Full Version: Hong Kong ...overnight HIBOR rates.
Kept falling week after weeks.
Was 1.3% a few weeks ago now 0.77%.

The banking system is getting flushed with liquidity....

[Image: zlgp26T.jpg]
But Sg Sora rate keeps rising… Rotfl
[Image: 601-A7852-7741-46-D1-B852-84-FEBF79-E2-D1.jpg]
So going up is good or going down  is good?  How does that affect you? When there is money money demand, rate will go up.
(15-02-2023, 11:12 AM)teaserteam Wrote: [ -> ]So going up is good or going down  is good?  How does that affect you?  When there is money money demand,  rate will go up.

of course up is good lah, win win for all mah. bank win, gov win, landlord win, even home owner also win, cause their property will be evaluate higher. Rotfl
Rate up ...bad for the economy. 
Entrepreneurs will not invest as it is too expensive. 

Stock market will fall...also bad for economy.
(15-02-2023, 11:12 AM)teaserteam Wrote: [ -> ]So going up is good or going down  is good?  How does that affect you?  When there is money money demand,  rate will go up.

Borrowing getting more expensive is good or no good? Rotfl
No more free $$$.
Last year at the early Q1, you only pay $2000 per mth for housing loan.

Now paying $4000 per mth, you say good or no good? It will keep going up as Fed is unable to tame the high inflation.
Fed Powell just flipped the prata.
very chim
Powell Says Further Rate Hikes Needed and Markets Take Heed

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/...bor-market
US junk bond is in trouble.
I see liao also scare.

1 yr bond also hit 5%

[Image: F47-EB145-4162-4-A80-A54-D-E1-D719672-F39.png]
(15-02-2023, 11:35 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]Borrowing getting more expensive is good or no good? Rotfl
No more free $$$.
Last year at the early Q1, you only pay $2000 per mth for housing loan.

Now paying $4000 per mth, you say good or no good? It will keep going up as Fed is unable to tame the high inflation.
Fed Powell just flipped the prata.

It depends. When no one want to borrow or reduce their borrowing, is it good or bad?
(15-02-2023, 11:42 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]US junk bond is in trouble.
I see liao also scare.

1 yr bond also hit 5%

[Image: F47-EB145-4162-4-A80-A54-D-E1-D719672-F39.png]

Bond rate will go up and down,  depending on bond market condition.  There are pple making money when the bond rate is going up;  same,  some pple will lose money.    Bond rate going up is not good for the economy?