Full Version: Credit Suisse says $23 billion of debt now worthless, angering bond holders
Credit Suisse says $23 billion of debt now worthless, angering bond holders 

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/cr...ondholders
Fear is on banks anytime kaput without warning
Borrow money but no need to pay back!

Huat ah!  Rotfl
This will affect those rich people or countries. They loan money to the bank and get fixed interest. Now, the loan value is zero.
The bond wipeout is the biggest loss yet for Europe’s US$275 billion (S$368.4 billion) AT1 market, far eclipsing the only other write-down to date of this type of security: a €1.35 billion (S$1.9 billion) loss suffered by junior bond holders of Spanish lender Banco Popular back in 2017, when it was absorbed by Banco Santander for €1 to avoid a collapse. In that instance, the equity was also written off.

In a typical write-down scenario, shareholders are the first to take a hit before AT1 bonds face losses, as Credit Suisse also showed in a presentation to investors earlier last week. This is why the decision to write down the bank’s riskiest debt – rather than its shareholders – provoked a furious response from some of Credit Suisse’s AT1 bond holders.
Borrowers like strike toto
The solution was not hunky dory....the bond market stress remains imagine 23B loss overnight. Bond holders will be terrified which is the next one....
Just becareful lor something big will happen soon maybe not now but soon. IMHO
they try to get your trust dat they good.
it is not.
SNB is on the US corporation Dola sys..
they want to make us believe
upon scrutiny it is SNB Dola
Total bailout now is double 2008 0r abt 453B Dola.

China-Russia ties is now on a Gold standard
matter become acute for the west.
China is on a mission of peace. West says there should be no ceasefire.
After the ball game the Swiss will impliment Bail-in meaning u become an investor.
u got the rotten end All the risks.
Who are these bond holders ? Why only 23billion for such an international world wide bank? Where are the other bond holders outside the 23billion? Why the outside holders bo dai Zi?
ahQua will be given a meeting with China after Putins
it is now upper theatre
UN Switzerland Netherland Ukrain with past historical baggages with NAZI Russians and religions.
SNB has loaned out 108B.
The whole West including Japan in a fucking mess
(20-03-2023, 10:36 AM)red3 Wrote: [ -> ]Who are these bond holders ? Why only 23billion for such an international world wide bank? Where are the other bond holders outside the 23billion? Why the outside holders bo dai Zi?

Rest of bond holders are made whole...only  Additional  Tier 1 kena wiped out.
The bond market for Bank bonds must be in turmoil now

What is next shoe to fall?

Imagine if you hold such bonds ....you will be dumping and getting out.
How nice if we could take a loan and it is zero in value the next.
Are our banks one of the bond holders?
wondering those holding Credit Suisse gold bar. is the bar 999.9? Thinking
These r risky notes, meaning unsecure. u buy with your eyes opened; blame nobody.
(20-03-2023, 12:30 PM)teaserteam Wrote: [ -> ]These r risky notes,  meaning unsecure.  u buy with your eyes opened;  blame nobody.

Ya lor!

You buy because you trust the bank. But now they are telling you not to trust the bank lor!  Rotfl

Can Angmoh countries be trusted?  Thinking
why is tese bonds risker than shares which still hv some values to convert to ubs shares
in bonds we trust ,no ??
Hyflux bond again...will Sg saving bond guarantee? Treasury bill too ? Who pay if Gov no money ?
(20-03-2023, 01:21 PM)talky Wrote: [ -> ]why is tese bonds risker than shares which still hv some values to convert to ubs shares
in bonds we trust ,no ??

When they froze Russian assets, they have already told the world that they cannot be trusted as a "neutral country"!

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/...#xj4y7vzkg

[Image: Screenshot-20230320-132440-com-android-c...293274.jpg]

(20-03-2023, 01:21 PM)talky Wrote: [ -> ]why is tese bonds risker than shares which still hv some values to convert to ubs shares
in bonds we trust ,no ??

That's why the furore. The equities holders should be the first to suffer. Then these bond holders. Not sure why Credit Suisse is taking this route.
it is now dangerous to freeze Russian assets.
They will do the same to you.
In Switzerland there is no bailout only bail-in
meaning u suffer the risks
The rest u see are wayang kulit aka US corporation Dola swaps or whatever
u must learn to listen well when the Swiss finance minister speaks
Poland says if Ukrain fails she will do the the fightings.
Russia says B prepared for WW3.