By Jonathan Yee -12 Oct 2021, 11:23 am
A Singaporean-British chef whom you might recognise from Uncle Roger videos was accused of plagiarism in her cookbook, Makan.
The allegations surfaced after a Singaporean author, Sharon Wee, made a public post on 6 Oct.
Including Ms Wee’s book, there are also other passages in Makan that people found allegedly lifted from other cookbooks and recipes online.
Bloomsbury, which was Elizabeth Haigh’s publisher, subsequently withdrew the cookbook from publication.
https://mustsharenews.com/elizabeth-haigh-cookbook/
(12-10-2021, 12:10 PM)wendychan Wrote: [ -> ]https://www.instagram.com/the_modernchef/
Sis Wendy, do you know Sharon Wee [also from a prominent Peranakan family]?
Good thing Sharon read Elizabeth's book [or was alerted by other readers] or she would never have known...,.
Dunno why Haigh needed to lift from Sharon's book since she is a talented professional chef herself.
The plagiarism is quite blatant. Really throw face for this so-called one Michelin chef.
(12-10-2021, 12:21 PM)starbugs Wrote: [ -> ]The plagiarism is quite blatant. Really throw face for this so-called one Michelin chef.
Haigh actually cooks for a living, was previously from the finance sector. She should be more experienced dan the authors she copied from.
Think she was looking to fill up the word quota set by her publishers. Actually many DIY books are lidat, copy from others without acknowlegement.
Even got world famous fiction bestselling authors oso lidat, but dat is another story...
find her quite irritating
Recipes are open and not copyrighted so one can just use.
However I think she copy wholesale paragraphs from others.....she should have rewritten these ...
like some forumers often copied from other sources without quoting the sources...or just make some minor modifications
(12-10-2021, 01:23 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Recipes are open and not copyrighted so one can just use.
However I think she copy wholesale paragraphs from others.....she should have rewritten these ...
she did rewrite lah.... still plagarism
(12-10-2021, 12:32 PM)luncheonmeat Wrote: [ -> ]Haigh actually cooks for a living, was previously from the finance sector. She should be more experienced dan the authors she copied from.
Think she was looking to fill up the word quota set by her publishers. Actually many DIY books are lidat, copy from others without acknowlegement.
Even got world famous fiction bestselling authors oso lidat, but dat is another story...
You syonan bitch got same bitch mindset. Maybe you bitch can help her to write a cockbook. lol