Full Version: Objectively speaking did PAP perform well?
I am really looking from purely facts and based on last 10yrs. If we go back 30 to 40yrs ago, most people will agree the pap govt  did well but that is not relevant today as it is so long ago we cannot be voting for a govt because it did well 40yrs ago. That's irrelevant. 

We have to look at the recent past and present for an assessment. Also, what criteria is correct one. For me a good govt improves the lives of the citizens ...its as simple as that. It is not about big sounding terms like being world class, having  the most billionaires, nor fancy tall office  buildings. 

For many life has not improved and gotten worse..

1. Cost of living has risen rapidly making life tough for.Singaporeans. just look at housing it is much tougher now for a couple to secure a home than 20yrs ago. Medical cost, transport cost, car cost all have become less affordable.for most Singaporeans. If life has improved, then these important necessities that make life better should more accessible not less accessible.

2. Overcrowding and intensified competition for jobs and resources. If you need to work harder for to attain the same as before, has life improved or deteriorated? If you need to work harder for your family to celebrate with a good meal has life improved? No it has not.

3. Many serious unsolved problems from 20yrs ago until now just became worse. There is a wide range of them and you can even argue that the PAP did things to make these problems worse. Examples are low fertility rate, income inequality, rising poverty, retirement inadequacy  etc.

4. Whether you talk about stress or unhappiness or anxiety, Singaporeans have the worst scores in the world. .and far worse than 20yrs ago.

Did the PAP perform well? Did the lives of Singaporeans improve over the last 10 or 20yrs? The answer is clearly NO.
actually LHL PAP make the Rich getting More richer. More likely he want to get Rich people votes , influence behind. Partly he know himself he is Not like his dad.

Different from LKY PAP whereby he want at least everyone able to live a life.
their objective is their millions dollars paycheck

keppel corruption prop up GDP
which help to increase their millions dollars paycheck

that why they dont see that as a corruption

we Singaporean is dup into PAP'S MINDS GAMES
IT all about PAP minds games

it time to play the games
(03-04-2023, 05:47 PM)grotesqueness Wrote: [ -> ]their objective is their millions dollars paycheck

keppel corruption prop up GDP
which help to increase their millions dollars paycheck

that why they dont see that as a corruption

we Singaporean is dup into PAP'S MINDS GAMES

IN return " condition is to buy Confirm Votes for PAP rah "
(03-04-2023, 05:49 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: [ -> ]IN return " condition is to buy Confirm Votes for PAP rah "

it the PAP minds games
..... and one of the bitchy ministers can't solve small problem like this

[Image: No-strike-in-Singapore.jpg]
[Image: giphy-8.gif]
(03-04-2023, 05:44 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]I am really looking from purely facts and based on last 10yrs. If we go back 30 to 40yrs ago, most people will agree the pap govt  did well but that is not relevant today as it is so long ago we cannot be voting for a govt because it did well 40yrs ago. That's irrelevant. 

We have to look at the recent past and present for an assessment. Also, what criteria is correct one. For me a good govt improves the lives of the citizens ...its as simple as that. It is not about big sounding terms like being world class, having  the most billionaires, nor fancy tall office  buildings. 

1. Cost of living has risen rapidly making life tough for.Singaporeans. just look at housing it is much tougher now for a couple to secure a home than 20yrs ago. Medical cost, transport cost, car cost all have become less affordable.for most Singaporeans. If life has improved, then these important necessities that make life better should more accessible not less accessible.

2. Overcrowding and intensified competition for jobs and resources. If you need to work harder for to attain the same as before, has life improved or deteriorated? If you need to work harder for your family to celebrate with a good meal has life improved? No it has not.

3. Many serious unsolved problems from 20yrs ago until now just became worse. There is a wide range of them and you can even argue that the PAP did things to make these problems worse. Examples are low fertility rate, income inequality, rising poverty, retirement inadequacy  etc.

4. Whether you talk about stress or unhappiness or anxiety, Singaporeans have the worst scores in the world. .and far worse than 20yrs ago.

Did the PAP perform well? Did the lives of Singaporeans improve over the last 10 or 20yrs? The answer is clearly NO.

I usually don't read long essays but made an exception this time.

The long and short of what you wrote is that you are blaming pap because you couldn't find a wife till nao, and you have to masturbate every night to sextisfy your urges, which you can only do after your mommy has fallen asleep.  Rolleyes
If based on individual like

Shoot Blank Queen, Indranee, Cotton Chan, Gan KY, Mayors . . .

So at the end the whole team did not do well

NO!
Technology progress is to reduce our workload but this is not the case. It makes us more and more busy.
We are heading in the wrong direction.
We are screwed…

More and more LKKs unable to retire.

44 years old is our current median age. Where are we going to reverse it?
There is no solution at all.
(03-04-2023, 05:52 PM)Dan Wrote: [ -> ]..... and one of the bitchy ministers can't solve small problem like this

That is the rotten egg who came from bolehland. Only got big mouth can talk so much and yet, getting million dollar pay.
(03-04-2023, 05:44 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]I am really looking from purely facts and based on last 10yrs. If we go back 30 to 40yrs ago, most people will agree the pap govt  did well but that is not relevant today as it is so long ago we cannot be voting for a govt because it did well 40yrs ago. That's irrelevant. 

Very well said.  Clapping Clapping
(03-04-2023, 06:03 PM)Gemstar Wrote: [ -> ]That is the rotten egg who came from bolehland. Only got big mouth can talk so much and yet, getting million dollar pay.

many of them...

Kwah , also another one Best part now continue collect High pay cheque as CEO in SPH.

Last claim retirement now continue enjoy taking money
Objectively speaking, world's highest paid and a land without natural disasters, should score 150/ 100 marks which they did not.
(03-04-2023, 05:55 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]Technology progress is to reduce our workload but this is not the case. It makes us more and more busy.
We are heading in the wrong direction.
We are screwed…

More and more LKKs unable to retire.

44 years old is our current median age. Where are we going to reverse it?
There is no solution at all.
MAINLY BECOS THEY WANT US TO WORK  FASTER SLOG LIKE A DOG  BUT MOST IMPORTANTLY MUST BE CHEAPER N CHEAPER STILL
(03-04-2023, 05:52 PM)Dan Wrote: [ -> ]..... and one of the bitchy ministers can't solve small problem like this

they will implement more laws to force ppl do thing they think is brilliant.
If you are in the top income earners bracket or asset owners, then pap has done.

For the rest, you know the story.

objectively, the past election results show that PAP did not do well because PAP continues lose one GRC in each of the last 2 elections.

PAP will continue to lose another GRC or SMC in next election because until now, PAP does not know the real reasons for the loss of 2 GRCs.

PAP ministers will continue to see good future for PAP because housing is extremely affordable and import of foreigners is compulsory
to fix the unfilled job vacancies.
PAP does not see any serious problem to solve and is ready for election anytime.

in short, PAP is extremely bullish about the next election.
(03-04-2023, 06:34 PM)Symmetry Wrote: [ -> ]Objectively speaking, world's highest paid and a land without natural disasters, should score 150/ 100 marks which they did not.

I concur with your thoughts...................we are without natural disasters, therefore we should be doing well, instead there are so many problems that plague us......... crying
(03-04-2023, 05:46 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: [ -> ]actually LHL PAP make the Rich getting More richer. More likely he want to get Rich people votes , influence behind. Partly he know himself he is Not like his dad.

Different from LKY PAP whereby he want at least everyone able to live a life.

salah liao.............LKY was an elitist even before WW2.............last time, he was fattening the cow.............so his son can slaughter the fat cow........ Cool
(03-04-2023, 07:39 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: [ -> ]salah liao.............LKY was an elitist even before WW2.............last time, he was fattening the cow.............so his son can slaughter the fat cow........ Cool

All hypocrites but well if compare LKY vs LHL is obviously LKY better
(03-04-2023, 07:43 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: [ -> ]All hypocrites but well if compare LKY vs LHL is obviously LKY better

If bring back LKY to govern us you'll still kpkb wan lah.
(03-04-2023, 07:39 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: [ -> ]salah liao.............LKY was an elitist even before WW2.............last time, he was fattening the cow.............so his son can slaughter the fat cow........ Cool

Yah, he was born into a rich, elite family. Supported high minister pay and elitism later. Remember graduate mother scheme?

Only appear different because there are more poor people in his era and his policies help everyone. Now if he is still around, his policies will help the elites more.
(03-04-2023, 09:23 PM)RichDad Wrote: [ -> ]Yah, he was born into a rich, elite family.  Supported high minister pay and elitism later. Remember graduate mother scheme?

Only appear different because there are more poor people in his era and his policies help everyone. Now if he is still around, his policies will help the elites more.

In the beginning when we we're developing we needed a group of people to lead and get things organised. Because of low base effects  the results are obvious. LkY being the most charismatic of the group became Valery popular.

As time passes, such a stricture of elites just becomes self serving because the natural instinct is to preserve the power elites structure.