27-03-2023, 09:15 PM
Is TikTok CEO Chew Shou Zi Singaporean? Twitter users don’t seem to think so from the way he speaks.
https://sg.news.yahoo.com/tiktok-ceo-che...05457.html
(27-03-2023, 09:30 PM)Harry Lee Wrote: [ -> ]Chew is 100% Sinkee Hainanese lah! If he is PRC then it would be Zhou
Of course his mandarin accent sounds like PRC after working for Xiaomi and TikTok for years
(27-03-2023, 09:32 PM)Niubee Wrote: [ -> ]Chew also have Hokkien....
Dont ask me how i know
(27-03-2023, 09:32 PM)Niubee Wrote: [ -> ]Chew also have Hokkien....
Dont ask me how i know
(28-03-2023, 12:14 AM)Huliwang Wrote: [ -> ]Hi, Mr. Chew. .....
(28-03-2023, 12:29 AM)p1acebo Wrote: [ -> ]I have dealt with mainland Chinese speaking English. Those uni grads who communicate with us in English. Although he is Singaporean, his spoken English is now Chinese accented and he sounds no different from these u grads.Well, at least Chew is undoubtedly bilingual ..and is apparently proud of his dialect name...He doesn't give himself some strange sounding Angmoh names like Harry or Dick......and yes he is also very proficient in Mandarin, having made much of his tech-related career in the Mainland..All thanks to him working at DST, a Russian-own tech investment firm, which link him up with Xiaomi CEO, who hired him as CFO to help launch its public listing in in 2018.
If you close your eyes and hear him speak, you will think he is China Chinese.
(27-03-2023, 11:03 PM)Galilo_l Wrote: [ -> ]He studied in US no records show he's Sporean
(28-03-2023, 12:45 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Ok lah. At least he din make singlish famous
(27-03-2023, 11:03 PM)Galilo_l Wrote: [ -> ]He studied in US no records show he's Sporean
(28-03-2023, 01:18 AM)Manthink Wrote: [ -> ]When you spend most of your time overseas, you going to learn to absorb many cultures and trades...One of which is learning to adapt to local slangs and tone. That will impact on your attitude and views...which allows you to adapt (aka wear different hats) at different time and place.
Why would you expect Chew to use Singlish at the US hearing, when we saw how the hostile the American politicians were and don't even bother to listen ?
(27-03-2023, 09:15 PM)Bigiron Wrote: [ -> ]Is TikTok CEO Chew Shou Zi Singaporean? Twitter users don’t seem to think so from the way he speaks.
(28-03-2023, 06:18 AM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]I think he speaks like a true blue Singaporean leh!
(28-03-2023, 12:26 AM)Alice Alicia Wrote: [ -> ]As a Singaporean, he had done better than all our ministers.
At least he doesn't read from notes or teleprompter. He answered off-the-cuff and think on his feet, without calling others 'idiots' or questioning their schools.
Neither did he tell silly jokes until own self fainted.
(28-03-2023, 08:14 AM)ArielCasper Wrote: [ -> ]Can come back and run for president.
(28-03-2023, 07:42 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Why ermao even 12 to attack a true blue sinkee leh?
(28-03-2023, 06:52 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote: [ -> ]we were classmate at Hwa Chong.
(28-03-2023, 12:29 AM)p1acebo Wrote: [ -> ]I have dealt with mainland Chinese speaking English. Those uni grads who communicate with us in English. Although he is Singaporean, his spoken English is now Chinese accented and he sounds no different from these u grads.Yes conditioned by the years of working in China and with Chinese lah.
If you close your eyes and hear him speak, you will think he is China Chinese.