Full Version: Man gets booked at same accommodation twice, but Agoda tells him it can’t be refunded
Man gets booked at same accommodation twice, but Agoda tells him it can’t be refunded

https://theindependent.sg/man-gets-booke...-refunded/
Some sites allow withdrawal and refunds
I ever double booked two hotels for the same period, called Agoda hotline, eventually they gave me $100 credit for future hotel stay but no refund was given because the hotel owner refused to cancel the transaction & pay me back.

The reason I double booked my hotel was due to slow response of the network…after I made payment nothing came back other than a blank screen, so I made another booking as d didn’t realised my payment already went through.
(02-05-2023, 12:48 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: [ -> ]I ever double booked two hotels for the same period, called Agoda hotline, eventually they gave me $100 credit for future hotel stay but no refund was given.

The reason I double booked my hotel was due to slow response of the network…after I made payment nothing came back other than a blank screen, so I made another booking as d didn’t realised my payment already went through.

So I stayed 50% of time one each hotel during my trip. What a waste!
Trip.com allows cancellation.
Aiyo you guys, just book directly with the hotel lah.
(02-05-2023, 12:53 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Trip.com allows cancellation.

Well, Agoda, Trip.com and Hotels.com are just a platefirm for different hotels to sell rooms, it is up to the hotel’s decision for refund…in my case Agoda called the hotel in overseas asking permission for refund but the hotel declined.
(02-05-2023, 01:00 PM)p1acebo Wrote: [ -> ]Aiyo you guys, just book directly with the hotel lah.

More expensive…if hotel rates are cheaper then Agoda can eat grass already
Cheaper thru these booking sites and some allow multiple bookings and last minute cancellation
(02-05-2023, 01:25 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Cheaper thru these booking sites and some allow multiple bookings and last minute cancellation

These are the advantages of these sites…hotels will not allow customers cancel their bookings. Cancellations are free of charge 7 days before checking in for these booking sites.
(02-05-2023, 01:28 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: [ -> ]These are the advantages of these sites…hotels will not allow customers cancel their bookings.

Right, they may not hv the resources to handle bookings/cancelations and so on
(02-05-2023, 01:29 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Right, they may not hv the resources to handle bookings/cancelations and so on

Furthermore you get incentives by booking thru these sites, for example Agoda give credit such as $15-20 and Agoda dollar($5 cash back)  after each booking & stay, and Hotels.com give one night free stay for every 10 nights you have stayed.
It may seem strange but booking through third party sites almost always gives better rates and conditions.

I was booking an hotel just yesterday on Agoda. The rate with free cancellation is almost 10pct cheaper than booking through the hotel's website that had no free cancellation.
(02-05-2023, 01:42 PM)starbugs Wrote: [ -> ]It may seem strange but booking through third party sites almost always gives better rates and conditions.

I was booking an hotel just yesterday on Agoda. The rate with free cancellation is almost 10pct cheaper than booking through the hotel's website that had no free cancellation.

I read a news article elsewhere all these cheap come at some "cost". Usually the rooms are at no-good viewing or got hantu or hard to rent out rooms so hotels look to these third party sites to help them sell rooms. In order to attract them to help sell give discounts lor. Not sure how true as I seldom travel stay overseas.
(02-05-2023, 01:42 PM)starbugs Wrote: [ -> ]It may seem strange but booking through third party sites almost always gives better rates and conditions.

Not strange, hotels use these platforms to help them sell rooms faster despite of lower rates, however the rates will go up significantly during peak seasons or when you book near your departure dates.
(02-05-2023, 01:48 PM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]I read a news article elsewhere all these cheap come at some "cost". Usually the rooms are at no-good viewing or got hantu or hard to rent out rooms so hotels look to these third party sites to help them sell rooms. In order to attract them to help sell give discounts lor. Not sure how true as I seldom travel stay overseas.

Not always the case, during low seasons hotels have to struggle as it is hard to sell rooms especially there are so many competitors in the same area. Do you can get good rooms with nice views at cheaper price…I stayed at 5 star hotel in downtown Bangkok with nice view and cost less than $80. In Halong Bay in Vietnam, my hotel has double balconies and huge room with mountain view, only cost $50 per night.
Same as supermarts and retail stores, they prefer to get from suppliers than from factories
(02-05-2023, 02:06 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: [ -> ]Not always the case, during low seasons hotels have to struggle as it is hard to sell rooms especially there are so many competitors in the same area.

then those got "hantu" rooms hotels will reveal or customers ownself stay in and experience themselves?
(02-05-2023, 02:10 PM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]then those got "hantu" rooms hotels will reveal or customers ownself stay in and experience themselves?

You think too much…I normally stay at brand new hotels only.
(02-05-2023, 02:13 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: [ -> ]You think too much…I normally stay at brand new hotels only.

…I stayed at 5 star hotel in downtown Bangkok with nice view and cost less than $80. In Halong Bay in Vietnam, my hotel has double balconies and huge room with mountain view, on top floor, only cost $50 per night.
(02-05-2023, 02:13 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: [ -> ]You think too much…I normally stay at brand new hotels only.

ok do you research on the rooms you book to see last time got news say ppl murdered or suicide etc so to avoid? some hotels do not reveal as then they cannot get customers to stay in the room.
Some could hv installed secret cameras. Before opening the door, knock a few times and ask loudly anyone inside? Then check underneath the beds see got anything there
Got to haul up the internet http for questioning
(02-05-2023, 02:20 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Some could hv installed secret cameras. Before opening the door, knock a few times and ask loudly anyone inside? Then check underneath the beds see got anything there

Last time I stay Genting Highlands hotel room got rubber used by previous occupants the cleaning ladies never clean up as they rush for time. How gross! And no the hotel say cannot change room. Can you imagine the room you live prior got ppl do liao already? So unhygienic! Now wonder the bedsheet, towels etc got clean properly or not!
(02-05-2023, 02:16 PM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]ok do you research on the rooms you book to see last time got news say ppl murdered or suicide etc so to avoid? some hotels do not reveal as then they cannot get customers to stay in the room.

Are you saying all the rooms are haunted? Rolleyes

How are you going to find out? I do agree small number of rooms might have had people died inside, that is very tiny number.  Even if you buy from hotels directly how you know which room they will assign you to before you arrive at the hotel… how is it possible to find out the history of all the rooms in a hotel in overseas? That is why you should not book a very old hotel that tends to have high possibility of murder or suicide cases.
(02-05-2023, 02:31 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: [ -> ]Are you saying all the rooms are haunted? Rolleyes

How are you going to find out? I do agree small number of rooms might have had people died inside, that is very tiny number.  Even if you buy from hotels directly how you know which room they will assign you to before you arrive at the hotel… how is it possible to find out the history of all the rooms in a hotel in overseas? That is why you should not book a very old hotel that tends to have high possibility of murder or suicide cases.

Sometimes older hotels locations are much better near to markets (walk can reach or just downstairs etc) as they are built long time ago. Newer hotels some location not so good need find transport to reach market.
(02-05-2023, 02:34 PM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]Sometimes older hotels locations are much better near to markets (walk can reach or just downstairs etc) as they are built long time ago. Newer hotels some location not so good need find transport to reach market.

Some new hotels are not far from the city centre…now is your call, haunted room vs distance
(02-05-2023, 02:35 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: [ -> ]Some new hotels are not far from the city centre…now is your call, haunted room vs distance

To me hotel room is just to rest for the night. Outdoor activities should take precedence which means I want to faster reach those happening places instead so means older hotels then. About hantu room that is why need to find out try to avoid.