wrote: [ -> ]Errr...I am surprise TS don't know elders being Karung guni has been a part and parcel of SG social reality for a long time....So I find it odd for the website use CNY period to make a point.

What purpose does this serve ?

The TS is doing a Chee Soon Juan.  He is trying to make PAP look bad.

What I can say...from what he told about himself............he is single, poor and only has his dreams, and he wants you to thread gently on his dreams which he somehow decided to spread under your feet....and fast forward twenty years, he will be old and alone.  SINGLE and ALONE.  Since he is poor by his own declaration, will he become the next poster boy for a "cardboard collector", who can say?
(03-02-2023, 10:11 AM)fishbuff Wrote: [ -> ]bottomline; mai kpkb about govt. 

But Hong Lim Park is a place where you can voice out your discontent, legally............... nudie
(03-02-2023, 10:11 AM)fishbuff Wrote: [ -> ]bottomline; mai kpkb about govt. 

From the 1G to the 3G, and I believe 4G too, the PAP has the people's interest at heart.

I see no reason why there should be any doubt about that.  So why is there a need to question them?