Full Version: MAN SAID 80s TO 90s ARE THE BEST, LOWER SALARIES BUT AFFORDABLE HAPPIER LIFE
MAN SAID 80s TO 90s ARE THE BEST, LOWER SALARIES BUT AFFORDABLE HAPPIER LIFE

https://_bannedsite_full_of_defamatory_c...d_id=91441
1980s no hand phone. Computers not affordable. No Internet. No YouTube....how?
(10-02-2023, 08:55 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]1980s no hand phone. Computers not affordable. No Internet. No YouTube....how?

But got friends and gathering and chitchat through the night
(10-02-2023, 08:55 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]1980s no hand phone. Computers not affordable. No Internet. No YouTube....how?

Computers, internet and "social" media actually made people less social ironically. With them, more people can be "alone" as they feel less need to be with family and friends.
Everything will change.
Get real, get prepared and move with the times. 
Live in the present, not the past or future.
Past is gone
Future not sure. 
Enjoy while it last.
back then, life was simpler. I sure missed the old singapore.
(10-02-2023, 11:53 AM)fishbuff Wrote: [ -> ]back then, life was simpler. I sure missed the old singapore.

I like when Singapore is in it's 1970s..................... Big Grin
Because China still not awake yet mah...mow awake liao sibei jiatlat to world.
Under pinky, life has become very difficult for almost everybody expect the 6 Keppel men and their big bosses
in the 70s 80s 90s

there were very little FTs

LKY believe singaporean for singapore

LKY get 100% vote

son cannot get 100% no more

ask yourself when did the son get 100% vote?
(10-02-2023, 08:59 AM)klat Wrote: [ -> ]But got friends and gathering and chitchat through the night

also Need to " spend money " Unless your friends like " Robert " let you chop BUT back than in fact Is cheaper at least come hawker foods, drinks , beers
(10-02-2023, 11:53 AM)fishbuff Wrote: [ -> ]back then, life was simpler. I sure missed the old singapore.

Actually can live simple now, go dates no need go restaurants, weddings no need big hotels, home renovations $10K flooring & kitchen cabinet only good enough. Kid one is enough to experience parenting, no need so many to haolian on social media.
(10-02-2023, 01:24 PM)ODA TETSURO Wrote: [ -> ]Actually can live simple now, go dates no need go restaurants, weddings no need big hotels, home renovations $10K flooring & kitchen cabinet only good enough. Kid one is enough to experience parenting, no need so many to haolian on social media.

last time, sg belongs to sgporeans. 

nowadays, sgporeans are minority in their own country.
JAC Lau also said the same, lah

the 80s he came can take a lousy unrecognised degree from NTU

now, he can go ITE instead
(10-02-2023, 08:53 AM)Bigiron Wrote: [ -> ]MAN SAID 80s TO 90s ARE THE BEST, LOWER SALARIES BUT AFFORDABLE HAPPIER LIFE

https://_bannedsite_full_of_defamatory_c...d_id=91441

Last time Police wore shorts lah! Big Grin
its true ah
i got my hdb 4room flat in 1987 for only 60k
and my salary was only 900
and still can afford the flat
Mr Lee KY left a legacy for us. But what has Mr Lee HL leave us with except sorrow and sad memories.
(10-02-2023, 09:07 AM)Levin Wrote: [ -> ]Computers, internet and "social" media actually made people less social ironically. With them, more people can be "alone" as they feel less need to be with family and friends.

There is truth in what you said..........therefore I will give you a like and a rep. pt.................... Clapping
Mid 90s housing bubble serious already.
But scale is smaller compare to now.
(10-02-2023, 12:45 PM)grotesqueness Wrote: [ -> ]in the 70s 80s 90s

there were very little FTs

LKY believe singaporean for singapore

LKY get 100% vote

son cannot get 100% no more

ask yourself when did the son get 100% vote?

That is why we love Mr LeeKY. His successor must now prove he can deport some New Citizens to win back votes.
(10-02-2023, 04:25 PM)fishbuff Wrote: [ -> ]last time, sg belongs to sgporeans. 

Swamped by CECA, Pinoys and Ah Tiongs....................... Big Grin
(11-02-2023, 08:19 AM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]Swamped by CECA, Pinoys and Ah Tiongs....................... Big Grin

his million dollars paycheck is more important that the Singapore votes

You were born in the 80s.

All those "nos" didn't matter to you right.

Your only concern would be "no breast milk".  No?  Rolleyes
(11-02-2023, 08:19 AM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]Swamped by CECA, Pinoys and Ah Tiongs....................... Big Grin

ASEAN has 650 million people.  If we were only 2.5 million like in the early days, do you know pathetic that would be?

Worse than just being pathetic, we would be in serious trouble.  You tell MNCs to come.  They come and ask: where are the PMETs?  And you point at the man with yellow hair and wearing a green jersey riding a motorised coffin, and say "There!  He's there.  You can hire him."
(10-02-2023, 06:34 PM)Ola Wrote: [ -> ]JAC Lau also said the same, lah

the 80s he came can take a lousy unrecognised degree from NTU

now, he can go ITE instead

Jac Lau only want to boost about his million dollars in his CPF accounts................... Cool
(10-02-2023, 09:07 AM)Levin Wrote: [ -> ]Computers, internet and "social" media actually made people less social ironically. With them, more people can be "alone" as they feel less need to be with family and friends.

It had replaced a life lived in the real physical world to the point where someone started a thread in edmw seeking comfort from other edmwers because his loved one passed away.

Apparently, he was single...a  typical bbfa who lived with his one surviving parent, and when that parent was gone, he was lost.  

It is natural to go through a stage of bereavement.  But it is pathetic to have only unknown people for "friends" whom he knew not their real names...never even seen their faces before.....but only user ids, and he went there to ask: how to deal with his depression....
(11-02-2023, 10:23 AM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]Jac Lau only want to boost about his million dollars in his CPF accounts................... Cool

There are two main types of foreigners coming.

1.  FTs
2.  FWs

Both contribute to Singapore.

And they contribute more to Singapore than many sinkies, including those at the forum here.

Just because you are born here and are a sinkie by birth, it does not mean that you are a superior human race.  That is not how meritocracy works.  It will destroy this country if we make all sinkies managers because they only need to produce one certificate: their birth certificate.  And all foreigners are to cook cai png or wash toilets.

Naturally, and I do understand, the sinkies will be jealous....why am I "second class" in my own country, he screams.

But that's the way it is.  The FT has a medical degree, while you could not even get more than 4 O level credits, and flunked your English, cannot read Chinese...and you want to be working in Mt E as a surgeon?
(10-02-2023, 12:05 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]I like when Singapore is in it's 1970s..................... Big Grin

I like the 1930s.   Smile
No Internet...fairer competition. 
Certainly no IT and related scams....less stress for sure.
(10-02-2023, 04:25 PM)fishbuff Wrote: [ -> ]last time, sg belongs to sgporeans. 

Not really true.

It depends on how far back in history you want to go, and which period of time you are referring to.

You can say it belonged to the Malays, to Johore, or you can say it belonged to the British, and everybody was free to migrate here...the Chinese came here and worked as coolies/tailors/barbers/hawkers/teachers, the Indians who were sent here as indentured workers, or the Malays who chose to live here rather than in Johor.

Singapore still belongs to Singaporeans but we need FTs and FWs to cook cai png for us, or work in our healthcare institutions or in various commercial enterprises.

Of course, if you like, we can always wind back to the 1970s, and transform Singapore to become like Muar of today.  Bring a bunch of zoomers there, let them look at Muar, and you ask them if they want that or not....

If Muar is so good, SgBuffet would not have left there to become a new citizen here.