Full Version: Death toll from Syria-Turkey quake nears 10,000
Death toll from Syria-Turkey quake nears 10,000

Read more 📍 https://bit.ly/3I8fcr5

Follow @AsiaOnecom for all the latest updates.
still less than the millions of Greeks and Armenians and other Europeans the Turks butchered last time..........
  • The actual deaths is above 35k, 5000 building collapsed and many were killed instantly or buried alive.
Turkey-Syria earthquake updates: death toll nears 16,000 as 72-hour ‘rescue window’ passes - live news

12,973 people have died in Turkey as Syria deaths near 3,000; most rescues happen within first three days, says emergency response expert

Turkey and Syria earthquake: what we know so far on day four

Earthquake death toll passes 16,000 as Erdoğan defends response

Turkey-Syria earthquake updates: death toll nears 16,000 as 72-hour ‘rescue window’ passes - live news
[size=11]12,973 people have dias Syria deaths near 3,000; most rescues [/size]
(09-02-2023, 03:05 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: [ -> ]Turkey-Syria earthquake updates: death toll nears 16,000 as 72-hour ‘rescue window’ passes - live news

12,973 people have died in Turkey as Syria deaths near 3,000; most rescues happen within first three days, says emergency response expert

Earthquake death toll passes 16,000 as Erdoğan defends response.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2...ramanmaras
Not as worse as 2004 Tsunami.
Erdogan faces crescendo of criticism over response. Turks waiting by rubble complain of lack of state help

Lack of capabilities' in war-hit Syria quake zone too. Death toll in Turkey alone rises past 12,000

International aid campaign gathers pace

KAHRAMANMARAS/ANTAKYA, Turkey, Feb 9 (Reuters) - The death toll from earthquakes that struck Turkey and Syria this week passed 15,000 on Thursday amid anger from those left destitute and frustrated over the slow arrival of rescue teams

https://www.reuters.com/world/middle-eas...023-02-08/
[Image: kgeocqt.gif]
(08-02-2023, 11:52 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: [ -> ]
  • The actual deaths is above 35k, 5000 building collapsed and many were killed instantly or buried alive.

The U.S. military operates out of Incirlik Air Base just side be sode to Adana, Turkey. US Reports No Injuries at Incirlik Air Base After Massive Earthquake in Turkey

The installation was not damaged by the quake, and no troops were injured. “All U.S. government personnel assigned to the 39th Air Base Wing have been accounted for and we have no suspected or confirmed U.S. casualties at this time..

https://www.military.com/daily-news/2023...urkey.html
(09-02-2023, 03:51 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: [ -> ]The U.S. military operates out of Incirlik Air Base just side be side to Adana, Turkey. US Reports No Injuries at Incirlik Air Base After Massive Earthquake in Turkey

The installation was not damaged by the quake, and no troops were injured. “All U.S. government personnel assigned to the 39th Air Base Wing have been accounted for and we have no suspected or confirmed U.S. casualties at this time..

While this is a developing situation, all U.S. government personnel assigned to the 39th Air Base Wing have been accounted for and we have no suspected or confirmed U.S. casualties at this time," Incirlik Air Base shared on social media. "Additionally, no U.S. facilities on base have sustained major damage."

A 7.8-magnitude earthquake hit southeast Turkey and neighboring Syria on Monday, and the death toll had risen to more than 2,500 people as of Monday afternoon, according to The Associated Press.

Powerful Quake Kills more then 15,000 in Turkey, Syria. As hundreds and thosand of people have been killed in a 7.8 magnitude earthquake that struck southern Turkey and northern Syria early Monday morning.

Incirlik is home to nearly 2,000 service members and Department of Defense civilians, according to the Pentagon, and has a major role in supporting conflicts in NATO's southern region. It is located nearly 10 miles east of the city of Adana.

It also houses approximately 50 U.S. tactical nuclear weapons Rotfl -- namely Cold War-era B61 nuclear bombs, according to the nonprofit Nuclear Threat Initiative. The base has reportedly made efforts in recent years to make sure it isn't reliant on local infrastructure following a 2016 coup attempt that saw local power to the base cut off for nearly a week. Military officials at the time said that operations were not affected because of sufficient generator capacity.
Comment asking about those efforts.

President Joe Biden quickly offered to support Turkey with humanitarian efforts.
At my direction, senior American officials reached out immediately to their Turkish counterparts to coordinate any and all needed assistance, Biden said in a press release. "Our teams are deploying quickly to begin to support Turkish search and rescue efforts and address the needs of those injured and displaced by the earthquake. U.S.-supported humanitarian partners are also responding to the destruction in Syria."

National Security Adviser Jake Sullivan also backed Biden's statement, saying the U.S. government is in coordination with the country.

"We stand ready to provide any and all needed assistance," Sullivan said in an emailed statement.

"We will continue to closely monitor the situation in coordination with the Government of Turkiye," he added, using Turkey's preferred spelling of its country name.
(09-02-2023, 03:51 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: [ -> ]The U.S. military operates out of Incirlik Air Base just side be side to Adana, Turkey. US Reports No Injuries at Incirlik Air Base After Massive Earthquake in Turkey

The first wave of humanitarian aid for Türkiye has been processed...Air Forces in Europe and Air Forces Africa)

U.S. military leaders are routing aid from United States European Command to Turkey and Syria after a massive earthquake Monday killed more than 15,000 people.

“Using a whole of govt approach, we remain in close contact with our Turkish Ally to determine what assistance is needed to help those affected by the disaster,”

Marine Lt. Col. Garron J. Garn, a Defense Department spokesperson, said in a statement to Military Times on behalf of USEUCOM. US govt begins sending earthquake aid to Turkey

“At this time, USEUCOM is coordinating with the Department of State and the U.S. Agency for International Development Bureau of Humanitarian Assistance, as well as other U.S. interagency partners, to establish what capabilities are needed and available to support requests by the govt of Turkiye.”

The U.S. Agency for International Development, or USAID, working with the U.S. Air Force, handled the first round of aid from Dover, Delaware, on Tuesday
This is bad.
(09-02-2023, 04:14 PM)red3 Wrote: [ -> ]This is bad.

U.S. search and rescue teams set to arrive in Turkey on Wednesday. Two U.S. Agency for International Development teams have arrive Wednesday morning in Turkey and will head to the southeastern province of Adiyaman to focus on urban search and rescue following earthquakes that killed more than 16,00 people and left a trail of destruction in Turkey and neighboring Syria.

https://www.reuters.com/world/middle-eas...023-02-07/
(09-02-2023, 03:08 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: [ -> ]https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2...ramanmaras

Saleh Saeed, chief executive of UK’s Disasters Emergency Committee (DEC), said.

Northern Syria is controlled by rebel groups and multiple reports suggest aid is flowing less easily into the area than into the south of Turkey, which was also badly affected by the disaster. Saeed told BBC Breakfast:

Indeed Syria is still in a state of conflict, but our members have been working in Syria for 10 years. They have people on the ground, both local staff and volunteers. So despite the challenges of course they are experiencing now because of the damaged roads and immense traffic and so forth, aid is getting through and they are scaling up. The needs in Syria are immense.

(09-02-2023, 04:30 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: [ -> ]Saleh Saeed, chief executive of UK’s Disasters Emergency Committee (DEC), said.

Northern Syria is controlled by rebel groups and multiple reports suggest aid is flowing less easily into the area than into the south of Turkey, which was also badly affected by the disaster. Saeed told BBC Breakfast:

Indeed Syria is still in a state of conflict, but our members have been working in Syria for 10 years. They have people on the ground, both local staff and volunteers. So despite the challenges of course they are experiencing now because of the damaged roads and immense traffic and so forth, aid is getting through and they are scaling up. The needs in Syria are immense.

There are two earthquakes, one measuring at 7.8 and the other measuring at 7.7 on the Richter scale................. crying
(09-02-2023, 04:30 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: [ -> ]Saleh Saeed, chief executive of UK’s Disasters Emergency Committee (DEC), said.

It is now 12.30pm in much of continental Europe and 2.30pm in Turkey and Syria. 

Here is a summary of the day’s main events so far:

The combined death toll from Monday’s quakes has risen to 17, 176 after the Turkish president

Recep Tayyip Erdoğan, said the tally in Turkey had climbed to 14,014. A total of 3,162 have been reported dead by Syrian government officials and a rescue group in the rebel-held north-west of the country.

The first aid convoy to reach northwestern Syria since Monday’s devastating earthquake has crossed the Bab al-Hawa border crossing from Turkey, with six trucks carrying tents and hygiene products.

The United Nation’s special envoy for Syria, Geir Pedersen, has said the country, already ravaged by more than a decade of civil war, needs “more of absolutely everything.  crying
Turkey receives offers of quake aid from nearly 100 countries. Some 95 nations and 16 international organizations have pledged aid to Turkey following this week's devastating earthquake, Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu said Thursday.

At the moment, 6,479 rescue personnel from 56 countries are in the field, Cavusoglu added during a news conference in the capital of Ankara.

"Teams from 19 more countries will be in our country within 24 hours," he commented.

zhun boh...................don't make me happy leh...............

(09-02-2023, 03:48 PM)grotesqueness Wrote: [ -> ][Image: kgeocqt.gif]

LOL................

(09-02-2023, 04:35 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]There are two earthquakes, one measuring at 7.8 and the other measuring at 7.7 on the Richter scale................. crying

too bad not 9.9 and 10.0 leh...............
Death toll is now 18,000 already
(09-02-2023, 09:20 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: [ -> ]Turkey receives offers of quake aid from nearly 100 countries. Some 95 nations and 16 international organizations have pledged aid to Turkey following this week's devastating earthquake, Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu said Thursday.

At the moment, 6,479 rescue personnel from 56 countries are in the field, Cavusoglu added during a news conference in the capital of Ankara.

"Teams from 19 more countries will be in our country within 24 hours," he commented.

Young girl and father were rescued from rubble in Antakya; first aid convoy reaches northwestern Syria three days after earthquake

(09-02-2023, 09:49 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: [ -> ]zhun boh...................don't make me happy leh...............

LOL................

too bad not 9.9 and 10.0 leh...............
At that scale it will be disastrous....... crying
(09-02-2023, 09:50 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: [ -> ]Death toll is now 18,000 already

i was right

[Image: kgeocqt.gif]

More than 20,000 people are now known to have been killed in Monday's earthquakes in Turkey and Syria, though the UN warns the disaster's full extent is still unclear.

Rescuers are still searching rubble for survivors, but hopes are fading almost 100 hours since the tremors struck.

Freezing conditions threaten the lives of thousands of survivors who are now without shelter, water and food.

Turkey's president called the quake "the disaster of the century".

A major international relief effort is gathering pace. On Thursday the World Bank pledged $1.78bn in aid to Turkey including immediate finance for rebuilding basic infrastructure and to support those affected by the earthquakes.

The efforts of 100,000 or more rescue personnel on the ground are hampered by a number of logistical hurdles including vehicle shortages and devastated roads.