Full Version: Today I was at hawker center ....and Filipino maid asked me
Sitting my usual porridge stall. Her employer send her to order 4 porridge to ta bao home.

So she had to wait at the stall.

While she was waiting a man came with his 3 kids like primary 4 and below to order....then left to find a seat.

The maid turn to me and asked :

"How come so many Singapore children need to wear spectacles?"

All the 3 kids were wearing thick spectacles.
I thought u going to ask her ASGM
Kiasu, kiasi, kiaboh

My friend when young also tested her eyes and is short sighted but does not like to wear specs

When she grew older, eye sight went to normal and has been normal for many years
Many sporn parent are super kiasu. Even before primary school and they are sent to many courses. As though these will make them become scholars Big Grin

The more money spent on children, the more haolian they are. Can blow cannon..to friends. Laughing
Should tell her, cos they study hard so that they dun have to become maids in other countries.
(09-04-2023, 01:12 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Sitting my usual porridge stall. Her employer send her to order 4 porridge to ta bao home.

While she was waiting a man came with his 3 kids like primary 4 and below to order....then left to find a seat.

because you are a genius and handsome !
same here

my chinese 19 years old cousin also had those question from a pinoy maid

he reply your neh neh pop small small need glasses to see it big big
(09-04-2023, 01:12 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Sitting my usual porridge stall. Her employer send her to order 4 porridge to ta bao home.

because in school see too much computers, tablets on top their own smartphone
but for sure Pinoy kids also the same soon just matter of times.
I think why she asked is because it is super  rare for Filipino  kids to wear glasses probably because they cannot afford eye checks and glasses

I scan through pictures of Filipino students incredibly not one can afford spectacles.
[Image: hMN3pZ0.jpg]
(09-04-2023, 01:56 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]I think wh she asked is because it is super  rare for Filipino  kids to wear glasses probably because they cannot afford eye checks and glasses

I scan through pictures of Filipino students incredibly not one can afford spectacles.

Because not say everyone of them own smartphone of their own or tablets. They spend most of the time playing outside like playing soccer, basketball etc just like we used to do that back in good old days 80s.

If you trace back in SG , back in 80s most kids don't wear spec unlike now.

This is why I noticed a lot spec shops open. Must be some folks see this business is growing.
PAP fault la...the banks n stat boards they sent you all those letters n docu many fine print to read.knn
(09-04-2023, 01:56 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]I think why she asked is because it is super  rare for Filipino  kids to wear glasses probably because they cannot afford eye checks and glasses

No wonder they failed badly for not been able to afford spectacles. This wil not be good as they wil hunt for fake certs.
(09-04-2023, 01:48 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: [ -> ]because in school see too much computers, tablets on top their own smartphone
but for sure Pinoy kids also the same soon just matter of times.

Bullshit. Its due to not enough sun light. Dumb F...k
Based on my observation usually those cannot study book ppl good eyesight. Those need to read books all wear specs. Mine is inherited from my father wear specs since Primary 1.

So the Filipino maid said is correct why Spore see see kids all (almost all anyway) wear specs and her country all no need wear specs. Maybe she work Spore cannot gel with what she see back home.
(09-04-2023, 04:22 PM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]Based on my observation usually those cannot study book ppl good eyesight. Those need to read books all wear specs. Mine is inherited from my father wear specs since Primary 1.

So the Filipino maid said is correct why Spore see see kids all (almost all anyway) wear specs and her country all no need wear specs. Maybe she work Spore cannot gel with what she see back home.

I cannot study but wear specs
(09-04-2023, 01:19 PM)limpeh394 Wrote: [ -> ]I thought u going to ask her ASGM

What is ASGM...........? Big Grin Thinking
(09-04-2023, 04:28 PM)XiXiPee Wrote: [ -> ]I cannot study but wear specs

Then you are the exception though. You see those plumber, electrician, knock wall down worker (renovation), clear rubbish etc all no study book eyesight good. My spouse side siblings sons, daughters come Spore work as clerk, cabinet craftman all good eyesight. The one stay in Msia Penang, KL all wear specs work in blow aircon environment.

Of cuz there is no real evidence but it is based on my half century observation. Nowadays some is wear contact lens so maybe I get misled so the number of young ppl need wear specs is even higher.
Ceca aso seldom wear specs
Seems like TS missed the point. The maid was maybe trying to pick you up. The specs question was a pickup line Wink
(09-04-2023, 04:30 PM)debono Wrote: [ -> ]What is ASGM...........? Big Grin Thinking

is singapore top 10 hit band The CB Dogs

youtube have it
(09-04-2023, 04:35 PM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]Then you are the exception though. You see those plumber, electrician, knock wall down worker (renovation), clear rubbish etc all no study book eyesight good. My spouse side siblings sons, daughters come Spore work as clerk, cabinet craftman all good eyesight. The one stay in Msia Penang, KL all wear specs work in blow aircon environment.

Of cuz there is no real evidence but it is based on my half century observation. Nowadays some is wear contact lens so maybe I get misled so the number of young ppl need wear specs is even higher.

Nowadays, children wear specs due to computer and mobile phones and not due to study book.  Laughing
(09-04-2023, 04:46 PM)winbig Wrote: [ -> ]Nowadays, children wear specs due to computer and mobile phones and not due to study book.  Laughing

nothing to do with computer. It's due to lack of sunlight. dumb F...k
(09-04-2023, 04:46 PM)winbig Wrote: [ -> ]Nowadays, children wear specs due to computer and mobile phones and not due to study book.  Laughing

For my son, he likes to read, and many a times read in the dark with small prints, that is why he needs to wear specs at a young age............... Big Grin
Next time invite her to your house for coffee and see what will happen
TS did you manage to dig her meow meow? Big Grin
and labia minora and labia majora with ur lips